We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay for Cubs game”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heart O' Chicago Motel
Ranked #142 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed one night with my daughter to go to a Cubs game. Most reviews were right on. Very inexpensive compared to hotels in downtown and Lincoln park. Easy access to Wrigley via CTA bus 22. Clean, nice staff. It is a old hotel but again factor in the price. The neighborhood is fine. Didn't feel unsafe at any point. I did see prior reviews saying AC didn't work. Found ours suspect too, however, it wasn't needed too much because its fall. Would I stay there again, maybe. Depends on price. Evanston is another good option to get a little cheaper hotels and access Wrigley reasonably. I'd probably stay in south Evanston rather, but would say this is a little quicker to Wrigley than Evanston. However, don't be scared off by photos it is a safe in clean place.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank edkdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

The only redeeming feature of Heart O' Chicago is that you can save a bundle compared with other motel/hotel properties. Otherwise, it's right of out of those period movies of the 1950's--it is as if the time stood still. The bathroom fixtures were faded and worn and the bars of soap very thin--there was no shampoo. However, there was plenty of hot water. The bedroom furniture is worn down and the mattress was so thin I could hardly sleep--because I was dead tired I fell asleep anyway. There was only one plug to recharge my phone and it inconveniently located. I threw away a similar television set in my room about 15 years ago. Still, if are traveling alone and just want a place to sleep and want to save a lot of money this should be your choice. There is a free breakfast buffet, but I didn't try it. There is a sign in room warning guests not to steal any of the furnishings as if they were of value to anyone! It is about a 20 minute walk from the Thorndale stop on the Red Line.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room as I heard conversations in the parking lot until the wee hours of the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank howardm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

I was really expecting a less then average motel esp in the heart of the city at such a cheap price. I was pleasantly surprised to find a very neat and clean place. He staff was very friendly and the rooms where clean. I visit family in Chicago often, so this might be my new place to stay. Also doesn’t hurt there’s a White Castle right next door

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

This is a very clean, cute, old timey hotel adjacent to the amazing little neighborhood of Andersonville. The few reviewers here who complain about the noise (you are in a city), the lack of amenities (what do you expect for under $100 bucks?), the gun play (??) and 'the lower middle class bar' (???) across the street are all ridiculous. The neighborhood surrounding this place is lovely (don't get scared off by the carwash and the White Castle) and you can walk a very reasonable distance past some beautiful homes to the awesome Fireside restaurant and lounge. Or you can head up the street to the fun shops, bars and dining in Andersonville. You are less than a mile from the El and you can take a short bus ride to Wrigley. Best of all FREE parking as opposed to $35 per night and up for places down by the loop so you can Lyft to anywhere you want to go with the $$ you saved on parking! I am always afraid that the owners of this place will sell and this little gem will be turned into an overpriced hipster hotel. Please don't do that to me, Heart O' Chicago!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mrsschiebel1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Free parking. Fast internet. Quick walk to trendy Andersonville for shops and restaurants. Hop on the #84 to the beach (Hollywood Beach). Take the #22 down to Wrigley Field. Free parking. Yes this is a basic motel but it is a bargain in an increasingly over priced city. Best of all you are away from the tourists so you get the real Chicago feel. Room was surprisingly quiet. Bathroom was nice. Even the breakfast was good. Not the ritz but at these rates you can splurge on a trendy restaurant in nearby Andersonville, Edgewater, or Bryn Mawr neighborhoods. My old favorite in Lakeview wanted $264 vs. $97 here.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
Super 8 Chicago
#7 of 7 in Evanston
435 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#149 of 192 in Chicago
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwest Side
Quality Inn Midway Airport
Quality Inn Midway Airport
#146 of 192 in Chicago
186 reviews
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#66 of 192 in Chicago
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart O' Chicago Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart O' Chicago Motel

Address: 5990 N Ridge Ave, Chicago, IL 60660-3263
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $141 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart O' Chicago Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heart O' Chicago Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart o` Chicago Hotel Chicago
Heart o Chicago Motel
Heart Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing