We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$257
US$220
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$269
US$256
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Central Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kinzie Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$419
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Kimpton Hotel Allegro(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$206
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$266
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$532
US$425
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$514/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Swissotel Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$250
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,115)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveller rating
279
497
226
80
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
497
226
80
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallhi expressthe magnificent milegreat locationfree breakfasttwo blocksyogurttrader joesdowntown chicagothe breakfast areamag mileplace to sleepnavy piermichigan avefront desk staffwalked everywherean older hotel
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Very impressed with this hotel. My room was small, but it was well appointed and very modern and comfortable. The location is outstanding, in the River North neighborhood close to restaurants, etc. Check in was a breeze, complimentary breakfast great. For the price, I feel this hotel exceeded all expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoosierinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Hi HoosierinDC - Thank you very much for posting your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, as well as our location in the heart of the Loop. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

A nice central hotel, very small breakfast room. Nice tray with coffee machine in corner of room - no power point anywhere near it though, tray had to be placed on the floor between the beds. One small lift, 23 floors so arriving with a group made for a long wait to get to rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Moyra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hi Moyra J - Thank you very much for posting your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location in the heart of the Loop. We appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Good sound-proofing made the room perfectly OK; air-conditioning very noisy so had to be switched off for sleep. Extremely helpful reception staff, and at breakfast. Breakfast selection very basic, Whilst valet parking is handy, the extortionate price is completely ridiculous.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JeffB64CPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hi JeffB64CPR - Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, and we are happy to hear that our friendly staff was able to assist you. We are proud to offer competitive rates for downtown Chicago. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

We had a couple of nights in Chicago and stayed here. Good and central. Easy to walk to key attractions. The parking was a real shock. Was lead to believe the car park next door had an association and deal - was told it didn't when I left $96 for 2 nights. More expensive than London - a real rip off - left a great visit with a really bad taste!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hi Martin - Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the heart of downtown Chicago. We are proud to offer competitive parking rates for downtown Chicago. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

This was our second time visiting Chicago and it was great; we took with us a great experience, clean city, friendly people and gosh..., that Lake…!!! We hung out in the city and visited Evanston, but... let’s talk about the hotel we stayed…...

RESERVATIONS: As usual, booking my room in IHG site is always easy and friendly, no hassles or miss-information

CHECK IN: Well, check in was o.k. I tried to break the ice with the receptionist when we arrived, but it wasn’t until I returned to the Front Desk to let her know about my room.

HOTEL LOCATION: This Hotel is located in a very convenience and strategically part of Downtown Chicago, close to Bloomingdales, Eataly, Whole Food, Trader Joe’s and few minutes from the Navy Pier; also close to very good restaurants like Bog Bowl and Safe House

ROOM: I don’t like to sound like I am demanding or a picky person, but I have to say what we’ve experienced.

THE CONS:
- The room that we were given (Room 408) was tiny, we barely can move freely in the room.
- The view was the most darker and claustrophobic that we ever stayed in a hotel..
- The carpet was dirty, with some spots.
- The walls were not really clean, some scratch here and there.
- The TV was setting very weird, on the right side of the bed, we tried to change the position of the TV, but the wall mount bracket was a hassle.
- The pillows were not comfortable, and, we were surprise because Holiday Inn always offers one of the best pillows. The room smelt mold, very humid, on my second day I got allergies I barely could breath.
- That mirror hung on the door's closet, who has the brilliant idea to put a mirror where the door’s closet note even open widely ??
- The vanity and the shelf in the bathroom, it’s too small for your toiletries.

THE PROS: The bathroom.. it was clean and fresh. The head shower was great.
The Microwave and the Fridge in the room, very convenience.

DURING STAY: Gosh..!!..Elevators..That was our via crucis during our stay, it took forever to get to the lobby and get back to the room. If you are taking the elevator in the morning, forget it…is always full of guests; we decided to use the stairs instead, thanks god we were on the 4th floor.

The Breakfast: The hotel provides breakfast, however, the food was not the healthier one nor fresh, too much flour and processed food. They only have Styrofoam plates, and it was so funny because one morning I placed some bacon on the plate and the plate got burned by the bacon....

We never had problems with the room’s keys whatsoever, always worked perfect.


CHECK OUT: Check out was plain. The receptionist needs to work on his customer service skills

JUST SOME FEEDBACK:
- I don’t know if it was the carpet or the AC, but it was so humid and smelling like mold, it will be a good idea to keep room a little fresher. Placing some kind of machine that clean the air, it will be a good idea. I know, the room that we were (Room 408) barely got some sunlight in the morning.

- Housekeeper on our floor was ok, a little attitude, but we just ignored her, in fact, we asked not to clean our room, and for god sake... the way that she was chewing her gum was very annoying and irritant.

- Cheers for the PM Receptionist, the tall dark skin lady, I forgot her name, I think is Ras or Raz...My apologies, she was nice and friendly.

Overall this is a convenient place to stay for just few days, but there are some details that the management needs to work.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi Jose - Thank you for your detailed review and for staying with us. We are glad to hear that you found our hotel to be conveniently located. As a fully renovated historic hotel in the heart of the Loop, our rooms are comparable in size to similar hotels in the downtown Chicago area. We appreciate your feedback and will pass it along. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews