We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rangers in Yellowstone won't let you this close....”

Yellowstone Bear World
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Rexburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Idaho's #1 wildlife attraction. A drive through wildlife park featuring North American wildlife including: rocky mountain elk, bison, white-tail deer, rocky mountain goats, moose and of course american black bear, grizzly bear and gray wolves. Wildlife are free roaming in natural habitats as your drive through in the comfort and safety of your personal vehicle or RV. Park also includes: bear cub exhibit, interactive petting zoo, fish feeding deck, amusement rides, cafe and gift shop. Guided tours and bear cub feeding experiences also available.Open daily Mid-May through Mid-0ctober.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“The rangers in Yellowstone won't let you this close....”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Some people were here because they didn't see bears in Yellowstone. Even if you did see bears, this was great. The cubs are taken away from their mothers (male bears kill the cubs) and raised in the staff's homes. It is great to watch the cubs interact with each other and the staff. There's a great petting zoo for kids; drive through observations of the animals; and a safari where you feed the bears. It is fun to watch the cubs playing. The bears are all around in the drive-through -- in the water, sleeping in the tubes, chasing one another, and climbing on the staff's cars.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Silbermanlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    112
    27
    9
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We get season passes every year and get our moneys worth. So much to do there, and it is a very low key, non-stressful place to be with kids. The curator tour is a must.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver City, Idaho
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“bear world”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Pretty basic saw bears fed the baby bears was entertaining. don't plan to spend much time there 1hr is more than enough time to see everything.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SilverCityIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great family fun”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We hit Yellowstone Bear World before arriving at our destination in Jackson WY and before seeing Yellowstone. We weren't sure if we would see any bears (or other wildlife) in Yellowstone, so this was the sure thing. It was a lot of fun for the whole family. The site is not big, but it is a neat drive through wildlikfe habitat and you get to see the animals pretty close up. We were there in mid May, so the bear cubs were really small and cute. We also paid the extra amount to ride the special truck into the habitat and feed the bears. That was great. The sit or stand and catch the food you drop to them. The petting zoo, carnival rides and gift shop were all a plus, but the bears up close was the reason for going.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Re-live 1960 up close, but protect your car”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Admittedly I am a little conflicted about Yellowstone Bear World.

It was great to see so many bears up close, very much like what I remember from the early 60's driving in Yellowstone National park, however it is a zoo and the black bears especially appear over crowded and exploited.

In the interest of full disclosure my two year old vehicle was damaged by a bear that bit into my bumper and climbed up on the passenger side, damaging the paint. The management showed no interest when I informed them and from their comments I gathered that it happens all the time. You wave your rights for reparations when you pass the warning sign, so they don't care.

You can pay extra to ride in a safari style open truck and feed the bears at various stops. Or like me you can drive behind the feed truck to view large numbers of bears up close. After the feed truck drives on the bears may look to any other vehicle as a source of food though. The grizzlies and white elk were something to see as were what I would guess was upwards of 40 black bears and two wolves in the larger enclosure. (Jurassic Park like) Bears being somewhat solitary I do wonder about the result of packing so many close together. They all appeared well fed but the enclosure has suffered a lot of damage to the trees and undergrowth as the bears like to dig and claw at things.

The cubs in near the petting zoo were very fun to watch but the $35 feeding price kept me away. Also feeding 30 pound cubs is not as cute and danger free as I would like. They are pretty aggressive. The park states that they take the cubs from the mothers as the male bears are a threat, which they are. However the $35 cub feed makes me suspicious that a steady stream of cubs is needed to keep the place viable, hence the overcrowded black bear pen.

There are rides for small children, which were not running the day I arrived, likely due to rain. I wish we could have gotten closer to the moose and elk, there was one deer fawn in the petting zoo. They have a well stocked gift store, worthy of Disney. If you go be prepared for the $15 a head cost, $25 to feed the bears and $35 to feed cubs. Also take the old car or keep moving or you will be stuck with the cost of the damage, much like the 1960's again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Owen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yellowstone Bear World also viewed

 

Been to Yellowstone Bear World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing