We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here in the summer of 1999 and never forgot how bad it was!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guest Cottage & Suites
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I was just thinking of this hell hole town and motel the other day. Decided to take a look to see if it was still around. It is and it seems it has not improved. There was no roaches back then but even when it was fairly new the phones did not work and there was massive amounts of bugs around the building. i had money stolen from my room and the staff was not very helpful. Had to stay a FULL MONTH as I was on a business trip. I will never forget the dump or the nasty people I encountered in the town. The gas station / inconvenience stores that are less than a block away were also God awful too. I never forgot the miserable clerk at Parker`s who would not refund me the $5.00 lost in the phone card vending machine. RUDE, slooooooow and ignorant are the three words that came to mind for the whole area. F- is my review!

Room Tip: Ask people in the lobby if they like the hotel before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JosephHudsonCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestcottagesuites, Webmaster at Guest Cottage & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments about a stay 14 years ago. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways at that time. Since the time of this review, we’ve changed and improved in many ways and are meeting guests needs and expectations better than ever before. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

All I can say is nasty nasty nasty MELDOW place, not A very clean place at all, a lot of roaches an the AC leaks very bad. Not a great place to be my kids stayed sick staying there I would never recommend this place to anyone.. If the smell don't run u out the roaches will.noone seems to care about these hotels as long ad there getting there money the rooms are not worth the money there charging

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tweetybird85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestcottagesuites, Webmaster at Guest Cottage & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I’m sorry we didn’t meet your needs, but much has changed since your stay with us. Our goal is to provide a consistently superior guest experience, and your comments have helped us as we’ve changed and improved in the last few years. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

my husband's job, put him in this dirty, roach infested motel, My son & I came to visit for a week. I had to go buy cleaning supplies & clean the room, clean bathroom, kitchen, etc. I didn't want my son & husband catching anything. I used a whole can of bug spray and the bugs laughted at me. The air cond quit, and we were told, maybe it froze up, did not check it.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirtydirtydirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestcottagesuites, Webmaster at Guest Cottage & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. Much has changed for the better since your husband’s lengthy stay with us. I’m terribly sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and in the overall experience we provide to guests. Your experience is not an indication of how we normally do business, and we’ll work to provide a more consistent experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We had a lot of left over food from our 2 night stay on Jekyll, so we had to find somewhere to store it, as we had 2 more days left in Brunswick. When checking around, was told this was the only hotel in Brunswick with a fully equipped kitchen. Upon checking in and once in the room, we realized there was NO stove, just a cooktop, and NO dishes! Only thing we benefited from was the full sized fridge. Room was clean enough, however it appeared people were actually LIVING there; I was in fear of my life and my family's lives; we never used the pull out sofa bed as it was filthy! Me and my 3 teenaged children pilled up in the king sized bed and my husband slept on the sofa w/o pulling it out; it was a disaster and I really did not even want to stay. Needless to say, we cut that stay short and stayed in another hotel. Please do not stay here if you can help it; it is overpriced and just plain filthy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsKLM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestcottagesuites, Webmaster at Guest Cottage & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments. We’ve changed a lot since then. I’m very sorry we couldn’t meet your needs or expectations. We take great pride in being a pleasant, friendly and accommodating place to stay, and we obviously let you down in some ways. For that, I apologize. I hope when you visit the area again you will give us another chance to meet your needs. I’m certain we’ll do better for you next time.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Spacious two room suites, with ageing furnishings, run-down kitchens, and dirty carpets....
King size bed.... with uncomfortable mattress and not enough bedding
Whirlpool bath... which spits out black stuff
Air conditioned.... VERY noisy
Roaches!!! I must have killed about a dozen, and when told about it, the hotel did NOTHING
ONsite Laundry.. no security cameras, watert all over the floor in puddles, and 7 pairs of Levi jeans, plus two loads of laundry, STOLEN. Staff shrugged, didnt apologize, didnt comment, other than "it happens"
Wireless internet.... choppy at best, to be told FINALLY that "that building has always had a problem" nice to know, since hispeed internet is vital to my partners business!
Honestly, Avoid this place unless you enjoy the sight of people hanging around their doorways smoking and drinking beer, the sound of ancient air conditioning keeping you awake all night, and you dont mind bags of trash in your room all week because the cleaners only visit once a week.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cariad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestcottagesuites, Webmaster at Guest Cottage & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable. A lot has changed since your stay, and we’re now doing a better job for our guests than ever before. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure we’ll do better for you next time. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
3.2 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Brunswick I-95
13.8 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 36 in Brunswick
88 reviews
2.8 km away
Rodeway Inn I-95 North
Rodeway Inn I-95 North
#18 of 36 in Brunswick
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#26 of 36 in Brunswick
139 reviews
1.3 km away
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Cottage & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Cottage & Suites

Address: 150 Venture Dr, Brunswick, GA 31525-9794 (Formerly Knights in Brunswick)
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range: $63 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guest Cottage & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Guest Cottage & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing