We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chefs tasting menu!”
Review of Mercat a la Planxa

Mercat a la Planxa
Reserve with OpenTable
Mercat a la Planxa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #196 of 10,802 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Balbo
Transit: Nearest Red-line Stop is Harrison, head east on Balbo, restaurant is on the corner of Balbo & Michigan. Bus lines are the #3, #127, #129 all three stop at the entrance of Mercat a la Planxa.
Description: Mercat a La Planxa features an extraordinary selection of tapas dishes from cut-to-order charcuterie and cheeses to fresh seafood, steaks and chops, all inspired by Barcelona & Spain's Catalan region. The impressive menu includes an emphasis on meats and seafood served a la planxa or grilled-to-order. At the bar enjoy a tempting array of seasonally inspired sangrias, Spanish-styled cocktails and martinis, and for the wine lover choose from our extensive collection of Spanish cavas, and our carefully selected wine list featuring 40 Spanish wines available by the bottle or by the glass. 3 Private Dining Rooms available for that special event you are planning. From boardroom luncheons and corporate events to anniversary dinners and birthday brunches, Mercat is the perfect location for any celebration!
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Outstanding dinner, will definitely go back and recommend to others. We had the chef's tasting menu where we got a variety of tapas plates. Every dish was Excellent! Shrimp, scallop, seranno, beef, veg all prepared and tasted fresh and homemade.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StSChgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shayla S, Manager at Mercat a la Planxa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you so much for the kind words! We are happy to hear you had a great time with us. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

Tapas restaurant we came upon while walking back to hotel. Small plates done with style and absolutely delish. Just right for late eve meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dasibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shayla S, Manager at Mercat a la Planxa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Mercat a la Planxa! We really appreciate your kind words. Please visit us again next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We’ve only been here for breakfast and it was better the previous time we ate here. The menu changed a bit for breakfast but the food is still above average. Stay away from the orange juice. It was terrible. It’s not fresh squeezed. The waitress said they use Minute Maid and 3 other varieties of orange juice. The eggs Benedict is what I would recommend. The Hollandaise sauce is the best. I will be returning to try their dinner tapas menu.

Thank Magytrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shayla S, Manager at Mercat a la Planxa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts! We will make sure to address the quality of the orange juice with our culinary team. Please visit us again for dinner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

I love tapas restaurants. Lots of choices and food for most any palate. Service was beyond good. Easy to get to, relax and enjoy good food with good friends.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TGA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shayla S, Manager at Mercat a la Planxa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you so much for the glowing review. We really appreciate the nice comments. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Mercat is on the second floor of the Renaissance Blackstone hotel, overlooking Michigan avenue. Large windows let in a lot of light and the view of the park as well as the lake behind it. The furnishing is classic, tables relatively small. There is a full bar and the dining area is rather large. Most of the menu's offerings are small plates, equivalent to tapas in style and quantity. The dishes are well-prepared and nicely presented. There is a respectable list of good wines by the glass and a larger list by the bottle. Service is prompt and efficient, if not necessarily attentive.

Thank Gabriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shayla S, Manager at Mercat a la Planxa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Hi Gabriel,

Thank you for taking the time to review Mercat a la Planxa! We appreciate the kind words. Please come in and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercat a la Planxa also viewed

 

Been to Mercat a la Planxa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing