We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Island GA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cloister at Sea Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Absolutely fabulous Forbes 5-star resort with 2 5-star "hotels" a 5-star spas & a 5-star restaurant in addition to numerous awesome other food venues and world-class golf. The entire resort is one of finest in the world including the accommodations, food, activities, and especially the service. The employees are all genuinely friendly and anxious to make you welcome and I found even the other guests all exceptionally friendly. It's the only resort where everyone seems to be happy to be there including guests and the staff. Overall a fabulous place!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arnold Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

We spent 4 nights at Sea Island last week. The resort is very beautiful, and the service was outstanding, especially considering that SSI is still cleaning up from Hurricane Irma. Special mention to Tim with the bell staff as he was fantastic. We did an inshore fishing trip with Capt. Rob who was awesome and made the trip great. The fish we caught were then prepared by the chef at the River Bar for our lunch. We rented bikes and rode them up and down the island, and we also did a Hobie Cat sailing/shelling tour. I recommend Dramamine for this if you have motion sickness. Our sailing guide, Ben O., was awesome. Of course, we went to the beach and the pool, but the activity that was the very best to us was a falconry tour with Paige. We got to spend an hour on a walk through the marsh/seaside with Einstein (a Harris Hawk) and Scout (a beautiful owl). It was a completely amazing experience and we could tell that Paige thoroughly enjoys her job and is clearly great at it.

We had lunch at the River Bar, breakfast twice at Tavola, and lunch and dinner at Tavola. Another special shout out to Cedric, our waiter for dinner at Tavola, who was funny, kind, and very accommodating to a gluten allergy in our party. In fact, two thumbs way up for the resort's accommodation regarding the gluten allergy. That was very impressive.

We stayed in a river view suite and found it to be extremely clean and well maintained. Housekeeping staff are very friendly and kind and do a great job.

For criticisms, the first would simply be that because Sea Island has "members" in addition to hotel and resort guests, there can be a pretty clear divide between vacationers and owners. Sometimes I felt a little intrusive to their enclave. It was Fall Break for many children who were clearly used to having their run of the resort, without their parents. The second is that they need more casual restaurant choices - their casual beach side restaurant was closed for renovations which we weren't advised of before our trip.

Overall, there are so many things to see and do at Sea Island that I would recommend it for couples and families and believe it offers one-of-a-kind experiences.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LilCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

How nice to read that you enjoyed so much about your time at Sea Island and were able to experience many of the activities we offer. We look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Rather odd concierge q, we thought upon arrival. Usually it's "is this your first time here with us?" After 2-3 days we got the message. everyone we met had been there at least 2-5X over the past 10 years and keep coming back. We stumbled upon The Cloister becuz of a last minute medical conference booking. Ocean water was warmer than the swimming pool the first 3 days! Even the lecturers at the conf were taken aback at the natural beauty of the site. 2 weeks after H. Maria came thru we thought the grounds would be devastated. Beaches/inland somewhat, but seeing the sunrise every AM with coffee from private poolside at the Oceanside townhouse made it all worthwhile. Kudos to all who stayed behind to restore facilities (apparently much of the staff as well as management remained). Easy access from JAX airport. St Simon Island easy to navigate with good restaurants, gorgeous resort with Spanish décor, no structure higher than the highest tree is the rule since 1928. Just wondering why no one invited us to "plant an oak tree"?? Mrs. has "raised the bar" to compare any future vaca's/conferences. Looks like we may just have a fresh answer to the concierge's greeting in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gooddogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

I read some of the previous reviews about sub-par service, so I was a little wary when booking. Additionally, I've stayed at many 5 star resorts and hotels, so I feel as though I can be pretty objective about our stay. While two days may not be quite enough to get the whole picture, we had top-notch service in every instance. From the valet, to check-in, pool service, help with directions, transportation, maids, and restaurant wait staff, we felt like VIPs at every turn. Antwon at dinner and Damien at the adult pool made our experience particularly enjoyable. Additionally, you can communicate with the front desk/concierge through text on your phone, which I found to be very convenient. Furthermore, the grounds, accommodations, food, and activities all met or exceeded our expectations. Our favorites were the adult pool area, dinner at the river bar and lounge, and our room. If I was being nit-picky, the wifi was a little weak at some places, but you aren't there to use your phone or computer, right? We enjoyed our stay so much, I think the Cloister usurped our previous favorite vacation spot. We are planning on coming back to celebrate a birthday soon.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nickis124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The grounds of this resort are sure to encompass your every expectation and aspiration for your trip to Sea Island. We enjoyed boating, biking, beach bumming, and swimming all in the most picturesque and accommodating of settings. The staff was so friendly and professional, I genuinely believed they were excited to accommodate my every request. My only knock is on the Italian restaurant, which was extremely mediocre (from an NYC perspective) and not priced as such. The island had many restaurant options, however, so I would not let that dissuade you from enjoying such a lovely and professionally run operation!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lucy858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Island
5.9 km away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
15.1 km away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,272 reviews
13.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
158 reviews
5.4 km away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
1,299 reviews
3.2 km away
The Inn at Sea Island
The Inn at Sea Island
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cloister at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Address: 100 Cloister Dr, Sea Island, GA 31522-1503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Price Range: $478 - $1,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cloister at Sea Island 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forbes Five-Star resort on the Georgia coast which offers five miles of private beach, fishing, three golf courses, kayaking, horseback riding, sailing, Forbes Five-Star spa, tennis and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing