We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/21
US$98
View deal
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$98
Hotels.comUS$98
PricelineUS$119
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
77
118
62
30
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
77
118
62
30
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zip line alpine slide ski lift mississippi river chair lift miniature golf hiking trails grounds are beautiful galena area skiing segway summit weekend chicago
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

Have been going to chestnut mountain for 30 years in summer for the alpine slide. It was once unlimited rides for a fee. That has now changed. Way too expensive to do a drive from Chicago suburbs for 5 rides. And I won’t spend $90 a kid for 10 rides. Last year (yes during covid-everything sanitized and spaced) was still unlimited. Sorry chestnut, you’ve ended our family tradition and have lost our room and restaurant revenue….

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Nowinterhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

Family of 4 stayed 3 days to shop in and around Galena area. The place is outdated, but clean. Nice big rooms. Enjoyed ski lift and really cheap on-site mini golf. (Only $5!) Mini golf course could use some TLC but still provided family fun.
The only complaints are:
1) Wi-Fi service was terrible. Two teen daughters were miserable and adults frustrated trying to use Google maps, etc.
2) No breakfast options. Restaurant did not serve breakfast and no good coffee or breakfast items to be had without driving 8 miles to town.
3) Ate dinner at their Summit Grille restaurant first night. Expensive and unimpressed. Worth the 8 mile drive to Dirty Gurt's in Galena the second night.
Again, rooms were clean, good summer deal, and very helpful staff. I would just prefer to be closer to shopping, good food options, and Wi-Fi that is dependable.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank D4579UGdanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2021 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful the hotel is outdated but very clean. The rooms are spacious and clean. The restaurant has very good food, the salads are yummy. The restaurant staff is a bit overwhelmed and forgets small requests but not going to be picky as we know every business is short staffed now.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Q2976XTyvonnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2021

Service, service, service. As we all know it's a rough time with everyone needing help right now. But we had a group of 6 with 3 rooms for 2 days. We ate at the restaurant most meals, swam in the pool, rode the chair lift and zip line, and hiked the well maintained trails. Every staff member was helpful, pleasant, and provided excellent service.

Room tip: Get a room with a view.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dhaverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 June 2021 via mobile

Room was reasonably priced considering it was the off-season for skiing but busy time in nearby Galena. Be sure to ask for a river view room; otherwise you will be looking at the parking lot. We loved the walking trails and not feeling cooped up in a motel room. Sunset Grille had one of the best pizzas we have ever eaten! Wait staff was courteous and attentive. The views of the Mississippi River are great. Miniature golf was not “up to par” as far as the quality of the greens but it was entertaining. The overlook on the point was breathtaking, could see for miles both up and downstream. Highly recommend this for a summertime retreat!

Room tip: Ask for a river view room.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bowhuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews