We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasps.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Hills Winery Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

My family and I decided to plan a small girls trip to Paradise Hills this November. I poked at reviews and it seemed like a good deal and the place looked really nice. We chose the North Woods Cabin and upon check in he staff at the desk was great. We received our keys and headed to our cabin. When we arrived at the cabin I went in solo at first just to make sure everything looked good. When I opened the door there was a wasp hanging on the screen I carefully went around him and inside. I told the rest of the family to come in. The cabin was nice. As I headed upstairs to one of the 2 suites I felt something sting me and there was a wasp on my shirt. I thought that maybe the one from the door somehow made it onto my shirt. I killed the wasp and went down to get my bags and noticed that the wasp that was originally on the screen door was still there. It puzzled me but I went ahead and brought my bags in. My mother stayed behind while myself, my aunt and grandmother went to Walmart to get a few necessities. When we came back into our cabin my mom let me know there was another wasp and she killed it on the mantle. We all showered and went to bed. The next morning we headed out for our day and when we arrived back I went upstairs and went into the closet to grab and extra pillow and found a dead wasp. At this point I was becoming a little concerned because my aunt is allergic to wasps and did not want her to get stung by one. My grandmother went to get a shower and noticed a bite on her ribs that looked to be a spider bite or other type of insect but that was not there when we checked in. As my aunt started to try ready for bed I heard her yell and she come out of the bedroom and said she was stung by a wasp that was in her bed. This was at 9:20pm on our last night and we had to leave because of the amount of wasps and stings That myself being pregnant received,my aunt being allergic and my grandmother who was bit by some insects and had to drive 5 and a half hours home. I contacted the manager and the response I received was that they can not help the occasional pest occurrence and they have a pest guy that's comes to manage the property. An "occasional" pest occurrence is one every couples of days not 4-5 wasps and stings in 1 and a half days. I have worked within the hospitality industry in guest services and I know that when there is an issue like this it needs to be taken care of and made right. I responded to manager and told him I believed there could be a nest within the cabin and have not received a response back. We will not be back to this property. Very disappointed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cdavis32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilke L, Owner at Paradise Hills Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Cdavis32,
We are saddened to hear of your experience. We wish you had mentioned something to us upon your arrival or anytime that you were here for the 2 days..... not 1 day after your departure. Perhaps we could have provided you with an alternative or taken a look at what was going on... I can assure you, there are no wasp nests in the cabin; had there been one... your experience would have been much worse.
We have responded to your emails regarding this issue but we are not able to provide a refund of your stay for the presence of a few wasps.
Since your review, we have done a thorough search of the perimeter of the cabin and we have not found any outside attached hornet's nest either.
Unfortunately, I cannot speak to what may have happened. Colder temperatures drew the wasp inside through an open door? Or they tagged along on someone's clothing? Really, I don't know.
We are located and surrounded by the Chattahoochee National Forest in a wooden setting with nature all around us. We really cannot avoid the occasional outside critter getting in. We also do not provide a refund for a few wasps; as you requested.
Perhaps a more conventional 'resort' hotel would be a more appropriate choice for your next trip.
We aim to make all our cabin guests happy. Some things are just out of our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Terrific couples or family get away in the north Georgia mountains. Comfortable cabins to accommodate groups large and small. Be sure to check the list of amenities you might expect at your usual travel accommodations. The usual offering of shampoo, conditioner and lotion are not to be found here. And no hair dryer is available so bring your own. Good point - the shower is very good with good water pressure and a massage shower head.
A lovely spot at the lodge serves as a gathering place for drinks (beer or wine) and a mountain view overlooking the vineyard.
Within easy travel time to area attractions and some really good dining or shopping to cookout at the cabin.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Candy2722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilke L, Owner at Paradise Hills Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Candy2722, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and pass on your recommendations. Yes, you are correct. We are not the "typical" resort experience... we offer a hybrid between the private cabin rental experience and an "inn" experience with other amenities and guest services.
To fill in the gap, we offer a Paradise Hills Pantry where we offer small shampoos, conditioners, Ibuprofen, toothbrushes and any other forgotten amenities to purchase. I hope someone mentioned that to you.
All our cabins DO have hair dryers in them for use by our guests. I will, personally, make sure that there is one in the cabin you stayed in.. and put one in it if it is missing. We appreciate your feedback as an opportunity to better serve our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Went for a long weekend with the family. Loved the cozy cabin with large jetted bathtub. Comfortable beds. Great front deck with rocking chairs and dining suite. Grill provided. Saturday afternoon was lovely as we sat outside on the deck and listened to the live music at the lodge. Wonderful spa facilities and great massage. A wonderful getaway.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank jean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilke L, Owner at Paradise Hills Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of all the services we offer; cabin, spa and wine. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Wonderful anniversary getaway in a gorgeous setting, cozy cabin, vineyards, soothing spa treatments and yummy wine tastings. Ilka, the proprietor, is also a terrific massage therapist. The cabin (Dancing Creek) was very pretty and private, with a hot tub. Lots of local food options. We had great Italian at Michaelee's. Much to do, still, a beautiful spot to do nothing. Will be back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MichelleUbben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilke L, Owner at Paradise Hills Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

MichelleUbben, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are thrilled to hear that we contributed to a wonderful anniversary weekend. Thanks for the kind words on my massage skills... I believe you can be great when you do something you are passionate about. We are passionate about the place we offer to our guests as an escape from the everyday stresses. I look forward to seeing you again in the future. There is something to do (or not do) here every season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

My girlfriend found this place and wanted to go for a romantic getaway so we booked a 2 night stay and headed to the mountains. Check in was easy, guy at the desk was very enthusiastic about his job. Got to the cabin and we were disappointed we did not have a view of the mountains even though the description of the cabin specifically said “offers a mountain view” We had a view of trees. The cabin itself was nice on the inside. After checking in we went to Helton’s creek falls, afterwards we attempted to eat at Pappy’s riverside as it was recommended when we checked in but it was already closed at 7pm on a Wednesday. Ended up going into Blairsville and trying Fatz.

When we returned we discovered we had neighbors in the cabin next door, and they brought their children, to stay in a couple’s cabin. The kids ran around outside our cabin and theirs screaming for no apparent reason even though it was after 9pm. The parents also spent a significant amount of time outside smoking. The combination of screaming and smoke prevented us from being able to enjoy the evening air on the porch.

Since we could not sit outside we opted to try out the whirlpool tub which was very cramped for 2 people. The shower was also very small for even just one person. The bathroom was quite large and could have easily fit both a larger tub and shower. Another issue we noted was the curtains in the kitchen and bedroom both fell down when we attempted to open them as they were only held in place by small tension rods.

The next morning we were awakened before 7am by someone driving around on an orange lawn mower with a trailer. The smoker parents next door also had driven there in a truck without a muffler and must’ve had several errands to run that morning as they kept coming and going and seemed to be making as much noise as possible giving the truck too much throttle and spinning the tires on the gravel driveway. We got up earlier than planned and went to Helen for the day to escape the inconsiderate neighbors. Luckily they were gone when we returned. Not sure how the front desk staff allowed someone with children to check into a cabin specially listed as for being for couples. The second evening was more enjoyable.

The next morning we enjoyed visiting with the goats behind the office that we did not notice when we checked in. It’s a shame that the disrespectfulness of others tarnished what could have been a nice peaceful stay. Of course an actual mountain view would have been nice too.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwinnettGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilke L, Owner at Paradise Hills Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

GwinnettGuy,
Thank you for providing your feedback. Yes, our staff are enthusiastic about their jobs and they are passionate about offering the highest level of customer service.
Over the last 1-2 years, yes, the trees have grown significantly. We are in the process of doing tree work to offer the beautiful mountain views that are beyond those trees. The last few hurricanes have put a delay on that... for the more pertinent needs of our community.
For future reference, please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any issues with other cabin renters. We do NOT allow more than 2 guests per 1 bedroom cabin so any other occupants happened without our knowledge. Certainly, unsupervised children who do not respect the privacy of other guests are NOT common practice. If we knew about it, we would have put an end to that behavior.
It sounds like the positives of the rest of your visit with us made for a memorable stay. We do make every effort to accommodate each and every guests to the best of our abilities. We hope to see you again in the future. We can recommend a slightly larger cabin with more seclusion, if desired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairsville
18.4 km away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
679 reviews
23.1 km away
Valhalla Resort Hotel
Valhalla Resort Hotel
#4 of 18 in Helen
57 reviews
38.6 km away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
22.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Helen, GA
30.9 km away
Don Quijote Lodge
Don Quijote Lodge
#4 of 5 in Morganton
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Hills Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hills Winery Resort & Spa

Address: 366 Paradise Rd, Blairsville, GA 30512-5986 (Formerly Paradise Cabins & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Blairsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Blairsville
Price Range: $140 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Paradise Hills Winery Resort & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 35-acre mountain ridge, Paradise Hills Resort offers rustic to luxury cabin rentals, a resort Spa, and farm winery, all in one location. Truly unique. You won't find another like us within 100 miles. The cascading hills give each cabin rental their sense of privacy while being within walking distance of a world-class Resort Spa & family farm Winery. The European styled Spa offers several types of massage, body treatments and facials in a serene environment inspired by nature. Interwoven in the hills, you will find the smaller vineyards and boutique farm winery where production of Georgia gown grapes occurs. Handcrafted wines are offered in the tasting room. Our most cherished asset is our staff. Every one of us pride ourselves in the highest levels of customer service and hospitality so you can make lifelong memories at Paradise Hills. You will receive the service of a 5 star Inn with the privacy and seclusion of a mountain cabin rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paradise Hills Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cabins Hotel Blairsville
Paradise Cabins And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing