We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View but Rundown Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Advertised as "newly renovated" but don't believe it. Lodge is getting very rundown. A/C system is very noisy and the loud bath fan cannot be turned off. Didn't have fridge or microwave in room. Breakfast buffet is $12, which is not comparable to Western Sizzler at $8 in Helen. Computers did not operate and had to get desk clerk to check us in at ATL. Maid did not clean room, even though we were out most of the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room since outside A/C condensers are very loud if outside your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Albarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

We extended our stay for one day to go to Anna Ruby Falls and see what the park had to offer. The accommodations were fine, not luxury, but neat and clean. Most important very convenient to many activities in the park and nearby Helen and several hiking trails in the area. Will return.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank erpiccola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

First, the front staff gives me a key card for another occupied room, no fridge or microwave in rooms, then during the night the people next to my room walk into my room through the middle door that connects 2 rooms. VERY UNSAFE!!! No complimentary breakfast, way too overpriced for the quality and service!! I will not be returning.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank awall803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We had a scheduled trip to Unicoi and could not make it due to bad weather. Valentina was very helpful and did not charge us for the one day of our trip. This is an example of great customer service... Unicoi has 6 customers for life.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank hustlemade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We recently spent a week at Unicoi Lodge and Campground and found the area and facilities to be very nice and well maintained. We had one of the double buddy sites and were able to easily fit an Aliner popup and 8-person tent. While there was plenty of room, I could see how space would be tight if trying to park two travel trailers, motorhomes, etc. We had site #44 and it had some pros and cons. Pros are that it was very flat and there was a large area at the back of the campsite near the campfire. It was an easy walk to the bathhouse and a good distance between other campsites (20 - 30 yards). The only drawbacks to this site were 1) lack of shade and 2) located directly next to the trash / recycle bins. The campsite was really hot between 1-5PM due to the lack of trees. We were at the top of the hill and most of the other sites had ample shade. If you decide to tent camp at this spot, I highly recommend an additional shade tent to place over the picnic table. The spot is also located next to the trash bins and while it wasn't consistently loud, it did bring more foot traffic than other campsite. The plus side is that it was easy for us to recycle and keep the area free of trash!!!

Overall the campground was nice and we all enjoyed the lake for fishing and kayaking. It was also a short drive to Helen which make it easy to get supplies and enjoy downtown.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
2.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
2.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Quality Inn Alpine Helen
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
968 reviews
3.1 km away
Jameson Inn
Jameson Inn
#16 of 18 in Helen
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicoi State Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicoi State Park & Lodge

Address: 1788 Highway 356, P. O. Box 849, Helen, GA 30545-2326
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Price Range: $119 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicoi State Park & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Unicoi State Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicoi State Park Hotel Helen
Unicoi State Park Lodge And Conference Center Helen
Unicoi State Park Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing