We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Inn at Sea Island(Saint Simons Island)
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
US$143
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Home2.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus St. Simons(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean Lodge(Saint Simons Island)
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center(Jekyll Island)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveller rating
746
121
43
26
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
746
121
43
26
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorgian roombeach clubmain buildingsouthern tideadult poolfive star resortriver barshooting schoolfitness centerfour seasonshorseback ridingsouthern charmriver viewturn down servicecolt alisonold worldone bedroom suite
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We spent 4 nights at Sea Island last week. The resort is very beautiful, and the service was outstanding, especially considering that SSI is still cleaning up from Hurricane Irma. Special mention to Tim with the bell staff as he was fantastic. We did an inshore fishing trip with Capt. Rob who was awesome and made the trip great. The fish we caught were then prepared by the chef at the River Bar for our lunch. We rented bikes and rode them up and down the island, and we also did a Hobie Cat sailing/shelling tour. I recommend Dramamine for this if you have motion sickness. Our sailing guide, Ben O., was awesome. Of course, we went to the beach and the pool, but the activity that was the very best to us was a falconry tour with Paige. We got to spend an hour on a walk through the marsh/seaside with Einstein (a Harris Hawk) and Scout (a beautiful owl). It was a completely amazing experience and we could tell that Paige thoroughly enjoys her job and is clearly great at it.

We had lunch at the River Bar, breakfast twice at Tavola, and lunch and dinner at Tavola. Another special shout out to Cedric, our waiter for dinner at Tavola, who was funny, kind, and very accommodating to a gluten allergy in our party. In fact, two thumbs way up for the resort's accommodation regarding the gluten allergy. That was very impressive.

We stayed in a river view suite and found it to be extremely clean and well maintained. Housekeeping staff are very friendly and kind and do a great job.

For criticisms, the first would simply be that because Sea Island has "members" in addition to hotel and resort guests, there can be a pretty clear divide between vacationers and owners. Sometimes I felt a little intrusive to their enclave. It was Fall Break for many children who were clearly used to having their run of the resort, without their parents. The second is that they need more casual restaurant choices - their casual beach side restaurant was closed for renovations which we weren't advised of before our trip.

Overall, there are so many things to see and do at Sea Island that I would recommend it for couples and families and believe it offers one-of-a-kind experiences.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LilCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

How nice to read that you enjoyed so much about your time at Sea Island and were able to experience many of the activities we offer. We look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Rather odd concierge q, we thought upon arrival. Usually it's "is this your first time here with us?" After 2-3 days we got the message. everyone we met had been there at least 2-5X over the past 10 years and keep coming back. We stumbled upon The Cloister becuz of a last minute medical conference booking. Ocean water was warmer than the swimming pool the first 3 days! Even the lecturers at the conf were taken aback at the natural beauty of the site. 2 weeks after H. Maria came thru we thought the grounds would be devastated. Beaches/inland somewhat, but seeing the sunrise every AM with coffee from private poolside at the Oceanside townhouse made it all worthwhile. Kudos to all who stayed behind to restore facilities (apparently much of the staff as well as management remained). Easy access from JAX airport. St Simon Island easy to navigate with good restaurants, gorgeous resort with Spanish décor, no structure higher than the highest tree is the rule since 1928. Just wondering why no one invited us to "plant an oak tree"?? Mrs. has "raised the bar" to compare any future vaca's/conferences. Looks like we may just have a fresh answer to the concierge's greeting in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gooddogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

I read some of the previous reviews about sub-par service, so I was a little wary when booking. Additionally, I've stayed at many 5 star resorts and hotels, so I feel as though I can be pretty objective about our stay. While two days may not be quite enough to get the whole picture, we had top-notch service in every instance. From the valet, to check-in, pool service, help with directions, transportation, maids, and restaurant wait staff, we felt like VIPs at every turn. Antwon at dinner and Damien at the adult pool made our experience particularly enjoyable. Additionally, you can communicate with the front desk/concierge through text on your phone, which I found to be very convenient. Furthermore, the grounds, accommodations, food, and activities all met or exceeded our expectations. Our favorites were the adult pool area, dinner at the river bar and lounge, and our room. If I was being nit-picky, the wifi was a little weak at some places, but you aren't there to use your phone or computer, right? We enjoyed our stay so much, I think the Cloister usurped our previous favorite vacation spot. We are planning on coming back to celebrate a birthday soon.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nickis124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The grounds of this resort are sure to encompass your every expectation and aspiration for your trip to Sea Island. We enjoyed boating, biking, beach bumming, and swimming all in the most picturesque and accommodating of settings. The staff was so friendly and professional, I genuinely believed they were excited to accommodate my every request. My only knock is on the Italian restaurant, which was extremely mediocre (from an NYC perspective) and not priced as such. The island had many restaurant options, however, so I would not let that dissuade you from enjoying such a lovely and professionally run operation!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lucy858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Hard to get to, but worth the drive. Beautiful historic property, very clean and with a lot of personality. A great venue for any time of event. The service was ok, sometimes very good and some others average. Its a very large property, so moving around can be tricky in some cases. You really need to do your research before you go so you can maximize your ROI, because they have a lot of activities so planning is key.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Amaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay, which appears to have been your first visit with us. When it comes time to plan another visit, as you probably know, you can use the Planning Guide of all activities on our web site, along with various special options in our What’s Happening section, all there for you to see what you might enjoy doing while you’re with us. Please do come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews