We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cloister at Sea Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I am at least a 6th or 7th generation Georgian, and I spent my honeymoon here before the renovations of the 2000's, so I admit to some bias, but The Cloister is simply the best. I have had the pleasure of experiencing many luxury resorts in th Western Hemisphere and many Ritz Carlton and JW Marriott properties and can still say none of them have equaled the service, quality and experience offered at The Cloister, much less the history. The Cloister, the Beach Club and The Lodge are our standby favorite places. We just celebrated our 15th anniversary there. The Colt & Alison at the Lodge is our favorite restaurant there and the Beach Club bar at Southern Tide can't be beat for an afternoon of watching college football. The views of salt marshes sooth our souls each visit and remind us of young love, new lives beginning, and looking forward to the future at a backdrop representative of our deep Georgia roots. Sea Island is heaven on earth.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Mwright124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 695 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

I just returned from a 2 night stay at The Cloister with my husband. Words cannot describe how perfectly wonderful our stay was at this property that "took our breath away". The rooms were stunning with great views and ambience. The staff was friendly and helpful. You must visit The Georgian Room for a dining experience you will not forget. Also, visit The River Bar for a wonderful lunch with great water views.

The Cloister is a luxury travel experience filled with wonderful southern charm that is perfect for couples or a family.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolinaGirls50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Living in Atlanta I had heard about The Cloister for years...I'm just sorry it took me so long to finally visit. The entire resort is gorgeous. Everywhere you look are beautiful views, both in and outside of the hotel. My suite was enormous and very well appointed, especially the bathroom.

The food at the various restaurants was most impressive. From Italian to traditional American cuisine, each meal was better than the last. And I highly recommend breakfast in the Georgian Room...what a way to start the day!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seah873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

had the opportunity to spend three glorious nights in October at this resort. Attention to detail, cleanliness and friendly efficient staff all made for a perfect stay. Beautiful grounds for strolling. Complimentary afternoon tea in the bird room. Stroll around and visit the on property chapel.

Room Tip: Ask for intercoastal view at main lodge and oceanfront in other sections
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLhurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I spent a long weekend here and stayed in a suite at the Ocean Villas. Wow - the suite was beautifully decorated with a full kitchen (Bosch all around), lovely furniture, two full bathrooms and ocean views from both porches. We played tennis (Har-Tru courts) and enjoyed the pool at the Beach Club. Especially recommend the Flounder BELT at Southern Tide and the steaks at Colt and Allison (Khris' service was impeccable). We loved our three-day stay and are planning to return with our family for a longer visit.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jannfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Island
15.1 km away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,285 reviews
5.9 km away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
599 reviews
13.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
165 reviews
15.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Brunswick I-95, GA
5.4 km away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cloister at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Address: 100 Cloister Dr, Sea Island, GA 31522-1503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Price Range: $601 - $1,112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cloister at Sea Island 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forbes Five-Star resort on the Georgia coast which offers five miles of private beach, fishing, three golf courses, kayaking, horseback riding, sailing, Forbes Five-Star spa, tennis and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing