We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Chicago hotel!”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Talbott! Our room was spacious, nicely furnished and very comfortable... Perfect for our romantic Chicago getaway. The in-room computer was a great amenity; it was nice to be able to access the internet and watch netflix from bed. The staff at the Talbott were very friendly and the lobby fireplaces created a cozy atmosphere. We look forward to returning on our next trip to Chicago!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maria_and_carrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,864)
There are newer reviews for The Talbott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,745 - 1,749 of 2,864 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights after reading the stellar reviews here where it is the #3 rated hotel in Chicago.

It was beyond my expectations, a wonderful classy old style hotel that is more technologically advanced than any new hotel.
Beautiful, large rooms with amazing beds/linens.

Every room has their own Mac Mini to use. I brought my ipad, but ended using the mini, a very nice feature. The WiFi is free with a very strong signal, no issues.
I was on the 16th floor and it was super quiet.

You have the use of the wonder Equinox fitness Center that is located under Bloomingdales a short walk from the hotel.
Every one was very friendly and helpful, I can't think of one negative thing to say.

Before you stay in a big chain hotel, research this place. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Try to stay on one of the top rooms to avoid street noise from cars, deliveries etc.. Room 1609 was...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deinarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We came to Chicago for my wife's birthday weekend. Our stay at the Talbott was exemplary. Dwayne greeted us warmly and had great advice, while Ryan at the front desk took excellent care of us. The room was spacious, and what they say about the towels is true—huge. Each evening we would sit by the fire in the lobby and enjoy a well-made adult beverage. The location was convenient for all of our adventures, especially shopping on the Magnificent Mile, and eating at great restaurants. Terievis at the front desk helped us immensely on getaway day, bringing a very nice experience to a good close. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mike28a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Picked this hotel for a three-night visit based on readings of great reviews. The Talbott and its friendly staff exceeded our expectations. The bell staff (Dwayne) and other staff members were friendly and attentive - all showed a sincere interest in customer service -- quite an accomplishment. The building and its amply-sized rooms have a distinctive charm. Our room also boasted an Apple computer with remote access to a large screen HD TV. Talbott's location is superior - just two blocks to the Miracle Mile and to the Red line. Nearby stores, restaurants and bars are a big plus. The Talbott provides much more charm and service than typical hotel chains. Thanks for a great weeked.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maineville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Excellent location in a fabulous city. Room sizes were generous with a good supply of towels and toiletries and a turn down service every night. The staff are what really make this hotel though, the doormen are friendly and the staff at reception are polite and helpful. Duane in particular was a standout, very funny and warm with good tips about the local area. We would love to return and when we do the talbot would be top of our list.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GandTJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $237 - $919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing