We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
5
6
1
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
6
1
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Great stay! Couldn't advertise any better! Would recommend anyone who is looking for a great deal that is quiet and clean. The owner and staff were all extremely accommodating is to me! Also, family owned! I stayed there for an entire month and couldn't tell you anything bad about the Heritage Motel.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Stayed here during our cross-country bicycle trip on the TransAmerica since it goes through Carbondale. The owner was very generous to save a large room for three of us to share for one night. Rates were reasonable and the room was clean and comfortable with good air conditioning. The owner told us that Bob Dylan had stayed in our room once, so we were pretty excited about that! This place is a great throw-back to 50's roadside motels, and has a lot of character. If vintage and funky is your thing, this is your place. If not, it's still a very affordable, quiet, clean, and comfortable place to stay with modern amenities like A/C, microwave and mini fridge in room, TV, and comfy beds. Also, I'm a sucker for hotels that give complimentary Sunday newspapers from their local paper. A coffee maker in the room would have been nice though.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ggonthebike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

I'll admit I am a hotel snob, but there is something about this quaint simple hotel. This is your mom and pop hotel. It is extremely clean and quiet. The owner is kind, and goes out of his way to be helpful. Yes, it is very 1950ish, but it has free internet, free bottle water, good linens, clean and air conditioned, and has simple charm about it. The location is great and near the antique store, grocery store, and SIUC. The refrigerator, and microwave are a nice touch.There is also a small flat screen TV with remote. My only issue was with the pillows. They were really flat, but I am sure if I asked the manager for a different pillow, he would have been accommodating, because that is the type of guy he is. He tries hard and it shows. Those of you looking for the large chain type of hotel room and large price tag that goes with it, stay in the next town. If you are looking for clean, friendly, reasonably priced, simple gem near SIUC, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank travelalot46_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHeritageMotel, General Manager at Heritage Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Thank you and what you described is exactly the way we want to be remembered by every guest. We appreciate your review and I will share it with ownership family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015

family and I stayed at the Heritage Motel back during SIU graduation. Never again. Run down place needs torn down. Buildings look like they could cave in anytime. Carpet is old, dirty and outdated. Old toilets that run forever. Looks like they allow just about anybody to stay there because I saw several street people coming and going. A couple obviously living at the place fought the whole time we were there. Slamming doors and yelling at all hours. Owner seemed oblivious to anything. It's obvious he's only in it to make money and doesn't care about this motel. What's legendary about this place? Some old hippy singer from the 60's stay there for the night maybe? The only thing good about this place is the housekeeper. At least we had clean sheets and towels. Spend a little more and go on down the road.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHeritageMotel, Manager at Heritage Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Most likely you would have been pleased with the $140 per night hotels during graduation but if your reservation was made days prior to graduation having been unable to find any franchised hotels, then you get what is left. We have several levels of rooms (all are clean and quiet) but many are smoking rooms which are not updated. Our building while in the 50s era, that is what is legendary about it separate private entrances in four different buildings where you can park in front of your guest room. However, it is well maintained and preserved in line with the low pricing. Had we had any room vacant during that sold out wkend you could have changed rooms if you just brought it to our attention. As for quality of our guests, we have a mix of quiet guests we do not discriminate against anyone and quite frankly, I am not sure what street people you are talking about. We are in the best part of town and anyone in Carbondale will tell you that. It is the safe part and preferred west side of town. Sorry we could not please you but next time let me know if and when you are on the premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

This is an extremely quiet, clean motel. It is a small family owned establishment, and it shows through the service you receive. We had a large, spacious room that has a kitchenette with appliances such as a coffee maker and even toaster. If you are looking for personalized service, look no further. This is the only place we will stay in Carbondale.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews