We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy, Dirty, Noisy, and Gross”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium
Ranked #127 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I should have read these reviews BEFORE I stayed at this hotel. Years ago, someone posted a picture of graffiti on a bathroom wall about wanting a "real man." Well...I am here to tell you that it is STILL there. We told the front desk about it when we checked out and they acted like it was the first time they had heard about it...but if these reviews are any indication...it isn't.

The bathroom door also didn't close all the way. And the counter top was help up by one piece of plywood. Some of the photos on their website had that fake granite countertop look in their bathrooms but ours was definitely not that look - it was beige, old, and outdated (not to mention that piece of plywood.)

It wouldn't have been as bad if it had been clean. But the mold marks, scum marks, and black streaks all over the bathroom walls and tub were really gross. And the toilet didn't flush unless you held the handle down the entire time it was flushing.

The noise at this hotel was insane as well. About 12:30 at night, I was awoken by the people above us. They were SO loud and the walls/floor SO thin that you could hear what their conversation was! My husband called the room number hoping it would ring their room. Somebody answered and he said, "you're a little loud" and they said, "We'll keep it down." About 10 minutes later they settled down. But then I was awoken AGAIN at 5:00 in the morning by them doing the same thing. (Their conversation consisted of a lot of shouting of "TOUCHDOWN!!!!!!!!")

The free breakfast sounded great when we booked...but when we walked into the breakfast...it wasn't so great. It was a cold breakfast. And to be honest, it looked old and gross. So we just went out instead.

I would definitely NOT recommend this place to anyone and I will NOT be back.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 110 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2017

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank nathanj270
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We had tickets to the Outback Bowl and reserved rooms here online due to its proximity to the stadium. When we first pulled up were a little dubious, but the lobby was nicely decorated. Staff was friendly and helpful and the areas back of the street were all freshly painted. Even though you could tell it was an older motel, rooms were clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Just outdated everything.The carpet needed replacing and the toilet ran. Also, the tub clogged and it looked as though the entire room hadn't been cleaned well. However, the staff was nice and the shower was hot. Not a bad stay, the place just needs some TLC

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. This is an older motel style building, but the rooms have been kept up well and everything was in good working order

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank kenrnbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
3.0 km away
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
5.1 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
1.8 km away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - N. West Shore Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street
3.1 km away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#103 of 163 in Tampa
278 reviews
2.1 km away
Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Address: 2055 N Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33607-2542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $88 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium 2*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa Airport/Stadium consistently provides the kind of comfort, service and hospitality you expect in a hotel for both vacation and business travelers. Free Scheduled shuttle to/from Tampa Int. Airport 5:15am-11pm, which runs every hour. Transportation also available to Port of Tampa, 10 Dollars Per Person each way. Free Continental Breakfast in Lobby 5:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing