We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$79
FindHotelUS$79
Orbitz.comUS$79
TravelocityUS$79
CheapTicketsUS$79
HurbUS$79
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveller rating
648
246
75
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
648
246
75
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub scones irish dancers live entertainment boutique hotel library area hiking trail my husband and i complimentary breakfast yogurt hard boiled eggs the general manager downtown galena hot tub great weekend fitness center get away
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2021 via mobile

Cozy. Friendly. Wonderful. This is a very intimate and lovely place to stay. There is LIVE music in the restaurant in the hotel and the breakfast is delicious. The location is perfect and the space is clean and warm and friendly. It’s a great little place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CorkyKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle Hewitt, General Manager at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear CorkyKot,

Thank you for your review of your stay while visiting Galena! We truly appreciate your feedback! We are happy you enjoyed the live entertainment that Frank O'Dowd's offers on Friday and Saturday nights! Our team is happy that you enjoyed your stay and time on property! Come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

We loved this quaint hotel. The staff was very welcoming. Our room was clean and very comfortable. We loved the free coffee bar downstairs and were also happy to have a mini fridge in our room. We had cocktails in the bar on our first night and decided to have dinner the following evening which was very good, and they had entertainment! The breakfast was much better than some other hotels we’ve been to. A very nice buffet with sausages, potatoes, eggs, bagels, toast, juice etc.
I would definitely recommend the Irish Cottage.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wanderer26365610348
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle Hewitt, General Manager at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We appreciate your review and feedback about our hotel and restaurant! Thank you for all of the nice compliments about our staff, restaurant, and the breakfast experience! Our team works hard to provide the best experience possible while on property. We hope you enjoyed your time visiting Galena. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We hope to see you on a future trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2021 via mobile

We stayed in the king size one bedroom suite. The room was very nice and the bed was really comfortable. The hotel staff was courteous and gave us a Veteran appreciation discount. Breakfast was included each morning. Everyone received the same plated breakfast but they also had scones, toast and fruit that was available buffet style. Due to staffing limitations/COVID restrictions, we did not have automatic daily housekeeping services. Those were only available upon special request from what we were told. We miss having someone empty our garbage bins, making the bedding and removing used towels.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank colettel359
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle Hewitt, General Manager at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for you review of your stay! We appreciate your feedback about your experience! Ours team want each guest to enjoy their stay to the fullest Thank you for the kind compliments about our staff and the comfort level of the room. Our Housekeeping currently is by request but can be set up to fit the individual guest needs or expectations. We hope that you will come visit Galena Country again and will choose to be our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

Very clean and unique property. Great staff and fun bar, restaurant with great food. Close to downtown Galena. Staff was very accommodating and the look and feel of the facility is fabulous. Lots of interesting pictures and design features

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank donns305
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle Hewitt, General Manager at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear donns305,
Thank you for the 5 out of 5 review! We are happy that you enjoyed your time at our property! We appreciate your kind compliments about our staff and restaurant! We hope that if your travels ever bring you back to Galena to explore you will choose to be our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

I was disappointed with our stay. The place needed updating, its is just tired. The staff was nice and helpful. We stayed for 2 nights and our room was never cleaned, no fresh towels brought in, nothing. I would not recommend as there are many other more charming options. The high rating was misleading.

Room tip: Make reservations if you want to eat on a Monday. The town shuts down on Mondays to give shops and restaurants a break.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jordanaf547
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle Hewitt, General Manager at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of your stay while visiting Galena! We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our on property team is dedicated to doing everything we can to enhance your stay experience. Our property does not offer automatic housekeeping service to limit the contact. However, you can request service each day or work with our Guest Services team to gather additional room supplies. We do hope that if you travel back to Galena you would allow us another chance to regain your confidence in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews