We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hpa An Lodge(Hpa An)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
8
28
25
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
28
25
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcoming staffsingle roombuffet breakfastfire stationvery nice stayhigher floorquiet placetwo nightsnice roomrecommend this hotelmountain viewclock towercave tourclean roomshot watertowndrain
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Searching for places to stay in and around Hpa An is not always easy: there are some expensive but nice places outside town, some budget backpacker options in the center and a lot of midrange "normal" hotels with mixed reviews and conditions. As we were travelling on a budget but still like a decent amount of comfort, we ended up with the Hotel Gabana for our stopover en route to the Thai border. And it was a very good choice!!! The rooms are new and nice, the bathroom was great and the location was very near the center, the river, the pagoda etc. To get to the famous caves in the surroundings you will need transport anyway. The coffee shop at the roadside of the hotel is really recommendable, they offer very good coffee from a big espresso machine! Next door is a hot pot place where we had dinner and that was also nice. Breakfast buffet offered a lot of choices and staff was very attentive (but not all speak a lot of English). Very happy with our choice!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RuhrpottTravelFoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is situated in the downtown of Hpa-An, so it’s bit far away from major tourist attractions. Staff at the hotel were very nice and helpful. Adjacent restaurant is probably one of the best I had in Myanmar (order their avocado juice, they are good!). Restaurant has air con. Price is very reasonable. We stayed there for two nights and never wanted to go anywhere else for dinner. Breakfast has limited variety but quality of food is very good. Very good coffee ( much better than the so called four star hotels I stayed in ngwe saung). Access to your room is the old fashioned key they hand to you at reception, but the plus side is even when you are away from room you can keep charging your electronics.

That being said, this hotel does have some obvious draw backs. There is no ac in the hallways. (Given that they have to generate their own electricity from time to time, I kinda of understand this decision). Its bathroom drainage has issues and stinks very much. We had to keep mats over the drain and kept the bathroom door shut at all times. Yet our room is still filled with funky smell. Room is quite small, for a triple room you basically enter your room and go straight into your bed. It was no problem for us because after strenuous activities during the day ( most sites in Hpa-An requires lots of walking and climbing). WiFi signal was robust and good speed.

I think I will choose this hotel again if I come back to Hpa-An. Yes room is a bit small and drainage has issues. But their staff was so friendly and food so great!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We visit the hotel just one day.
Staffs are not friendly and welcoming and don’t have smiles on their face.
The hotel rooms are quite ok. The bathroom doors is damaged.
The breakfast is simple one but Ok.
The service overall is poor. The bathroom towels are very dirty. After the checkout they told us that we had used the energy drinks but I haven’t. Actually the staff hadn’t fill the one

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Ei Thinzar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

...if only staff were properly trained to speak basic English, how to organise simple things like a buffet breakfast instead of standing idle, fascinated by the television disgracing the dining room. They are nice and friendly, eager to please when they understand. Good reception staff. Try going up or down the stairs...

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BenMasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Acceptable price for a clean room with Air conditioning and clean bathroom.
Service is good, restaurant also, have a drink on the terrace! breakfast was a bit disappointing though.
Close to the lake and night market, which is nice.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews