We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beachside Resort Motel(Treasure Island)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina(Treasure Island)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bayside Inn & Marina(Treasure Island)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thunderbird Beach Resort(Treasure Island)
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House Hotel(Treasure Island)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bungalows(Treasure Island)(Great Value!)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,294)
Filter reviews
2,294 results
Traveller rating
1,296
689
198
59
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,296
689
198
59
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssloppy joespalms buildingacross the streetresort feepaddle boardswithin walking distancelive musicper daystove topjohn's passhot tubdrug storeupon checkwatch the sunsetflat screen tvlong walkthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 2,294 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

We decided to have a few days away from the 'parks so booked in here (2 couples) prob a year ago. Reception staff very friendly on check in. Once checked in you then realise construction work is going on....thats fine it has to be done, but bearing in mind we were here fr9m fri to mon to 'relax' being woken up with banging and god knows what at bang on 8am was not ideal but hey ho. Would have been polite to have been notified. Anyhow. Rooms very clean view perfect. My only other bug bear is if you say the bar is open til ' x' then it should be. Not closed 2 hrs early, that really irrates me having worked in the industry. You can't be busy all the time!! But no excuse to close early. The staff were all friendly & extremely helpful when my father in law stood on a sting ray! Oh and my biggest complaint....make the balconies no smoking!!!! The person staying next to us smoked outside the doors....so our room stank of smoke! Not great when cigarette smoke triggers my asthma!...i would stay here again I think but would maybe be abit more vocal with the irritants.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Sara, thank you for choosing the Bilmar Beach Resort for your Disney recovery time. I apologize for the noise associated with the current guest room and exterior renovations. Work is not supposed to start before 9am on any day and will address the early start with the contractor. I agree with you on the restaurant hours. While we shut down the Cafe on occasion during slow times the hours for Sloppy Joe's should always be maintained as advertised. Our policy is that balconies are non-smoking and when informed of a violation we quickly enforce it. It is unfortunate some guests do not respect the experience of others. I truly hope you will give us and opportunity to have you as a guest in the future and I welcome any input that will give you a better experience.
Sincerely, Clyde Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here in September after hurricane Irma, was expecting a damage from it but to our surprise there was not a lot, but a whole lot of construction we knew nothing about. Our room was nice but needed updating hence the construction, however this should of been notified to all guests prior to arrival. Not good customer service and to let you find out when you arrive and can't do anything about it if you so wish! Saying that we made the most of it lived Treasure Island and the staff were very friendly.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Sarah, I apologize our renovation schedule was not communicated to you in advance of your arrival. We were delayed by both hurricane's Harvey (crew and materials were coming from Houston) and then Irma when they evacuated the entire Island. The timing has changed several times and we are working to complete all work by the end of December. I hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence and have you return to the "new" Bilmar in the future. Clyde Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

I went there in memory of my late wife on our wedding anniversary and it has not changed in 27 years.The ocean view rooms are excellent clean and comfortable.As for Sloppy Joes bar the staff are friendly with excellent service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, Front Office Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Sheila,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and creating memories that last forever for our guest. We hope the Bilmar will continue to be your destination choice, when visiting the Tampa bay area for years to come. Sincerely, Michael Flowers – Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Mostly under construction during our visit but Heather was so accommodating ... When complete the renovation will be beautiful .. One could not ask for a better location ,, Sloppy Joes restaurant on the premises is a plus as well ..

Room Tip: The Old tower features Beach Views from every room
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JLeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, Front Office Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear JLeggs,
We are delighted you enjoyed your vacation here at the Bilmar Beach Resort. We take great pride in guest service and clean facility. We hope you will return soon to experience the new changes here at the Bilmar beach resort. Sincerely, Michael Flowers – Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

I just took a survey from my recent stay at the Bilmar Beach Resort. My wife and I were very disappointed in our 13 day stay. First of all I had requested a ground floor room for Sept. and was told that I would have to pay $25 daily for ground floor guarantee. I stated that my wife and I both have medical issues and needed to be on ground floor. As it turned out I had to cancel and reschedule due to the Hurricane that hit Florida. When I called to reschedule for the month of October, I was told that no one could request ground floor room because of a remodel. When my wife and I arrived we ended up on 6th floor. I discovered that I had height issues but I stuck it out since we had just driven 800 miles and were worn out. We discovered that ground floor rooms were occupied and were very disappointed that we had been lied too. This was my forth stay at Bilmar but my last two stays were ground floor. We needed ground floor because of our medical issues, but I won't go into detail there. Room costs are way to high for room quality. Bathroom size, phone that didn't work, toilet that rocked forward, air conditioning that wouldn't cool room, tv that you can't regulate the sound volume, above room noise, bugs in bathroom, maid service that doesn't exist. When you put sign out for room service asap and the maid just walks on by without service. We had two days during our stay that no maids came to our door. It's not any fun to lay in bed and perspire when you are paying that kind of money to be comfortable. Would you not agree to that? My wife and I talked about these issues and we decided this was our last visit to the Bilmar. For the price we paid, we should have had a much better experience. We stopped on our way home and stayed in a large suite that was great for a lot less money. I am posting this as well on trip advisor so that my experience gets reviewed by all.

Room Tip: Expensive for the room value
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Mr. Starnes, I am greatly disappointed we failed to meet your expectations during your recent visit to the Bilmar. I see your first floor request on your September reservations but at the time of your rebooking we thought the room renovations would be occurring on the first floor of the 4-story building during your rescheduled October visit which is why we reserved the alternative option. Due to hurricane delays our schedule has changed 4 times and we are finally on track to complete all renovations by mid-December. I assure you my team would not lie to a valued and returning guest and I apologize your original request did not get noted so we could honor it when the work on first floor was delayed. I wish any medical issues had been brought to my attention before or during your 13 days stay so I could have made an attempt to minimize any inconvenience. I sincerely apologize for any deficiencies you had in your guest room and with housekeeping service. We have 24 hour service to address any room issues within our control. The current room renovation will address several of your concerns including enlarging the bathrooms in all Studio rooms and adding a “barn” door to create more space. I will have the other items addressed by the facilities manager. I truly hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your patronage and provide you’re the service level you have enjoyed on previous visits. I would be happy to personally assist you with a future reservation and would try to make amends for the experience you had this year. Clyde Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews