We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
20
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews incredible week local ingredients the main house fantastic hosts magical place off the beaten track every night the cottages the river melissa quarantine fridge ease ziplined suffer hurricane environment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2021 via mobile

This remote located place is a must-stay on Dominica as you get the full package of welcoming hospitality, a remote location within rivers and rain forest, the greatest home grown food, the comfort of spacious Bungalows and just time to explore and for yourself.
Thank you for a wonderful week, Melissa and Andy!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ShocoFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2021

We decided to do our 5-day quarantaine af Banana Lama at it was the best choice of our trip. After arriving at the lodge, we ziplined in (yes, really) and found a fridge fully stocked by Melissa, our amazing host.

The place was ideal for a quarantine, as the villas are spaced apart and each has its own access to the river in which you can swim. Our villa, the Eco cottage allowed for awesome outdoor living, cooking some of the meals ourselves with produce from the incredible garden, ranging from papayas to kale to fresh peppers.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Matthijs148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2020 via mobile

A beautiful place with excellent hosts.
The zip wire is challenging in theory, but fun in practice.
Ginger Lily Cottage has all you need and is set far enough away from the main house to feel like your own space. We left all the windows/shutters open and enjoyed the noise of the river, wind and rain whilst feeling safe and relaxed and had no mosquitos to trouble us.
The food and hospitality were excellent; local ingredients which Melissa prepared with seemingly effortless skill in the beautifully designed and implemented kitchen and social area.
Excellent local knowledge of where to visit/eat/drink, a suburb masseuse and trekking guides available through the hosts.
A hire car is a must to experience the whole island, there are signs of the catastrophic hurricanes as you travel around, but generally the island is verdant, beautiful and waiting for visitors.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank HelenR3111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2019

If you want to be one with nature, eat fantastic organic food and get off the beaten track, this place is the place. The environment, building designs and especially the food are spectacular. We ziplined in because the bridge was washed out and began our adventure into the rainforest. The water we drink and swim in is all spring fed. Andy and Melissa are great hosts. I just can't stop raving about this place.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stinghoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2019 via mobile

I booked a couple of nights at Melissa and Andy's for my partner's birthday, and don't think I could have chosen a better place. The location is absolutely stunning, extremely peaceful and a great way to recharge. You'll have to be a bit adventurous to get there, as it's only reachable through two small zip lines (which we thought just made it even more special and fun). Both Melissa and Andy are so interesting to talk to. The cottages are amazing and very comfortable. The final plus: Melissa is an excellent chef, I would definitely recommend eating there as much as possible. One thing to be aware of: VAT is not included in the prices.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews