We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dawson Village Inn(Dawsonville)
US$80
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Dawsonville)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amicalola Falls Lodge(Dawsonville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Smith House(Dahlonega)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
218
30
5
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
218
30
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedscomposting toiletsfamily stylesunrise roombath housespringer mountaincell phoneunique experienceappalachian trailother guestsdining hallget awayfood wastesolar panelshot showereco lodgewatch the sunrise
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

First a warning - 5 miles doesn't seem like much but this is a fairly strenuous hike as it is mostly up. That being said, it's worth it because the place is great!! If you can stay overnight, do. The rate includes two truly delicious meals, hot showers, actual toilets and super friendly staff.
If you can't stay over, it's worth a look as the concept of the place is unique. It's mostly self-sufficient - everything from composting to solar panels to water conservation to the design of the lodge itself is designed with conservation in mind. Just a beautiful place. I'd go back for sure.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sonirox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

If you love the outdoors and you are up for a 5 mile hike up a mountain trail, the Len Foote Inn is a bucket list type trip for you. You also get the bonus of enjoying Amicalola Falls too! The Inn is very much into sustainability, you cannot leave any trash behind, you take out any you bring in! You get dinner and breakfast as part of a nights stay, and again you are encouraged to eat all you are provided and not waste anything! They even turn this into a contest. You dine together on a long table with other guests and you will meet people from all over the world. Rooms are bunk beds for two and are somewhat rustic, but you have heat if it gets chilly. The bathrooms are dorm style for each gender, and are warm, clean and very nice. Take the tour and check out the worm farm in the basement! Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jgwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Our group of 7 hikers live most of our lives in the flat lands of the coast so were quite nervous about attempting this hike. The most we regularly hike is 2 miles around the flat block of our neighborhoods. However, I wanted to celebrate my 70th year by going to the Hike Inn and persuaded six friends to join me. Most were younger and in better shape, but we all made it to the inn and loved our two night stay.

I spend the day at the inn reading outdoors in a comfy chair with my feet propped on a large stone which marked the Spring Solstice. Others did a short bird photo hike, while two fit friends hiked to Springer Mountain, the start of the AT, and back.

Food was delicious, bath facilities fine, and toilets the most interesting I've ever encountered. Our bunk bed lodging was quite comfortable after our strenuous hike. (The sign says average time to the inn - 3 hours. It took us 6.)

Start early by staying at the state park Amicalola Lodge Inn the night before, and do stay at the Hike Inn two nights to absorb the atmosphere. Our visit in April let us talk with quite a few hikers on their way to Springer Mountain and the 2000+ mile trip to Maine. What fun!!

Room Tip: One of few hike only inns in the USA
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The Len Foote Hike Inn rewards you in several ways - its remarkable setting in Georgia's mountains near the southern start/terminus of the famed Apppalachian Trail at Springer Mountain, its eco friendly design, its friendly and accommodating staff, its family style meals (including sack lunches), its stunning sunrises (check the weather forecast first), its evening programs, and its wonderful guests who love a "walk in the woods." You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Your room is a simple one, quite small with bunk beds. It's sleeping space only!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samuelbM5790PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This was so much fun. It's like camp for grownups, but with excellent food and clean, hot showers. They even provide blowdriers. So, no need to carry much. We enjoyed the tour to learn about their LEED initiatives and watching the moonrise in the evening and the sunrise in the morning was lovely. Wish we could have stayed 2 nights. Note that the bunk rooms are extremely basic, with the idea being that you will be out enjoying the common areas when you are awake. It's hard to review this like a regular hotel, because the rooms, luxury and service are not the point of the whole place.

Room Tip: The rooms don't matter so much. The only view is out of your screen door, but you won't be sitting in there to enjoy the view
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tigerfan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews