We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the good the bad and the ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Reviewed 19 July 2017

reservations and front desk staff are untrained, unfriendly, and mostly incompetent.
Finally was able to book a package, but when conf e-mail arrived it was incorrect.
Called about 10 times before reaching anyone to correct. Upon arrival discovered rate for package was different from confirmation by $60. Finally gave up and paid so we could get in our room. No matter what was asked the answer was always well the supervisor is away and I cannot address this. It was obvious that others were having check in issues as well. So much for the bad.

For the OK: buffet lunch and breakfast were fine; restaurant staff was friendly and efficient. Also ok: mtn view room in Dogwood Lodge.
Room was bit dated, but clean and quiet, so no complaints. The entire property needs a major upgrade, but I wasn't expecting the Ritz, so no problem.

For the Good: Zip line adventure was great; entire staff was friendly and efficient.
they do not work for the lodge; wish we had booked directly with them rather than booking package with lodge. we were unable to use zip line level 2 for one guest.
zip line staff informed lodge front desk to issue credit, but once again unable to do so because supervisor was away. doubtful that credit will ever be issued.

if you go try to book on-line
book adventures seperately

Room Tip: mtn view rooms worth extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dnwdybmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a cabin with our 3 small children. We were in the cabins closest to the entrance to the Anna Ruby Falls entrance.
The cabin was neat & clean. It had 2 bedrooms & 2 baths, with two beds in one & one in the other.
We visited during the off season so we didn't utilize any of the water activities but we got a lot of use out of our wood-burning fireplace. My family had a lot of fun walking up & down the mountain outside our door.
The only issue I had was there was no way to contact the front desk without driving all the way there. There wasn't a room phone & our cell phones had no service. There's also no wifi or tv in the room so keep that in mind and pack some books or games!
We were approximately 5-10 mins from downtown Helen & spent a lot of time exploring there.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank FLGirlForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Nice stay. Fresh cookies in the lobby! Helpful staff. Clean. Nice sitting area around the lodge room with tv and fireplace. Would be welcome in winter months. Minutes from downtown Helen. Lots of trails and plenty to do at the park. Tavern and restaurant at the lodge were good.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

1st the good points-the actually property at the State Park was beautiful, the lodge had a center area with couches and tv which would be a good family hang out area is a large group was there and everyone had their own room. You do a discount on paddle boarding and canoeing and other things like that if you stay at the lodge, which we didn't utilize, but is a nice thing to offer.
NOW the bad points-number one is that we had a LOFT room and the loft was only accessible by a metal and wooden LADDER, now my kids are 11-16, so it was not a HUGE issue, but just a warning to anyone with small kids or older adults that the ladder is steep and you have to use one the other beds to actually climb onto to access the ladder...very inconvenient. Besides to ladder to get up to the loft, the loft was nothing but a box spring and mattress laying on the floor (but for safety I guess that is how it had to be so you wound not roll off the bed and over the rail) and it ad a small Fan up there which really didn't help...That brings me to my next point the loft was HOT, we knocked the air down a low as it would go and we FROZE in the main area just trying to get the loft area to cool, but it didn't. So we were all very uncomfortable, either we were freezing or burning up...But the strangest thing was that they did not have any vending machines at all, no sodas or snacks. The front desk did have a cabinet with some snacks and some Cokes to purchase, but they were very over priced, plus the inconvenience or leaving the Lodge area and having to go to the front desk, wait on the line of people who were checking in (or out) just to purchase a bag a chips and soda, that was crazy. Oh and there is NO mini-frig or microwave. Room was very tiny and crowded. Their may have been "sleeping room" for 5 people but that room didn't have room for 5 people to even walk in hardly. I was very disappointed and we actually checked out and left a day earlier just because we did not want to deal with the AC and Cramped Space any longer. Would not recommend for a family.

Room Tip: don't be fools by the Loft rooms-very disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

My family (my husband and 2 teen boys) and I stayed in the lodge with a loft. There is only one bed in the loft... so we had to get an air mattress from the Walmart in Cleveland so the boys could stay in the loft. They said it was really hot up there... we also bought a fan. The AC didn't cool the loft. We took the 3 mile hike to Helen one morning prior to being reassured before we left that the shuttle would pick us up in Helen when we called... even if it wasn't a regular scheduled pick up. They didn't and we had to get a taxi back to the lodge... thanks Alpine taxi- real nice. Also, it rained and the roof leaks in the hall way. Yeah it's cheap, but spend the extra bucks and stay in a condo. Btw- breakfast buffet was good but way over priced!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Preachergirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
2.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
2.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Valhalla Resort Hotel
Valhalla Resort Hotel
#4 of 18 in Helen
56 reviews
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
990 reviews
2.6 km away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicoi State Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicoi State Park & Lodge

Address: 1788 Highway 356, P. O. Box 849, Helen, GA 30545-2326
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Price Range: $131 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicoi State Park & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Unicoi State Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicoi State Park Hotel Helen
Unicoi State Park Lodge And Conference Center Helen
Unicoi State Park Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing