We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bucket list restaurant stop!”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Crab Shack isn't just a restaurant, it's a destination! We seat more than 700 guests and offer both indoor and outdoor dining options. Both dining rooms and our outdoor dining deck offer picturesque views of Chimney Creek. Both the young and young-at-heart will enjoy our interactive, educational "Gator Lagoon" which is home to 78 baby alligators; our aviary which is home to more than a dozen rescued exotic birds, and our "Gift Shack". The Crab Shack offers traditional Low Country fare, including fresh streamed and boiled seafood and slow-cooked BBQ. We also have a kid's menu available with shrimp, mac 'n' cheese, hot dogs, and pizza. The Crab Shack is and always has been a family owned business, and recently began shipping our entrees in easy-to-cook meal kits through LoCo To Go. Stop by and experience all we have to offer for yourself!
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

We have been wanting to visit this restaurant ever since it was featured on the NBC show “Council of Dads” - which only lasted one season…unfortunately! Our visit was as wonderful as expected! Food was great, location was amazing!! We enjoyed several menu items and everything was delicious!!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 325bobbiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

We miss Council of Dads too, and we are so glad you were able to join us!! We hope you were able to take some photos by the wall mural that was a part of the Council of Dad's set. We're so glad that you enjoyed your meal, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (6,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 6,324 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2021

This restaurant is big and open and perfect during Covid. Not th mention the crab was incredible. Recommend!

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank kittymlk212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Thank you so much for joining us, we are so glad you enjoyed your Low Country crab feast on our outdoor dining deck. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2021

The Crab Shack is a fun atmosphere and has great seafood. We’ve always gotten the Captains Sampler Platter which is delicious.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank LoveFamVacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2021

We are so happy that you loved our Captain's sampler platter, as well as our unique atmosphere. We appreciate you recommending us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2021

While on vacation, we were excited to have some great seafood. It was okay that the restaurant was out of the Dungeons Crab legs. While I thought $80 was a high price to pay for King Crab legs, I thought they must be great so I ordered them instead. I also asked for the corn instead of the potatoes. My husband ordered Oysters and Snow Crab legs.

My Experience
1) The food came out warm and they served vegetable oil instead of butter for the crab legs
2) The corn was soggy and cold
3) The Oysters were gritty - could have been cleaned better
4) The service was poor (though we know many restaurants are short handed)
5) They served all the drinks in styrofoam cups (including my pina colada)
6) They served the food with cheap plastic ware, and a sad excuse for something to the meat out of the crab legs. I did ask the server for a “real fork”. She did bring us then two cocktail forks
7) The place was not very clean and the bathrooms were worse then a bathroom in a gas station on a highway.
8) The bill came to $160 without tip for one ginger beer, one pina colada, 12 oysters, 1 lb Snow Crab, and 1 King Crab with a piece of corm and a small cup of coleslaw
9) Their was no bib offered and no wipes for after the meal

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aresource5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2021

We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your visit with us, as we always wish for our guests to have an exceptional experience. Please always ask for a manager if anything doesn't meet your expectations so we can take immediate corrective action. We'd like some more information about your visit if you could contact us at stephanie@thecrabshack.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2021 via mobile

Well worth the drive outside of downtown Savannah. Great food! Great atmosphere! Had the Snow Crab and Low Country Boil. SsssOooo good!!!! 1 serving is plenty for one person. Would highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank vjbuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2021

Thanks for joining us on Tybee Island while visiting Savannah! We are so glad to hear that you loved your Low Country feast and our unique atmosphere. We appreciate you recommending us, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.