We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Bay Resort ... for those who want to truly experience the Keys!”
Review of Island Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I was looking over some of those reviewers who gave Island Bay Resort an average rating. So to travelers looking for a party scene with bars and nightlife, Tavernier is not for you. Head down to Key West. But if you are looking to experience the best the Keys has to offer … swimming, scuba, snorkeling, sunsets, fishing, boating, hiking, biking and incredible food … Tavernier is centrally located to everything you want. And Island Bay Resort offers the accommodations you come to expect in a top rated resort. This isn’t a 20 story Miami Hotel. It’s an intimate setting perfect for young families and couples. The owners are Carol and Mike who put their heart and soul into remodeling and refurbishing this resort. Each room follows a unique theme and all rooms are impeccably clean. There are two types of rooms available: Small efficiencies and a couple rooms that offer a separate bedroom. Once you turn into the resort drive you will be stepping out of the busy world you left and into a serene world for relaxation and rejuvenation. The beach is spotless and offers spectacular views of the sunsets. Each room has its own private patio. Explore the grounds and gardens. You’ll always find something to bring a smile to your face. Mike and Carol are truly amazing people. We stayed for 5 days in Oct, 2011 … our second visit in as many years. Don’t be surprised to pick up the local paper and see their picture as they are actively involved in the community and local charities. These are good people who run a top notch resort and the reviews accurately reflect it. I can’t wait for our return next year!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a separate bedroom, book well in advance! There are limited rooms like this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Divebuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 520 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in oct 2011. The property has it's own slice of beach and we loved our stay. We had property no 1 which was the waterfront one and our deck was on the beach! If you want to relax there are beach recliners, there are free kayaks to explore surrounds by water and amazing sunsets from the pier. Each room has its own weber kettle barbecue so we had sunset sizzles every night on the beach! Supermarket is close by as are most amenities. We went diving with rainbow reef diving 10 mins away in key largo which was very good.
If you want a big party this is not the place for you (by choice of the owners). The only downside I could see is that there aren't really any bars or restaurants in walking distance, but there are lots in drivable distances and we preferred to grill on the beach. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BAMStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Mike & Carol have a gem of a property. They have done an absolutely excellent job of taking care of every detail for you to have a relaxing, no cares vacation. Beautiful landscaping and rooms are immaculate. We will definitely make this our point of destination when traveling to the Keys again.

Room Tip: Each room has its own unique decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandmommyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Mike and Carol have a great little getaway. Stayed here on vacation with my friend in May 2011. The cabin was very clean and quiet as well as the grounds...and the private beach is fabulous! Will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank brownkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Great Resort. Relaxing and super clean. Will stay Again

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meliss R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.2 km away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
623 reviews
0.7 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,352 reviews
8 km away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
0.9 km away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.3 km away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range: $300 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Island Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing