We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Argentina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Nice place, nice view, great location, very nice and comfortable hotel!

Room Tip: high rooms have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lu_biancooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,342
    1,485
    519
    178
    85
See reviews for
1,088
1,500
172
1,064
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here to celebrate our 4th anniversary. I booked this based on TripAdvisor reviews, and the rating is completely justified. When I asked them if they had an anniversary package over the phone, they said they didn't do anything like that, but at check in time, they upgraded us to a beautiful Deluxe View King Size room, facing the River, 2 levels above what we booked.
There was also a nice bottle of Merlot waiting for us in the room when we entered.
As for service, housekeeping and room service was always spot on with our requests and the concierge was very good with his recommendations for dinner and brunch, didn't try to push the restaurant on premises, to us.
The location is pretty much the best in Chicago downtown - stone's throw from the Magnificent Mile, facing the River and less than half a mile away from the best restaurants, nightlife and attractions in town. Even though I live in a suburb of Chicago and stayed here for the weekend, I think it was completely worth it, and more.
Not to mention, they extended our check out by a couple of hours.
Would recommend in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Choose the Deluxe River View if possible - best view of the Chicago riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelZoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Huge rooms with a huge bathroom, great view and great helpful staff.

Room Tip: Nice view of the river but you have to ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liselv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Was visiting Chicago on business and was lucky enough to find a room at this amazing hotel. I had a great view overlooking the river and the city. The entire staff from the front desk to the restaurant crew was cheerful and helpful. The room was really large, and the bathroom was large as well. I believe this was a standard room, so I am sure it only gets better from here!

Room Tip: Hotel has plenty of umbrella's for when it rains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slowco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I took my boyfriend to Chicago for 4 nights to see a concert and Bulls game as a birthday present. Let me start by saying that my boyfriend is a huge Batman (especially the new Christian Bale movies) fan and I knew the Dark Knight was filmed in Chicago. So I researched filming locations, and ended up learning that Bruce Wayne's penthouse in the movie is the penthouse of Hotel 71. After reading more about the hotel, it seemed to also be a great choice in terms of location and value. I originally booked a Deluxe River King View room but when we arrived, the concierge asked if we wanted to upgrade to a Premier River King View (where we would be on the high floors) for $80 more. I'm a sucker for a good view, so I agreed and we upgraded. I'm glad we did because there can't be a more perfect view of Chicago's downtown. The only thing I have to say is the room still was very small, which I thought was weird because we upgraded to one of the most expensive rooms besides the penthouse. But we were in Chicago to sight-see so we didn't plan on spending too much time in the room anyway.
Everyone at the hotel was very nice and accommodating. I asked concierge if it would be possible for us to go up to the penthouse floor because my boyfriend was such a fan of the movie. He set something up for us later in the day when hotel security was available to escort us upstairs for a brief tour. Out of everything I planned for the few days, I think that was my boyfriend's favorite part of the trip and I am very thankful to the hotel staff for making that happen for us.
Overall, the hotel is in a great location, has great views of Chicago, and a very friendly, accommodating staff at a reasonable price. When we return to Chicago, we plan at staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,044 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 189 in Chicago
4,516 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#84 of 189 in Chicago
6,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 189 in Chicago
4,913 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $278 - $521
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing