We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Awesome location. within walking distance to everything..... Clean, spacious rooms. I had no view, was on the 14th floor.. Had a view of building behind it... And it didnt make a bit of differance to me.. You are there to sleep, shower etc etc... I had a junior suite, and when i walked in thought i had wrong room, but then you turn a corner and there was a good size room with pull out sofa,,, both rooms had big flat screen tvs... Called for linens at 130 am and they shot them right up.. Check in was a breeze... we got there about 1030 in the morning, and check in isnt until 330... doorman told us to try and he was right.. We got right in... awesome hotel and highly recomend....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,342
    1,486
    521
    178
    86
See reviews for
1,089
1,501
173
1,065
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here St Pats weekend and its a very hotel with a great location on the river, near Millennium Park and walking distance to lots of great spots downtown

Room Tip: They have a variety of room options, lower priced options include city view, they also offer river v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northshoregirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The good: Very nice views, centrally located. Fairly nice gym.
The bad: So, so rooms. Leaky faucet. Ventilation cover fell off the wall in room in the middle of the night. Free WiFi !! but so slow as not to be very helpful, even for simple web browsing. The attached restaurant (Hoyts) is fine enough for a hotel restaurant.

Overall it's not bad, but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We spent 2 nights on the ninth floor. Initially we were pleased with the location, cleanliness, comfort and decor. However, on day 2 our room began to smell like an ashtray. Cigarette smoke was pouring through the vents. Before going out to dinner we called the front desk to notify them of the situation. Several hours later when we returned to the room the smoke was so thick you could choke on it. We made a second call to the front desk and they sent up a spray bottle of air freshener. ???? OK. That did not work. Third call. A security guard knocked on our door and shrugged his shoulders. Finally a fourth phone call at 130am and the front desk only offered up a "sorry".

We were clearly unhappy with the service and made it a point to let the front desk know when we checked out. The hotel only offered up a smile and a cheerful "we're sorry". I don't think they really care about their customers comfort, repeat business or referrals.

I would not recommend this hotel as the management is clearly out of touch with the service industry. They were more than ok to send us off after having a sleepless, smokey night. I realize that a guest smoking in one of their rooms is out of their control. But we weren't offered anything in terms of compensation or an effective/alternative solution.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank underabluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just stayed here for a conference last week. It is great. Stayed on the 15th floor (plan for elevator time) Wonderful and helpful staff. Convenient location (make sure you go across the river for more views. Comfortable rooms. Will definitely stay here again. Docked them one star because the internet (when it worked) was unbearably slow (clocked 24KB speed sometimes!) and I do all my work via internet so I had to keep going down to the lobby at weird times and still couldn't get my work done. Eventually had to use my phone as a modem.

Room Tip: Choose lower floors to get access to internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qbanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,520 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#84 of 189 in Chicago
6,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 189 in Chicago
4,914 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $274 - $520
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing