We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, authentic cuisine!”
Review of Udipi Cafe

Udipi Cafe
Ranked #87 of 460 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Udipi Cafe has served the Greater Atlanta community since 1998. We offer eclectic vegetarian, vegan, gluten free, indian and indo-Chinese cuisine. The restaurant has recently changed ownership and is under new management. Our motto at Udipi Café Duluth is to be "Your Home Away From Home". We look to create unforgettable and delightful memories for families gathering with friends, moments of bliss through the overall experience of culture, service, ambiance and delicious vegetarian culinary varieties. Our mission is to uplift your health, wellness, five senses and create lasting positive memories. We look forward to serving you very soon!
Restaurant details
Description: Udipi Cafe has served the Greater Atlanta community since 1998. We offer eclectic vegetarian, vegan, gluten free, indian and indo-Chinese cuisine. The restaurant has recently changed ownership and is under new management. Our motto at Udipi Café Duluth is to be "Your Home Away From Home". We look to create unforgettable and delightful memories for families gathering with friends, moments of bliss through the overall experience of culture, service, ambiance and delicious vegetarian culinary varieties. Our mission is to uplift your health, wellness, five senses and create lasting positive memories. We look forward to serving you very soon!
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Came in very hungry after walking out of a bad experience at the Sri Krishna Vilas on Peachtree Parkway. Ordered the standard lunches (Paper dosa, vada, soup combo) and the South Indian Thali. Super friendly service, beats the best service I have seen in Atlanta's most expensive restaurants. Items perfectly timed when you are about to finish the previous one, all served hot. Super-tasty Paper dosa: just a hint of ghee, crisp, oh how crisp! Chutney much more authentic than at other places - much better ingredients! Totally superb experience through and through. A smile on the way out.

Thank ulanbatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 September 2017

Thank you for the kind compliments and genuine feedback. We sincerely appreciate it. We hope to serve you again.
Sincerely
Udipi Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Udipi Cafe is absolutely one of the top most flavorable Indian restaurant in the area. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous in assisting us with picking out our dishes. The Food was soo good. Can't wait to go back!! We ordered an array of dishes: Appetizers 1, 2, 7 and 9 and the Paneer Chilli, Vegetables Hakka Noodles, Manchurian Gobi, Chana Bhatar(spelling??), and Garlic Naan. We will be back!!

Thank Tangela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 August 2017

Dear Tangela - Thank you for the sincere feedback. We strive to delight every guest with an unique and eclectic vegetarian experience. I am glad you found it at Udipi Cafe, Duluth. We look forward to serving you again.
Sincerely
Udipi Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

AVOID ..
Dosa are soft and tasteless. Sambar was Ok.
Pani Puri was sour and bitter.
PavBhaji was flavorless and pav was stale.
The waiter nor owner cared. Extremely poor management.
They totally lost a customer.

1  Thank RnRalwayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 August 2017

We are aware of your purposeful negative actions. Competing businesses should learn to play fairly. Udipi Cafe will not engage in destructive behavior. We leave it to the general public to be smart about perceiving negative comments from ill intentioned individuals and industry competitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We have been regular visitors here for many years now and for quite some time if I were to rate this restaurant it would be 5 stars all the time.

Recently ownership changed hands and the new owners seem to be trying to hard to put their stamp on the restaurant. Going a bit too 'eclectic'. It is a South Indian cuisine based restaurant.

Why erode that?
If it ain't broke, why try to fix it?
Why reinvent the wheel?

The taste of the standard accompaniments - to the Dosa, idol, vada - chutney and sambhar has changed and certainly not for the better. Service has deteriorated. Especially when it's a full house.

The owners, when around, do stop by and check in on the tables to see if 'everything is alright'. But perhaps designate one person for this task. Multiple people asking the same question can get intrusive and distracting.

We probably will still visit. But it would be with a sense of resignation. 'It is what it is'

1  Thank RJRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
udipi c, Owner at Udipi Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Dear Rambler (interesting screen name )

I appreciate your feedback. Just a little correction. The menu you see today at Udipi has been around for the past 13 years with absolutely NO CHANGE. Surprised? Feel free to check the menu again next time and feel free to speak with the Manager who has been around for 13 years as well..

Now, the interesting thing is that the menu has always (for 13 years) had North Indian dishes, Chaat, Indo-Chinese, North Indian Desserts and South Indian cuisine. Previously the name board merely said "South Indian cuisine" on due to space restriction on the sign board (limited by the county for signage width and length) and also on the front cover of the menu. This was a misnomer. The new owners changed it to "Eclectic Indian Vegetarian" since it a more accurate depiction of what the menu had always offered. We are being true to ourselves (finally). The North and South Indian in addition to the Indo-Chinese and new weekly specials, certainly brings an eclectic dimension. Our chefs and the Manager have been the same for the last several years. As such we only hear revving remarks that our food quality and guest relations have improved several notches since the new management took over. The culinary experts claim the items you mentioned are more authentic and have improved for the better. By popular request, we have introduced several "weekly specials" to create variety. Our guest seem to be enjoying these.

Now, we have gotten very busy lately thanks to our repeat and new guest visits. We are humbled and grateful to our guest for their patronage.As such multiple people may be checking on the guest as we care deeply, which can be an issue for a few or yourself. We will course correct on that valuable feedback. Thank you sincerely.

I encourage you to speak with the Owners directly as well. Thanking you!

With all due respect,
Udipi Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We have been coming here for a few years now, always liked this small family place, with very authentic South Indian feel and good (and affordable) cooking. Recently ownership and management changed and you can see improvements in service, decor and menu. Dosai and Idli very good, and interesting items like Beet Masala Dosai recipe imported from Mumbai - never seen anywhere else. New owners are very personable and clearly care deeply about quality ingredients, authentic recipes and customer enjoyment. Recommend it - whether you are die hard Indian food fan or a newby willing to experiment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank psufcak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
udipi c, Owner at Udipi Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Dear Psufcak

Thank you sincerely for your feedback and appreciation. We will continue to delight you with our promise of great food and a holistic experience. Hope to see you soon again. Thanks

Sincerely
Udipi Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Udipi Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Udipi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing