We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value -- Average Hotel -- Great location in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #53 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I frequently stay at Homewood Suites properties as I enjoy the spacious rooms, nice breakfast, and good service. This property was a great value in price for the location in Chicago, however the room was less than average and breakfast was poor.

Postive attributes:
Great value -- I bought the parking packaged, which saved me $20/night for the car.
Spacious rooms -- I really enjoy having the private bedroom and living area seperate.
Friendly and good service

Less than stellar attributes:
Room -- very outdated, which gave the feeling of poor cleanliness
Breakfast -- eggs were extremely dry at 7:30 in the AM!

I suggest you try other Hilton properties such as the Hilton Garden Inn or Hampton Inn which I rated 5 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToddBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Todd,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Many of our guests enjoy our spacious suites, breakfast, dinner, and service. Thank you again for your feedback regarding breakfast. We will use that information to improve our guest’s experience.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,967 - 1,971 of 2,874 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We visit Chicago at least twice a year for fun. We have stayed at the Homewood Suites multiple times over the past few years and we would never stay anywhere else. It's close to everything we want to see/do. The staff is always friendly - especially Connie - she recognized us from our previous trips and welcomed us back. How nice is that? I hope Homewood Suites knows what an excellent employee she is. Her customer service is top notch. There is absolutely nothing we don't love about Homewood Suites.

Room Tip: Request a corner room - they are thebest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayeWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Faye,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review for Homewood Suites Downtown Chicago. I shared your kind words with the team and your words seemed to motivate everyone to continue striving for excellence in guest service.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Visited Chicago for 4 nights last summer. This hotel was perfect. Staff was very friendly. Perfect location by Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier. Food was very good.

The only minor issue I had was the mistake on my bill where they charge me for parking when I didn't even have a car. However the friendly clerk took care of this right away. If I visit Chicago again, I shall return here.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyyanksrdbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for noting that our staff is very friendly. I have shared your comments with the team.

In regards to the issue you had during billing: we as a team have reviewed the steps and procedures to ensure this does not happen again in the future. We really value your feedback; thank you for taking the time out of your day to help us in creating a better experience for our guests.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Everyone knows Chicago is expensive for families; but this is an acceptable solution. We traveled to Chicago with our daughter for "fun". Staying in the one bedroom suite provided sleeping privacy and the kitchen facilities and breakfast saved on food and snacks. The location is within walking distance of most shops and much entertainment. The room is clean, comfortable, and well used. Upper floors have a lovely city view as did our corner room. Staff is friendly and helpful--we asked for dinner recommendations on a Saturday night. We had a package that included half-price parking--always a major expense in Chicago. The appointments are not elegant, but they are functional. The bed was comfortable and fitted with very nice linens. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

What a lovely room - we stayed in a one bedroom suite - there was lots of room - with wonderful views of Downtown Chicago. Its in a central location, but remarkably quiet. The room was very clean, bed comfortable, nice pillows & towels. The breakfast is generous - The staff is sincerely welcoming & helpful. Front desk, valet, dinning room staff - all wonderful! We have been there twice & have always had a very good experience.

Room Tip: Such a nice room for the price...Highly recommend this hotel -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClevelandOHLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post a review for Homewood Suites Chicago. We are incredibly proud of our entire team and thank you for your ongoing patronage of Homewood Suites while staying in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $156 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing