We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Courtyard Chicago Bloomingdale(Bloomingdale)(Great Value!)
US$99
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$109
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$81
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Suites Lombard(Lombard)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
42
54
51
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
54
51
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson site restaurantbed was comfortablefree wifihot tubnice indoor poolbreakfast includedcheck in was quickup to dateair conditionercleaning staffclean roomsfitness roommini fridgevery nice hotelfitness centercoffeemakerinns
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here several times while visiting my son at nearby Wheaton college. Always very clean, large pool and hot tub, and friendly, helpful staff! Very close to restaurants and shopping. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank aerobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2016

Glad to read that your multiple stays with us have been enjoyable on your trips to our area to visit your son at Wheaton College. Thank you for your praise of our staff and the hotel, it is always nice to read and very much appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

Return visit for work. There aren't many hotels close to Wheaton. Staff was good, room clean, bedding good, heating is a little tricky to control, wifi was a bust! I could never connect and when I did it was for seconds. There is a restaurant in the hotel - never tried it. Not too many other places to eat near the hotel.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
Thank Wiscmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Its nice to read that your found the staff, room cleanliness and bedding to your liking. I apologize that you had difficulties with the internet service. We understand how important internet service is today. For your future visits to our area, please know we have 24/7 support available to aid any guest experiencing difficult with their internet service.

Thank you again for sharing and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Not our first stay here-we have family and friends in the Wheaton area. This stay was New Year's Eve...we were traveling with family, and needed a place to stay and sleep before driving several hours the next day.

When we got to our room, there were stacks of dirty dishes and glasses (more than a dozen) outside OUR room, and we had to move them to get inside our room. The night just went downhill from there.We were unable to sleep until about 3 a.m. in this hotel, because of room doors propped open with TV's full blast (no one in the rooms), large crowds of children and teens running up and down the halls, yelling, slamming doors, pounding on the hall walls, extremely loud music from many rooms, fighting (police were called), etc. We understand it was New Year's Eve. HOWEVER, we paid for a room so we could sleep. We had hours of driving the next day, and had to get up at 4:30 a.m. We called the front desk 5 times, and were given vague answers that resulted in no change in the conditions. The front desk (manager)seemed helpless..even telling us that they had to "call the cops" because they couldn't get things calmed down.

I asked that the charge for the room ($164) be waived, and we were told that they could take off 10%, because we should have known that it would be loud on New Year's Eve!!! Really?! We slept for 1.5 hours. The insinuation that everyone in a hotel on New Year's Eve is there to party is ridiculous, and the lack of concern from the management about the safety and welfare of all guests was obvious.

I am very disappointed, because we have had good experiences with other Holiday Inn stays,and have always been able to trust the consistent quality of service that Holiday Inn provides. Our son lives in Wheaton, Il, and we go there several times per year. This hotel is the closest to their house, and we would choose to stay here--but after the horrible night,and the blow off from the management, we won't.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThemamaIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Thank you for reaching out an letting us know of your experience. I sincerely apologize foe your less than restful stay with us and would very much enjoy speaking with you further on how we can make things right with you. While New Years' Eve is an exciting night and we all understand that things may extend a little later into the evening, but we would never want a guest to not be able to rest during their stay with us.

Please call 630.665.3000 and ask to speak with the General Manger.

Thank you again for sharing so we can continue to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

We took the kids for a night so they could swim to their hearts' content.
The pool is nice, had a connected hot tub. I think the chemistry was a bit off, because the hot tub foamed a lot, but someone was there to fix it the next morning. I thought the pool area was big and airy for a hotel this size. FYI, they do allow pool parties to use it for 2 hours at a time on weekends, so we were sharing it with about 10 junior high kids for awhile, but that wasn't a problem for us.
We booked last minute, so all that was left was a room with 2 double beds. It worked for us, but I'd recommend a 2 queen room if you want more than one person per bed. The bed seemed very comfortable, but we rolled toward the middle. The pillows were amazing! (A soft and a firm for each person)
We were on the top floor, and I think in an older part of the hotel, but everything was very clean and in great condition, except that the bathroom ceiling and bottom of the door need a little refurbishing.
The hotel was quiet where we were. It felt very solidly built, so we really didn't hear our neighbors at all.
The restaurant was nice--nothing fancy, but no problems either. The kids got to eat free at breakfast and dinner.
The staff was friendly and helpful, but sometimes seemed confused about what specials and services they did and didn't offer.

Room Tip: We found the top floor to be very nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Thank trueindigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a detailed review. I appreciate you sharing not only the areas you enjoyed of your visit, but letting us know of the little things we could have done to improve. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and service so your review will be shared with our staff to work out some of these little issues, as well as encourage the friendly and helpful service your mentioned.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your family getaway, and we hope you can do it again soon and join us for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Was at a wedding here,was in a tent hooked onto the hotel. Was so cold people had to wear their coats,some left and went home and changed to warmer cloths. Couple times guest tried to turn the heat up as the thermostat was right there,and staff would stop them and turn it back off. Was low 50's outside and had to be the same in the tent. We left early as couldnt stand being so cold. A friend had a wedding here last year and told me how cold it was. Had forgot till it happened to us.Wasnt because the heat didnt work right. When a guest turned it on we could feel the heat right away,but then the staff shut it off. They just are saving on money to heat it i think. And the service wasnt good. Took for ever to remove our used plates. When it came time to serve cake,half the room was served then they they stopped. One of the bridal party came and asked if we ever got any cake,told them no. So seen them start to serve the tables again,but once again stopped before out table and about 4 other got any cake. Would never recommend anyone having a wedding here!!!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

Thank you for your review of your experience at our facility. We will definitely look into our procedures regarding the temperature of the event space. Our goal is to keep temperatures at a consistent level that suits the needs of the event. We know that many people have different desires regarding temperatures, and do our best to be mindful of everyone. Again, thank you for the feedback, so we can continue to assess our performances and look to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews