We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“N, Idaho Journey ”
Review of Blackwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blackwell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Coeur d'Alene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

The house is lovely but definitely needs attention, paint repair, etc. it seems the AC is only fir the first floor, so the upper floors get hot and musty. We were given a room that I think may have been storage ( think broom closet) at the top of the house, 3rd floor. No light, in fact the electrical in the bathroom wasn't working well so we had one very dim light. The last set of four stairways was quite narrow with shorter than normal steps ( easier to go up sideways) and very steep.
The staff is extremely courteous, kind and apologetic about the property's many obvious shortcomings. They keep the house very clean and make a nice breakfast every morning. Thankfully the staff was so very good. It appears the house is run on a shoestring budget or less, which is sad because it's a great historic home with so much potential given a proper owner with pride.
There are other historic homes converted to Inns on the same street that are in much better condition which I'd check out the next time I go.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LovelyLeeenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Great home renovated nicely. The constant locked front doors sends a message of non-welcoming, but the staff were wonderful and friendly. Need breakfast before 8:00, as meetings start then so missed breakfast opportunity. Overall, great experience. The top floor room was a little warm in the summer, and the stairs are very narrow, so ask for a room on the second floor if you are sensitive to this. The bathroom is across the hall but nice bathroom. Quality renovation.

Room Tip: Top floor requires lots of narrow stairs. Less A/C in top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank nzmiller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We recently spent three nights at the Blackwell. We loved the beautifully renovated old mansion with all its character, each room unique in its furnishings and decor. The location was perfect, within easy walking distance of Tubbs Hill, downtown and the lake. Breakfast was a treat, everything fresh and tasty.

The staff was wonderful, providing information about the area and providing recommendations that added much enjoyment to our trip. Specifically, Penny and Abigail were fantastic hosts and helped make our time in Couer D'Alene truly wonderful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank teetime54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed there for 2 nights and it was perfect! We had a king bed with our own private bathroom right down the hall. The room and bathroom were spotless. The staff were extremely friendly. The breakfast was awesome for us, it was simple, healthy and just what you need to start the day. Will definitely stay if we go back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very close to downtown and surrounded by other beautiful houses. Able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The entire house is beautifully restored. We stayed in room 6 on the 3rd floor. It was a comfy space. It only has a bathtub, no shower; although we were told that the shower in the basement was available to use also. The claw foot tub is great but a bit small. It made washing your hair a bit difficult with no handheld shower head available. We would stay again, maybe just in a different room.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Meaganwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
3.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
910 reviews
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
3.3 km away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
0.9 km away
The Roosevelt Inn
The Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 10 in Coeur d'Alene
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwell Hotel

Address: 820 E Sherman Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-4149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range: $165 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackwell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique hotel with in-room flat screen TV's, Keurig coffee makers, iHome docking stations, and more. Hotel amenities include free WIFI, media room, billiards table and shuffleboard. Walking distance to many restaurants, shops, night life, parks, and the lake. Check-in time between 3pm-6pm. Check-out time is at 11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blackwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing