We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Best.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #71 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Great Property, everything in this hotel was flawless. Jodi provided great concierge services. Friendly staff, the rooms were very clean and spacious. Next time im in Chicago i'll be sure to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Much appreciation for the flawless rating! We will be sure to share your kind feedback with Jodi!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,885
    1,349
    536
    210
    142
See reviews for
836
1,031
211
1,410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
228 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

THis hotel has such a rich history on Michigan Avenue. The architecture of the original lobby is striking, and the pool upstairs is a 'must see'.

That being said, the rooms here are a bit small...and a bit dated. Just a touch though.

I am a big fan of Intercontinental, and you will NEVER have a bad hotel experience with them. Never. The rooms are impeccably maintained and serviced. The beds are wonderful. Cleanliness is a religion here....

Chicago is a town of great hotels, and so many others are newer kids on the block....and they have exciting offerings. I stay here some, but prefer the Park Hyatt, the Four Seasons, the Pen, and others.

For value though, this hotel is hard to beat. It really is....

I love you IC, but have to be honest. :)

Ill be back though....always return once in a while!

Room Tip: I like the rooms in the historic tower....for the character of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear JamesE339,

We appreciate your feedback and value your suggestions.

We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The Intercontinental has some beautiful function rooms and a great location, but the rooms are very small and they charge extra for everything. Internet service was $17.95. In addition, the staff is less helpful than ideal. In addition, the common rooms were cold!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewEnglandTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for the positive comments about our location and meeting rooms. We are extremely disappointed to learn that you feel our service did not meet or exceed your expectations.

We would appreciate deeper insight into your service experience to understand how we can exceed your expectations in the future. Please contact me directly @ robert.deluca@ihg.com.

Warm Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel on January 21, 2012. Great location, but service a little to be desired. One of the coldest days in Chicago and NO HEAT in our room! Someone brought up a space heater that barely got warm. When I called and said it wasn't heating up, they said, "takes a while to heat up." They never even offered to relocate us to a room with heat. When I asked about changing rooms, they wanted to charge extra. I was told, "We are giving you a free breakfast." We stay a LOT in Chicago and we have a lot of choices. Very disappointed in the service. On the upside the breakfast and the breakfast staff were great. Upon checking out I complained again to Front Office Day Manager and she gave me her card and said upon our next stay contact her and she would upgrade our room. Sorry, but after that stay can't say there will be a next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Michele V.,

We do hope you stay with us in the future. Your feedback is important to us and key to helping ensure our guests have an effortless stay, though out our brand. We would love to speak with you once more. Please message us your contact information, so that we may regain your trust.

Warm Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel is very nice though it can be expensive (we got a good deal), but it is the perfect place to stay if you want to be in the heart of the shopping district in Chicago. Very courteous and helpful staff. Room was great, but I was disappointed that there was a $14 charge for internet connection (you can go to the Starbucks in the lobby and get a free connection).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmperucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,121 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#8 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $204 - $696
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing