We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Nice affordable motel!”
Review of Grant Hills Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grant Hills Motel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Heading to Galena we wanted a nice affordable spot to stay that didn't break the bank. Grant Hill motel fit the bill. It was conveniently on the outskirts of downtown Galena. The room was nice very clean but the bathroom could use a bit updating. The staff was very nice. Next time we go to Galena we will definitely stay at Grant Hill motel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Shari Eiland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFevre R, Public Relations Manager at Grant Hills Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at Grant Hills Motel. We love our friendly staff and appreciate you mentioning them in your review. They do a great job providing a welcoming space and answering every question imaginable.

We are also glad to hear you commented on the cleanlyness of our rooms. We are always happy to hear that!

We strive to provide excellent service and amenities for the budget travelers. Plus, you can't beat our convenient location!

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

-Your friends at Grant Hills Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

A minimum of $40 less than any place in Dubuque and very clean and comfortable. Super nice owners and just a few minutes from an Irish pub and a few more minutes to historic downtown Galena. Apartment- sized refrigerator (no microwave) but there is a full kitchen and laundry facilities on premise. Bed was very comfortable. Only drawback for me was sounds of traffic but I'm a light sleeper. Big backyard with firepit and picnic tables. Outdoor pool. Pet friendly. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank emholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFevre R, Public Relations Manager at Grant Hills Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at Grant Hills Motel. We love our friendly staff and appreciate you mentioning them in your review. They do a great job providing a welcoming space and answering every question imaginable.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our laundry area, kitchen area, comfortable beds, outdoor amenities including our picnic area, fire pit and swimming pool.

We strive to provide excellent service and amenities for the budget travelers. Plus, you can't beat our convenient location!

Your friends at Grant Hills Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We only needed a room for one night and really didn't demand a lot of luxury and wanted to keep it in our budget. This was our answer and we would come back again. Yes, furniture was "dated" but it was extremely clean and really very nice. The folks who own this property know hospitality. We were greeted by a very nice lady who gave us all the information we needed right up front and knew her job well. At the back of the property was an immaculately groomed lawn area with a shelter, picnic tables and grills. While we didn't have time to avail ourselves to these amenities, the area was beautiful to look at from our window. We look forward to staying here again in the future.

Stayed: May 2017
2  Thank Marsha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFevre R, Public Relations Manager at Grant Hills Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at Grant Hills Motel. We love our friendly staff and appreciate you mentioning them in your review. They do a great job providing a welcoming space and answering every question imaginable. They also oversee the cleanliness of the venue and this is very important to us.

We are glad to hear you noticed the effort put into the backside grooming of our property including our shelter, picnic tables, grill and fire pit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope you will allow yourself more time to utilize these amenities during your next stay.

Your friends at Grant Hills Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

This is a working man's motel. It is clean and inexpensive. The sheets new, the towels are old. It has good cable, free WiFi, no breakfast but does offer coffee. A bit loud when traffic starts up as its on the main drag.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank bLiselotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFevre R, Public Relations Manager at Grant Hills Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thank you for the review. We pride ourselves on providing a clean and comfortable experience for all of our guests. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We needed to come in and out of Galena to check on a wedding venue for my daughter. We booked the family room with 3 beds. To our surprise they had a few upgrades on the property. Cute sitting area outside each room. A fire pit with wood provided for the guests. We didnt have time to use the grills provided. Room was clean and staff was great.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFevre R, Public Relations Manager at Grant Hills Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Mary,

Thank you for the 4 star review. We are happy to hear you noticed quite a few upgrades we have made to the property. Our fire-pit is the perfect place to gather after a day spent exploring Galena. We also enjoy seeing guests take advantage of the cute seating areas outside of their rooms.
It is our goal to provide friendly service and clean rooms for a budget price. We hope you will join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
3.3 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
880 reviews
5 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
8.6 km away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
23 reviews
9.8 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Hills Motel

Address: 9372 Highway 20 West, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
Price Range: $87 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Hills Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galena's best value. Offering simple comforts of home, Grant Hills Motel is comfortably equipped to help you pack lightly and enjoy extended stays. Onsite laundry and kitchen facilities, a spacious backyard with picnic area and gas grills provide homey conveniences. More for you: heated outdoor pool, next-to-door parking (most rooms), and choice of up to 3 beds per room. Pet friendly. Affordably priced. 34 Rooms-perfect for reunions, business travelers and extended stay guests. Within minutes of downtown, shopping, dining and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Grant Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Hills Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing