We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were warned by locals not to go here”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Crab Shack isn't just a restaurant, it's a destination! We seat more than 700 guests and offer both indoor and outdoor dining options. Both dining rooms and our outdoor dining deck offer picturesque views of Chimney Creek. Both the young and young-at-heart will enjoy our interactive, educational "Gator Lagoon" which is home to 78 baby alligators; our aviary which is home to more than a dozen rescued exotic birds, and our "Gift Shack". The Crab Shack offers traditional Low Country fare, including fresh streamed and boiled seafood and slow-cooked BBQ. We also have a kid's menu available with shrimp, mac 'n' cheese, hot dogs, and pizza. The Crab Shack is and always has been a family owned business, and recently began shipping our entrees in easy-to-cook meal kits through LoCo To Go. Stop by and experience all we have to offer for yourself!
Reviewed 16 November 2021

The locals tried to tell us that this wasn't the place to go but I was looking for some low country boil and this seemed like the recommended place. The ambiance for this place is top notch - right on the water with a tree sweeping overhead and birds singing. The food however is not what you come here for. Everything is served in styrofoam - I kind of laughed when I was presented with my Leopold's ice cream that was packaged in a small container and that container was placed inside a styrofoam bowl and dropped onto our table as the server passed by. The key lime pie was pretty flavorless. The crab stew is tastless and the low country bowl shrimp were almost impossible to shell (and they were not deveined or local). I know they aren't hurting for business because the parking lot was full even on a random Thursday at noon so they don't really have to try hard. The locals know though. We had a good time and got an experience but I wouldn't go back again. Find another place for your low country boil. Not recommended.

Date of visit: November 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ValerieH721
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Crab Shack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your visit with us, as we always wish for our guests to have an exceptional experience. Please always ask for a manager if anything doesn't meet your expectations so we can take immediate corrective action. We'd like some more information about your visit if you could contact us at stephanie@thecrabshack.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (6,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 6,342 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2021 via mobile

We had the boiled seafood sampler platter allowing us to sub out items but still get all of the great seafood we love!

Good food, very good service. Also, great drinks! Had their mojitos, yum!

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank Rapidfiremonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2021

Thank you so much for recommending us! We are so glad you loved your Crab Shack Experience. We're looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2021 via mobile

Camping in the area, and was told by family we had to give this place a try. We were NOT disappointed! Our dog is with us, and we read on a forum that the Crab Shack actually allowed our furry friend to join us for dinner-so that right there won us over, especially after we took him to see the ocean and he was not allowed on the beach.
From pulling into the Shack, you knew this experience was going to be different, but in your kind of way. The ambience it created was unlike anything we’ve ever experienced before. You felt like you were in your own world out on the bayou. There is really no way to explain it. Between all of the sections of “The Shack”, the decor, the harbor it sits on, the views, just the feel of it alone was amazing! Then I will add the service! Wow. Our server was the best at what she did! Not only did she take care of us, she took care of Ollie like he was a person too ( which to us he is). He sat right there with us at our table outside, along with other people and their dogs. . It was amazing! Now on to the food, which was spectacular! We had the steamed oysters-which were humongous, the peel and eat shrimp, and my husband had a crab boil. All of it was simply amazing-especially the huge piece of key-lime pie for dessert.

I do not know what the vibe is like during the summer, as this is the off season, but the weather was spectacular/we were all relaxed and chill. I felt like I was in Italy where it was an experience, instead of just another meal.

Thank you Crab Shack for adding a GREAT vacation memory for us!!!

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2021

We are so very honored to be a part of such special memories for you and your family! We are thrilled that you found us, and that you brought your four-legged family member with you to dine with us. We are so glad you loved every part of your Crab Shack Experience, including your Low Country feast and the service you received. We appreciate you recommending us, and we hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2021

We love the crab shack. Took my huaband for the first time. Audrey /georgette(lol) was our server. She was awesome. Great personality and she made an awesome mango mojito for me. Food is always great and the atmosphere is perfect. We will cont to go there everytime we visit tybee!!!!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Akcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2021

Thanks for always making us a part of your plans when you visit Tybee. We're so excited that you brought your husband for the first time, and that Audrey took such great care of you so he loved his first Crab Shack Experience. We appreciate you recommending us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2021

We were brought here on a tour to Tybee Island. We ordered the "Snow Country Boil" and the crab was pretty good. The sausage and potatoes were fair, but we couldn't even peel the shrimp. Our waitress was awesome and showed us mid-western people how to crack the crab and peel the shrimp and noticed our shrimp wasn't cooked properly. She got us a whole new wonderful fresh batch of shrimp that we could easily peel and eat! The new batch was delicious and fresh. We had wonderful service and enjoyed seeing the birds and alligators here.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

We are so glad that you were introduced to your first Crab Shack Experience on a tour of Tybee Island! We are terribly sorry your first batch of shrimp were overcooked, but so glad that your server noticed and took care of it right away. We appreciate you recommending us, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.