We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
243
45
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
243
45
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gourmet food excellent wine list restaurant umbria deruta rome sites class balance suggestions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2019 via mobile

We stayed here almost exactly seven years ago, so when fate (more accurately my wife’s pottery collection) brought us back to Deruta, we jumped at the chance to stay here again. It was just as great as we remembered. The room was nice and clean, with excellent beds and a nice bathroom. Even better was the staff, led by the redoubtable Samuele. And of course there is the wonderful restaurant, reviewed separately. Look forward to our return 7 years hence, if not sooner.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ejeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMLR78, Proprietario at L'Antico Forziere, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Thank you again for all, it was a really pleasure to have welcome you again at L'Antico Forziere and I'm very happy to know you spent a wonderful time with us. Next time I hope you will also take advantage of our special offers for tripadvisor traveller (SPA+dinner+double room). I really hope to meeting you before 7 years from now, and I hope you always reccomend Umbria region to friends and neighbors for every kind of holiday in Italy.

Kind regards,
Samuele
L'Antico Forziere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

The Rodella family keeps surprising us with amazing food, great hospitality and their incredible kindness. From the delicious pastries at breakfast, the nice pool area to relax, Samuele’s suggestions to discover the most beautiful spots in Umbria and even arranging visits to the best local wineries to off course the perfect combination of flavors and creativity for dinner. All is taking care off to give us the best holiday possible. The new SPA & Wellness facilities makes you relax even more.
Always a pleasure staying at Antico Forziere. Already looking forward to our next visit!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lauretim007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMLR78, Proprietario at L'Antico Forziere, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thanks again for all from all our family, it's always a great pleasure for us to welcome you and share time together. We hope a day to come in Belgium to you to spend some time together, and maybe open some great and good wine since you had not time for all the bottle you bought.... :-)

I wish you the best for the winter and I really hope to meeting you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Rodella Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

L'Antico Forziere is a very special place – if you’re in Umbria (if you’re in Italy!) you should experience it for yourself. The whole Rodella family have made this country house hotel one of the most charming places we have stayed in. You’ll admire their attention to detail in every respect with service that is second to none from the moment you arrive. The gardens and terraces, including excellent swimming pool, are cared for with dedication. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable, have a rustic feel with wrought iron fixtures, original wooden beams (our Room 23 overlooked the gardens and swimming pool) with good sized bathroom (shower, bidet and even environmentally sound toilet paper!) excellent air conditioning and sound proof windows. One of us experienced the ingeniously designed spa and the other an excellent massage given with care and expertise. And then there is the restaurant…the cuisine is world class. We only hope Michelin never get their hands on it or the prices would probably go up! Eat outside in the summer under a huge and brilliantly designed canopy or inside under candlelight. If you can only come once then choose the tasting menu – your experience will explain why this and other reviews have scored L'Antico Forziere so highly. We stayed for a week and after the first night didn’t want to eat anywhere else. It’s conveniently situated not far from the E45 but any residual noise from the road sinks into the distance as the sound of the Casalina church bells float in the air. Mornings by the pool, afternoons touring the heart of Umbria and evenings eating the best food we have tasted in Italy (and we enjoy our food!). Our next trip to Italy will be geared to visiting L'Antico Forziere again. What a splendid place, what a pleasure!

Room tip: Ground floor have suites with garden, our Room 23 overlooked gardens and pool
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vivienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMLR78, Proprietario at L'Antico Forziere, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and thank you very much again for your stay.
I'm very happy you appreciated so much L'Antico Forziere, our food, our family, our rooms and also our new and private wellness Spa, we are really happy to read about your satisfaction and we are very proud to have found guests like you.

We hope to welcome you again very soon and I wish you the best for the rest of the summer and autumn.

kind regards,
Rodella Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We had the pleasure of dining twice in this restaurant in 2016 and were lucky enough to be able to revisit Umbria again this year and had two more fabulous meals again. This restaurant is very special from the time you arrive. The welcome and service is impeccable. The food is so tasty and beautifully presented and we also got lovely bites from the chef at the start of the meal and also before our stunning selection of desserts which we had both night. The restaurant is such good value if you were to get similar dining standard in Dublin. We would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are in the area and appreciate a good dining experience.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PollyDublin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMLR78, Proprietario at L'Antico Forziere, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thank you very much again for all, we appreciated so much your wonderful review but we appreciated even more to see you two times in a week.
We really hope you will came back in Umbria again very soon and you recommend our restaurant to all.
I wish you the best for the summer.

Kind regards,
Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We eat here as often as possible....

The quality of the food and the service is exceptional and consistent.

The standards are extremely high!

The meal today was one of the best.

The presentation of the quail starter was beautiful.

My fillet of beef was cooked to perfection... again with superb presentation of beautifully cooked beans and mushrooms.

As always there was a superb amuse...
Along with a delicious selection of delicate warm breads .

The recommended wines were perfect in flavours and price.

The coffee was perfection.

In terms of value for money and the quality of food this place is absolutely exceptional! SEEK IT OUT!

Tim and Oz Millgatehouse.com

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 311austinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMLR78, Proprietario at L'Antico Forziere, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for your lunch and thank you again for your compliments and the review.
Every time is a great pleasure for me to welcome you and I'm very happy after every dish you feel, as you say, in "Paradiso".

See you soon,
Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews