We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicago Weekend” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #138 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Redford, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chicago Weekend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Took my 9-year old for a museum tour of Chicago and wanted to find something in the city that was still affordable. The Inn Of Chicago was well priced for a downtown hotel, and parking was better than most. The room had 2 comfortable beds, and was a standard size similar to a Holiday Inn or Best Western. No issues with hearing the neighbors, or anything for that matter. Was on the east side of the builing which doesn't provide the best veiws, but again for the price and location was well worth it. If looking for romance or veiws, check out Park Hyatt or Sofitel, if you want location and price go Inn Of Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdt948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    612
    485
    212
    168
See reviews for
275
532
155
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Pros
- Walking distance to best shopping area and Marilyn Monroe statue
- Very close (and thus, cheaper taxi fare, almost $7) to downtown and the Millennium Park
- Free internet with our reservation (Not sure if everyone gets this. There was an option of payment and also an option of using complementary code that we received at front desk)
- Helpful receptionists
- Lots of cheap restaurants nearby

Cons
- expensive parking ($38 self parking, $43 valet parking)
- No in and out privileges for parking

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaminBayat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear SaminBayat,
Thank you for sharing your "pros" and "cons" list with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our central location to all the popular attractions on Michigan Avenue and Millennium Park. Our apologies if the parking situation was an inconvenience during your stay. Our parking rates are competitive with other nearby hotels in the area, and unfortunately, we cannot control the cost. We hope to be of service to you again when your travels bring you back to Chicago.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This hotel is right off the mag mile and although a bit dated and small fro the price and location it was worth it. There are plenty of restaurants shops and attraction within walking distance to accommodate your touristy needs,.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mele22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otsego, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I travelled to Chicago to visit some friends for a girl's weekend and we chose to stay at the Inn of Chicago since the rates were pretty cheap (for Magnificent Mile area) and it looked like it was a hotel in decent condition. Our stay was a pleasant one. I don't think any of us had any major issues with the hotel or the room. The rooms were quaint, but clean. Our room had two queen beds that were adorned with fresh white linens, and the room also had a nice armoire for storing any clothing as needed. The bathroom seemed to be newly updated, it had a new vanity which was nice, and it was clean.

We also received a free drink ticket at the bar in the lobby upon check-in which was a nice bonus as well since drinks downtown can get pretty spendy. The only downfall of our room was, the windows had little grates in them so it kind of made it seem like a cell of some sort, but it wasn't a huge deal since we weren't planning on sitting in the room staring out the windows, anyways. All in all, I give this hotel an average rating. It was nice, near lots of shopping, and close to Ginos!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Ashley A,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We hope you had a fun and memorable girls weekend at the Inn of Chicago. The complimentary drink vouchers upon check-in was a nice perk and we hope you enjoyed the innbar. It would be a pleasure to host you during future girls weekend getaways in the future.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Came to Chicago because my niece was auditioning and wanted a hotel near Magnificent Mile. I read other reviews and booked it online, 2 double beds for $89 a night. Yes the bathroom is small, but clean and updated. The rom was clean and nice looking. The beds were ok, not top of the line but better than some 4 stars I have stayed at. Elevators are small but clean and not slow at all. Lobby is beautiful and staff was great. Dunkin Donuts is right across the street, and 7-11 just past that. You are close to many major attractions. I will stay here again, it was great!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdoug22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Jdoug22,
Thank you for sharing your great feedback with us! We are thrilled you will be returning to us again in the future.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Property: Inn of Chicago
Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): $126 - $448
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing