We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Crab Shack isn't just a restaurant, it's a destination! We seat more than 700 guests and offer both indoor and outdoor dining options. Both dining rooms and our outdoor dining deck offer picturesque views of Chimney Creek. Both the young and young-at-heart will enjoy our interactive, educational "Gator Lagoon" which is home to 78 baby alligators; our aviary which is home to more than a dozen rescued exotic birds, and our "Gift Shack". The Crab Shack offers traditional Low Country fare, including fresh streamed and boiled seafood and slow-cooked BBQ. We also have a kid's menu available with shrimp, mac 'n' cheese, hot dogs, and pizza. The Crab Shack is and always has been a family owned business, and recently began shipping our entrees in easy-to-cook meal kits through LoCo To Go. Stop by and experience all we have to offer for yourself!
Reviewed 17 October 2021 via mobile

Very unique. We got The Captain sampler was definitely worth it and the outdoor seating was pretty cool. The staff was very friendly giving us suggestions for things to do on Tybee and just overall a really good atmosphere. Plenty of places to wash your hands after you've been picking at everything. Waiter was even nice enough to explain how to eat crawfish properly since we were pretty much noobs to it.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Thematic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Thanks for joining us! We're so glad you enjoyed your Crab Shack Experience, and that your server gave you a tutorial on eating crawfish. We appreciate you recommending us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (6,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 6,335 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2021 via mobile

Counted ourselves lucky to get in on a busy Saturday lunchtime, but we were shown to a table outside with a waterfront view. Can’t remember the name of our waiter but he was very good - cheerful, friendly and knowledgeable.
Loved the relaxed ambiance. Lingered most of the afternoon over our meal.
A really fun place with excellent food.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Coastal26334222203
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

We are so happy to hear that you loved your meal, our unique atmosphere, and the service you received. We appreciate you recommending us, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2021 via mobile

Of all the yrs I have lived in Savannah and visited Tybee this was my first time at “The Crab Shack”. What an awesome experience. The atmosphere is wonderful. They have actual live alligators!!! And you can feed them. It’s a family restaurant but also had a great bar, and it’s the kind of place your kids can also enjoy. My cousin and I went with her sister in law who was down from Philly… we did have a bit of a wait due to a large Bus that came in before us but our Server”Lucas” was extremely attentive and considerate. He checked on us often and was very empathetic. Sometimes when you have to wait you really just want your server to care. Lucas was on point. The drinks were great and the Dungeness crabs and the Alaskan King crab’s were well worth the wait. The food was hot ,the seafood was fresh, the corn and Potatoes were great. We will definitely return!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Thank you for making us a part of your Tybee Adventure! We are so glad to hear that Lucas took great care of you, and that you loved your meal, our unique atmosphere, and our Gator Lagoon. We appreciate you recommending us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

Pretty authentic. My wife and I are from south Florida so we're used to good seafood. Our server Ana was great and the food was good and not too pricey. The place is amazing to see in person. The ambiance is amazing.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank NoPassportRequiredFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Thank you so much for coming to see us! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your Crab Shack Experience and the service you received - we'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Ana. We appreciate you recommending us, and we're looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2021 via mobile

Great food at an out of the way restaurant on Tybee Island. The oysters were fresh and plump. The shrimp were perfectly cooked. The beer was cold and there were plenty of fans to keep the air moving. There are several immature alligators in a pool in front of the restaurant that you can feed. It was fun to do We would go back

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank airstreaming2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

We are so glad that you loved your meal and your Crab Shack Experience! We appreciate you recommending us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.