We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Historical location, meters from the sea.”
other travellers have booked this property
Impressive front door to cottage, pedestrian lane leads to the seafront and beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Impressive front door to cottage, pedestrian lane leads to the seafront and beach
Open plan living area: beautifully equipped with leather sofa bed, armchair, dining table and chairs Surf the web via the SMART TV with free WiFi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Impressive front door to cottage, pedestrian lane leads to the seafront and beach
Open plan living area: beautifully equipped with leather sofa bed, armchair, dining table and chairs
Surf the web via the SMART TV with free WiFi
Brand new leather sofa bed - converts to a small double bed for extra guests
Good sized bedroom with super-comfy pillow top double bed
Bedroom is furnished with dressing table, drawers, fitted wardrobe and armchairs: lots of storage
Bed has LED spotlights for cudding up with a good book; there is also a wall mounted TV
Cottage is deceptively spacious: this is the view into the bedroom from the entrance hall
Shiny, clean kitchen is fully equiped (dishwasher, washer/dryer, microwave etc)
Bathroom features a funky, high-tech 'hand's-free' illuminated mirror as well as heated towel rail
Large shower enclosure: big enough for two!
Stand-alone bath tub, for those who prefer a long soak
Private and secluded south-east facing garden with BBQ for al fresco dining
Stunning Spittal Beach and Promenade: people of all mobilities can enjoy the waterside
Old Templars is part of my family's small portfolio of holiday cottages
Old Templars has been inspected by VisitEngland & rated Four Star Gold Award for 2014
Old Templars is situated in a converted Victorian meeting house, it features gothic architecture
Old Templars seen from North Greenwich Road: there is lots of FREE on-street parking right outside
Salmon fishing on the River Tweed
Enjoying an ice-cream on Spittal Promenade
The majestic Royal Border Bridge spans the River Tweed at Berwick
Tweedmouth Harbour is a short walk away: still a bustling port for fishermen
Spittal Beach is pure pooch paradise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tweedmouth, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kenmainsa...
St Leonards, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historical location, meters from the sea.”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Loved the location & the evening walks along the foreshore. Short drive into Berwick upon Tweed. Good parking & wifi.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plank1958
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It won't suit everyone”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The 'cottage' is actually an apartment, the living/dining area is very small with no direct access to the garden, you have to go into the street and through a gate,passing food out through a high window was not ideal, however the bedroom was very comfortable, and the bathroom was very well appointed and spacious,
The area, Spittal, has very few amenities, one shop which shuts at 5:30,pm weekdays and 12:00pm sunday with very limited stock, we feel it should have been made clear,on booking, it would best suit a driver,
There are three pubs, which do not do meals, there are two takeaways
in Tweedmouth,a fish and chip shop
and Chinese,
We never tried the chip shop but
'the great wall' Chinese takeaway is possibly the worst Chinese 'style'food we've ever had, we couldn't find a menu on line for anywhere that delivered,from Berwick, we are not great fans of takeaway food but, without a car the nearest supermarkets where to far away,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
When we send access details we ask if the guest is coming by train as we offer a complimentary collection at the station The local bus meanders and, with his very large Alsatian dog, this must have been difficult. The frequent local bus service passes by all the major supermarkets, through the town centre and up to the main line station so is useful for guests without a car.
We invite guests to bring their dog at no charge making Templars unusual. Mr. "Plank" did not tell us that he was bringing a dog. It is a great location for pet owners and pets alike as it is on a direct path to the beach 50 metres away.
On arrival at Templars, Mr. "Plank" was met and seemed very happy with the accommodation when asked. Like many other properties, Templars gives onto a public footpath to which no traffic has access. The name "cottage" was chosen because of the character of the apartment which we feel, as do "Visit England," and the vast majority of our guests suits it best.
We have very extensive knowledge of restaurants, bars that are pet friendly and 'take aways' and could have offered suggestions if asked.
We should love to turn the access to the courtyard into something more easily used but Templars is "listed" and we have not been granted permission.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JME420
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Brilliant place to stay!!”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have just returned from two weeks in this superb apartment. The situation is excellent, approx 30 seconds walk from the sea front but in a very quiet location . There was a very pleasant walk along the sea front and we were able to walk into Berwick. The apartment itself was very well equipped, the washer dryer was much appreciated, its not often I return home with clean clothes, the wi fi was excellent and thanks to good weather we didn't have the opportunity to try the central healing. There was also a welcome basket which was much appreciated. We didn't use the courtyard (the weather was good but not that hot) and if I had to find a downside it would be that there was no direct access to the courtyard (you have to go out the door and in through the adjacent gate) The architecture of the building would seem to make any other access impossible. It was definitely the best holiday rental we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinkchamp...
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Booked for treat for mother and partner”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I had been in it before but had never stayed in it. Could not find fault with anything. Spotless! Welcome box very nice and aporeciated. Decor co.ordinated right through which is lovely. My taste. My only "complaint". Which isnt really one..... i like to have a window to look out and see whats happening!! Maybe i am just nosey! I have no complaints at all.and next time i am back in Spittal.this is where i will b staying.if dates are available! My daughter and her hubby who have a house there treated us to a few days which was so kind of them. I would advise anyone to go go there and i am sure they will love it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
thanks for taking the time to review, we appreciate it and your business. I agree it would be nice to have a window which looked out onto the lane - I think if we remodel the garden area we might re-design the fencing so that this is possible
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen T
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Value!”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After travelling for hours it was not welcoming to arrive at a holiday home that was still in the process of being cleaned and refurbished from the previous tenants, We were told that we could arrive at 2.30pm and in fact we arrived at 3.30pm, so there should have been plenty of time between 10.00am and 2.30pm to get Templars ready. Apologies were made to us saying that the previous holiday makers had overstayed. I'm afraid that this decision did spoil the start of our holiday and first impressions are very important,

Unfortunately the property is located between a Day Nursery and Primary School which were frequently noisy, which is not ideal if you are looking for a quiet relaxing stay,

Templars was a great base to see the surrounding areas and to explore the Borders, We packed a lot into our two week stay and thankfully the weather was kind to us. Unarguably the property is excellent value for money.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
We're really sorry you were disturbed by the sound of children playing. The school and the Daycare which are adjacent to the cottage are obviously only open during the day time so don't cause any disturbance in the evening as say, a bar or restaurant might.

We do again, sincerely apologise for the lateness in getting the property ready for you. Unfortunately, the previous guests did not depart on time and had not left the property in a clean state so it required much more servicing than normal. Most of our guests are extremely considerate in leaving the property clean but those particular guests had made a real mess. Whilst we regret your check-in being delay it was important for us that you enjoyed the cottage in a clean and sanitary condition. Once again, sorry for this, sometimes it is difficult to balance one guests' enjoyment, with another's.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;