We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced ”
Review of Hotel Portofino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Portofino
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in San Andres
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Was recently at this hotel portafino. Definitely not what the name represents. Bought the breakfast and dinner option. Food was lousy and definitely not a large choice. The room was clean and they kept it clean. But no hot water. No wifi. And not enough towels. Rooms need phones. And elevator always over crowded. The staff members were helpful. But the reception desk women very rude. Pool area noisy and heard the noise on the 5th floor. For the price I paid could of stayed in a 5 star hotel. Some effort and care would show but I'm not the owner. And it seems like he or she doesn't visit to see or doesn't know.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Zee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. But we appreciate your comments that help us to become better every day.

Have a nice day.

Regards,

#PortofinoCaribe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Hotel Portofino was represented as an all inclusive resort which is technically correct but not what I expected. Good things first. It is in a good shopping district about a block and a half from the beach and zona Rosa. It was possible to get a room with 5 beds and of course it was not expensive. It was reasonably clean. They call it 3 stars but I think they need to improve quite a bit to be called 2 stars. At check in they hit you for the manditory hotel insurance which was only 25,000 pesos (about $ 10 usd) per person, but an un-necessary charge. Our room was adequate, decent bathroom, but we were told it had a small fridge which it didn't and the room safe didn't work. The staff was unconcerned about both items and made no effort to resolve it. Included were 3 meals and a snack. Breakfast was only served for 2 hours from 7 to 9 and consisted of pineapple, watermelon, hard boiled eggs, rice, corn, scrambled eggs, Cold ham squares, and boiled potatoes. There was also a selection of breads (the butter bin was always empty) and a selection of juices that were so watered down you couldn't tell which was which. There was also coffee which wasn't bad I didn't bother eating lunch there and the dinners were simple... Seafood rice, lasagna, boiled potatoes and a small salad bar. No alchahol was served with the meals. Back to "all inclusive", beer and wine were not included or available unless you purched it on the street and took it to your room. The bar didn't open until 2pm and served a small selection of watered down drinks in 4 ounce paper cups. Don' t expect piña colodas or daiquiris. The music had 2 volumes... Off and max and the pool was small with very little sun deck. There were several seating areas with Sofas throughout the hotel which the maids used to sort bed linnens and towels. Don't expect to use them while the rooms were being serviced. There was wifi in the bar/pool area but not in the rooms. Bottom line is the hotel is OK for a larger family or group to come and stay economically, no frills in a safe part of town. As far as a Resort is concerned, the food was a 1 out of 5 for selection and quality, the alchaholic drinks weren't included with meals (beer and wine were not included at all), and the drinks at the bar were a 1 out of 5 also. We ended up eating and drinking outside of the hotel. If you want a all inclusive resort, go somewhere else.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank out-to-sea1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. But we appreciate your comments that help us to become better every day.

Have a nice day.

Regards,

#PortofinoCaribe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

2 Hours late to give me my room
The ladies at the reception were rude, sarcastic and careless
An aircon fixed to avoid regulating the temperature
Greedy with food - The portions are ridiculous - you Can't choose and they give you as they like
Open bar, snacks, and free coffee are just lies
Poor in every single aspect ... Never again there

Room Tip: Find a room far from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andres C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

This hotel is confortable and you can swim in the pool in whatever time, the rooms have air conditioner, TV, WiFi, the restaurant is into the hotel, the food is delicious and the most important it is near to the beach

Stayed: January 2016
Thank mafe1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014 via mobile

Friendly and efficient, clean, comfortable, basic. Free Wifi at the front lounge. In a noisy part of town, so take some earplugs. Located very centrally. A 10 min walk to the airport, right by the beach, decent breakfast buffet with super friendly & helpful waiters. Overall, it was nothing special but delivered the basics well.

Stayed: December 2014
1  Thank scn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Andres
7.3 km away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 29 in San Andres
244 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#18 of 29 in San Andres
291 reviews
0.3 km away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#4 of 29 in San Andres
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#4 of 43 in San Andres Island
1,333 reviews
0.3 km away
Portobelo Plaza de las Americas
10.4 km away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portofino

Address: Avenida Providencia 1-115, San Andres, San Andres Island, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island > San Andres
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in San Andres
Price Range: $184 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portofino 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing