We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience!”
Review of Len Foote Hike Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawsonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Len Foote Hike Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dawsonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Our daughter made a reservation for my wife and I as a gift and what a gift! It was a great way to spend the day! Five miles in and the next day five out. Even is you think you are in shape,one thing is to allow plenty of time to make the hike.The forest service describes the hike as moderate but to us and others we met at the inn the hike in was strenuous. Once at the inn it is rustic but the showers were great! The food is fantastic and the staff extremely friendly. If you want a little wine to drink buy box wine and take the plastic bladder out and carry that do not take glass bottles. The hike out the following day was much easier since for the most part it was downhill. If you want a bonding time with family or even your spouse this is the place.

Room Tip: Rooms are rustic but comfortable,especially after the hike in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

This is an awesome day trip with a mate, friend or family. Hike is just rigorous enough to feel slightly challenged but so doable. Beautiful hike, easy to follow trail, and a great weekend getaway. I've been a couple times. The food was really good on my recent visit and they were unexpectedly SO accommodating to some dietary issues I had- I was amazed. The staff is so friendly and excited to be there and all of the guests are really mellow and courteous. The INN is immaculate especially for a semi-primitive lodge. I highly recommend this Hike Inn and plan to start going every Spring and Fall.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank jacquelinesusong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

This was my 5th visit there, four while staying overnight, and one on a day-hike with the Georgia Appalachian Trail Club (GATC). Two weeks ago, we had another memorable stay. This time, our neighbors (couple in their 40's) accompanied us. My wife was coming out of a recent strange & long cold. We are in our late 60's, but perform as reasonably moderate-to-good hikers.

I led our group-of-four at a rate just below 2 mph. The day was perfect for hiking. We had a break for "lunch" (trail bars. gorp, fruits, water) at about mid-point, where three large logs are set up as benches. That's the place I call the VIP dining area. We made the hike in three hours & 25 min. Everyone had fun at this slow pace, having time to enjoy the woods, the birds, and the wind. The home cooking was excellent. The Hike Inn Staff managed to excel again, in spite of having full house (48 guests).

The return hike was excellent. At four miles down, we met a small group. A Senior Lady was sitting on the trailside bench. Her son said: "Today is Mom's birthday, and we are taking her to the Hike-Inn. She is 90 years old". I was impressed. Great place to go. The day after the hike, our neighbors commented: When are we going back?

Room Tip: Rooms near front entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

First a warning - 5 miles doesn't seem like much but this is a fairly strenuous hike as it is mostly up. That being said, it's worth it because the place is great!! If you can stay overnight, do. The rate includes two truly delicious meals, hot showers, actual toilets and super friendly staff.
If you can't stay over, it's worth a look as the concept of the place is unique. It's mostly self-sufficient - everything from composting to solar panels to water conservation to the design of the lodge itself is designed with conservation in mind. Just a beautiful place. I'd go back for sure.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sonirox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

If you love the outdoors and you are up for a 5 mile hike up a mountain trail, the Len Foote Inn is a bucket list type trip for you. You also get the bonus of enjoying Amicalola Falls too! The Inn is very much into sustainability, you cannot leave any trash behind, you take out any you bring in! You get dinner and breakfast as part of a nights stay, and again you are encouraged to eat all you are provided and not waste anything! They even turn this into a contest. You dine together on a long table with other guests and you will meet people from all over the world. Rooms are bunk beds for two and are somewhat rustic, but you have heat if it gets chilly. The bathrooms are dorm style for each gender, and are warm, clean and very nice. Take the tour and check out the worm farm in the basement! Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jgwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawsonville
4.3 km away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
377 reviews
4.7 km away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
30.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 km away
Super 8 Dawsonville
Super 8 Dawsonville
#4 of 4 in Dawsonville
258 reviews
29.8 km away
Dawson Village Inn
Dawson Village Inn
#3 of 4 in Dawsonville
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Len Foote Hike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Len Foote Hike Inn

Address: Amicalola Falls State Park, Dawsonville, GA 30534
Region: United States > Georgia > Dawsonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dawsonville
Price Range: $86 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Len Foote Hike Hotel Dawsonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing