We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, service, and drinks. Plus, by 10:30 you feel like you're in a totally hot Miami club.”
Review of Nacional 27

Nacional 27
Reserve with OpenTable
Nacional 27 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,014 of 10,215 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$30 - US$31
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Orleans
Transit: CTA Brown Line or Purple Line Train to "Chicago and Franklin" stop
Description: Eat. Drink. Dance. Celebrating 10 Years as Chicago's original Modern Latin Restaurant featuring a fusion of flavors from 27 nations and islands from Central and South America and award-winning cocktails. Dancing from 11pm - 2am on Fridays and 11pm - 3am on Saturdays. Check out our website for our action-packed schedule of salsa lessons, live bands and nightly happenings including 'Dinner and a Show Tuesdays' and 'Wino Wednesdays'.
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Amazing food, service, and drinks. Plus, by 10:30 you feel like you're in a totally hot Miami club.
My party of four did the extremely reasonably priced family-style "Churrascaria" menu, which I cannot recommend highly enough. We had masses of food, and everything was delicious -- guacamole, elotes, ceviche, kale caesar, salmon, you name it. I eat fish (but not meat) and I had tons of options; my 3 tablemates were possibly even happier (as they added lamb tacos, pork shoulder, and the Gaucho steak skewer to the mix). Drinks were fantastic -- we had a pitcher of El Corazon (plenty of kick, and plenty of passionfruit!) and a half pitcher of something else involving homemade vermouth. Also fabulous. Lively music, and quite fun watching the place transform from an excellent restaurant to a very happening nightclub. We all joked as we were leaving that we'd never get back in as we were clearly dressed for a 7:30 dinner and not the 10:30 club scene! Overall definitely an awesome place to spend my birthday.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank klynnkitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialBD, General Manager at Nacional 27, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Awesome review! Thank you so much for the 5 stars and for celebrating your birthday with us! We can't wait to see you and your group again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017

Any place that can make kale salad taste good already gets a thumbs-up from me and my husband.

We were seated right by the dance floor at 9pm and dined leisurely attended by very attentive and helpful service, so we'd be able to watch the dancing begin at 11pm on a Friday night. If you are going to dine at Nacional 27 during a dancing evening, we recommend asking for a booth instead of a table (we saw some parties being moved since their tables were on the dance floor).

Our water glasses were always full, more food was always coming (we chose the 'family' option for a set price per person) and, in general, we spent a date night very enjoyably.

P.S. If we didn't have $100 in Lettuce gift cards, we may have felt a little less happy by the end of the night, but it was a real treat to feel 'take care of' for the evening :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialBD, General Manager at Nacional 27, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for the awesome review! We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful evening with us. We look forward to seeing you and your husband again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

I found this to be non authentic Hispanic fusion food. I did not like the vibe of this restaurant. The food was way overpriced, portions small, food was NOT good at all. Some was very greasy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ItsmeFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialBD, General Manager at Nacional 27, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

I am sorry to hear about your recent experience here with us. I guarantee you that our Chef and the kitchen team take all feedback very seriously and strive to serve nothing but the most authentic Hispanic food. We would love to hear more about your experience. Please email me at Efuller@leye.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

This is a great nightclub for Salsa dancing. Live music or DJs on the weekend. Can be quite crowded in the bar and on dance floor. I would recommend ordering tequila drinks. Cosmos we ordered all tasted differently & all were bad. A great crowd and fun vibe. Took an uber as not a lot of street parking available.

Thank Norine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialBD, General Manager at Nacional 27, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thanks for the review Norine! Sorry to hear about your Cosmos, but I assure you if you like mojitos and margaritas we make the best! We hope to see you on the dance floor soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We have been here over the years but recently had the Best experience ever!

Our server James was terrific - very helpful, attentive yet gave us lots of space for privacy, non-intrusive but wonderful.

Our Food tasted the Best out of all our visits:
Shrimp Adobo was so flavorful but not too spicy at all with a wonderful char.
Grilled Salmon was terrific as were the sides.
The Tasting of Desserts - wow, 4 kinds so good! Fav: Tres leches with mango, then Flourless choc cake, last is Churros with gelato as the churros was too soggy, & a shot glass of boozy chocolate smoothie. Perfect bites!

Only comment would be: larger portions on the sides please as they were way too little.

I was suffering from bad allergies as we were out all day so sneezing a lot & James brought out honey lemons & hot water that really helped the attacks...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justsaygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialBD, General Manager at Nacional 27, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

We are so excited to hear about your awesome experience with us! We take all of our feedback very seriously and we love to hear when people have an experience as wonderful as yours. We are so lucky to have James as a part of our team here at Nacional 27 and we are so happy that you enjoyed his service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nacional 27 also viewed

 

Been to Nacional 27? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing