We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Visits and Counting”
Review of Len Foote Hike Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawsonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Len Foote Hike Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dawsonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 May 2017

This was my 5th visit there, four while staying overnight, and one on a day-hike with the Georgia Appalachian Trail Club (GATC). Two weeks ago, we had another memorable stay. This time, our neighbors (couple in their 40's) accompanied us. My wife was coming out of a recent strange & long cold. We are in our late 60's, but perform as reasonably moderate-to-good hikers.

I led our group-of-four at a rate just below 2 mph. The day was perfect for hiking. We had a break for "lunch" (trail bars. gorp, fruits, water) at about mid-point, where three large logs are set up as benches. That's the place I call the VIP dining area. We made the hike in three hours & 25 min. Everyone had fun at this slow pace, having time to enjoy the woods, the birds, and the wind. The home cooking was excellent. The Hike Inn Staff managed to excel again, in spite of having full house (48 guests).

The return hike was excellent. At four miles down, we met a small group. A Senior Lady was sitting on the trailside bench. Her son said: "Today is Mom's birthday, and we are taking her to the Hike-Inn. She is 90 years old". I was impressed. Great place to go. The day after the hike, our neighbors commented: When are we going back?

Room Tip: Rooms near front entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

First a warning - 5 miles doesn't seem like much but this is a fairly strenuous hike as it is mostly up. That being said, it's worth it because the place is great!! If you can stay overnight, do. The rate includes two truly delicious meals, hot showers, actual toilets and super friendly staff.
If you can't stay over, it's worth a look as the concept of the place is unique. It's mostly self-sufficient - everything from composting to solar panels to water conservation to the design of the lodge itself is designed with conservation in mind. Just a beautiful place. I'd go back for sure.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sonirox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

If you love the outdoors and you are up for a 5 mile hike up a mountain trail, the Len Foote Inn is a bucket list type trip for you. You also get the bonus of enjoying Amicalola Falls too! The Inn is very much into sustainability, you cannot leave any trash behind, you take out any you bring in! You get dinner and breakfast as part of a nights stay, and again you are encouraged to eat all you are provided and not waste anything! They even turn this into a contest. You dine together on a long table with other guests and you will meet people from all over the world. Rooms are bunk beds for two and are somewhat rustic, but you have heat if it gets chilly. The bathrooms are dorm style for each gender, and are warm, clean and very nice. Take the tour and check out the worm farm in the basement! Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jgwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Our group of 7 hikers live most of our lives in the flat lands of the coast so were quite nervous about attempting this hike. The most we regularly hike is 2 miles around the flat block of our neighborhoods. However, I wanted to celebrate my 70th year by going to the Hike Inn and persuaded six friends to join me. Most were younger and in better shape, but we all made it to the inn and loved our two night stay.

I spend the day at the inn reading outdoors in a comfy chair with my feet propped on a large stone which marked the Spring Solstice. Others did a short bird photo hike, while two fit friends hiked to Springer Mountain, the start of the AT, and back.

Food was delicious, bath facilities fine, and toilets the most interesting I've ever encountered. Our bunk bed lodging was quite comfortable after our strenuous hike. (The sign says average time to the inn - 3 hours. It took us 6.)

Start early by staying at the state park Amicalola Lodge Inn the night before, and do stay at the Hike Inn two nights to absorb the atmosphere. Our visit in April let us talk with quite a few hikers on their way to Springer Mountain and the 2000+ mile trip to Maine. What fun!!

Room Tip: One of few hike only inns in the USA
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The Len Foote Hike Inn rewards you in several ways - its remarkable setting in Georgia's mountains near the southern start/terminus of the famed Apppalachian Trail at Springer Mountain, its eco friendly design, its friendly and accommodating staff, its family style meals (including sack lunches), its stunning sunrises (check the weather forecast first), its evening programs, and its wonderful guests who love a "walk in the woods." You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Your room is a simple one, quite small with bunk beds. It's sleeping space only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samuelbM5790PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawsonville
4.3 km away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
376 reviews
4.7 km away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
30.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 km away
Super 8 Dawsonville
Super 8 Dawsonville
#4 of 4 in Dawsonville
256 reviews
29.8 km away
Dawson Village Inn
Dawson Village Inn
#3 of 4 in Dawsonville
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Len Foote Hike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Len Foote Hike Inn

Address: Amicalola Falls State Park, Dawsonville, GA 30534
Region: United States > Georgia > Dawsonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dawsonville
Price Range: $86 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Len Foote Hike Hotel Dawsonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing