We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/01/22
Hotels.com
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/01/22
Trip.com
US$101
View deal
FindHotelUS$104
TravelocityUS$104
CheapTicketsUS$104
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveller rating
648
246
75
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
648
246
75
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub scones irish dancers live entertainment boutique hotel hiking trail my husband and i complimentary breakfast yogurt sitting area hard boiled eggs the general manager downtown galena hot tub great weekend fitness center get away
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2021

My husband and I stayed at the Irish Cottage Inn for a long weekend and enjoyed our stay immensely. We stayed in a King Spa Suite which with separate bedroom and living areas. The room was adorable with a crest on the door, authentic decor, a little corner fireplace and a beautiful view. The sofa was comfy and clean, and the chair in the bedroom was a nice touch. The microwave and fridge were handy for storing leftovers or a late-night snack. Although we couldn't get the spa jets to work (Room 417), I bought some bath salts and enjoyed a relaxing soak after a long day of walking around Downtown Galena. We usually travel internationally at least once a year, but haven't for the past 2 years due to COVID. The Irish Cottage Inn & Suites and Frank O'Dowd's Irish Pub were a refreshing taste of Ireland in Illinois, literally and figuratively. We learned that the bar is named after the founder's uncle, Frank O'Dowd, and all of the woodwork and we assume other construction materials were shipped from Ireland. Although the pub and inn have changed ownership, they retained the history and authenticity, thank goodness! Try to catch Meghan Davis, who plays acoustic guitar and sings at least once a month. She's extremely talented and is simply charming. Meghan plays songs from the 70s, 80s and 90s and takes requests—a real crowd pleaser for all ages. We were looking for something different, a little getaway, and a little relaxation. The Irish Cottage Inn and Frank O'Dowd's Irish Pub delivered!

Room tip: Fourth floor suite had a nice view of the forest and hills behind the inn, and was very quiet.
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KatrinaOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle Hewitt, General Manager at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Katrina,
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay experience her at The Irish Cottage Inn & Suites! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and loved our Irish ambiance of the hotel and restaurant! We are sorry that you had some issues with the jacuzzi tub in your room, but glad you made the best of your time with the bath salts! We have had maintenance address the room's jacuzzi to ensure successful operation moving forward. Our staff on property love to hear that you enjoyed the entertainment by Meghan! We do hope that if you and your husband ever make a trip back to Galena, that you will choose to be our guest once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2021

My husband and I stayed here two wees ago and loved the hotel. The dark mahogany woodwork in the lobby, library, and pub is beautiful and makes you feel like you have been transported to Ireland. We stayed in a king suite with a whirlpool. The separate sleeping and living space was very helpful and the cute electric fireplace added a cozy touch. The breakfasts in the morning were delicious however make sure to get there more at the starting time, some items were not replenished as the breakfast time went on. Unfortunately we did not get to use the pool as it was out of order. The walking path behind the hotel was very relaxing through the woods. If we come back to Galena we will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank 896melissak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle Hewitt, General Manager at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2021

Dear Melissak,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and property! We have passed on your breakfast feedback to our Food & Beverage team and will work towards enhancing the breakfast experience and make sure the offerings stay stocked. Thank you for the compliments of the overall property, the room type you enjoyed, and the hiking trail! We are happy these items met your expectations! We look forward to your future stay and hope to be able to only provide a better stay each and every time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2021 via mobile

A nice place to stay! You do have to drive to downtown galena. It would have been nice to be told at check in that if you wanted to your room serviced, you would need to specify it every day. I did mention it at check out and was told that you were supposed to be told at check in, as well as it being stated in your key card packet. Unfortunately it was on the little piece of paper with the hotels Wi-Fi password, which we didn’t choose to use so never saw it.
If you wanted something closer to downtown prices are pretty much the same from hotel to hotel.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 30thanniversary1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle Hewitt, General Manager at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2021

Thank you for your review of your recent stay experience! We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We have followed up with our Guest Services team to make sure they are communicating are current policies with our guests during reservations and at check-in. We thank you for choosing to stay with us! Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2021

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Irish Cottage! I felt like I was in a little part of Ireland.

Pros:
1. The decor is wonderful! Each room is named after a county in Ireland. The rooms have lovely Irish artwork in the rooms. And a St.Brigid's Cross above the door!
2. Bed was very comfy! Sheets were nice and soft too!
3. The breakfast was delicious! It was served on china and in the pub. It was the standard breakfast fare of eggs, sausages, little potatoes, but it seemed to taste better than other hotels basic breakfasts. They also had scones that were so tasty!
4. The breakfast host was very nice and attentive. I heard him ask several people how their meals were.
5. In the back of the hotel there is a short hiking trail. And a fairie ring! Both are really neat and nicely done!
6. We stayed in a standard king room. More than enough space for two people. Didn't feel cramped.
Cons
1. Our room didn't have a microwave (but did have a fridge). We were told traditional king rooms didn't have microwaves. I found this to be odd. I've never stayed in a hotel without a microwave before. It would be nice if management would add this feature to a regular king room. Sometimes people like to heat up leftovers .
2. Towels did the job but did look worn. They need to be updated.
3. This hotel is 15-20 years old by now. It does need some updates, but I hope the hotel just replaces what is worn (like towels, repainting the murals outside, wallpaper etc) since I think the decor of the hotel is fantastic and I would hate for them to lose the "Irish" look of the hotel.
4. The tiny Irish shop had very little merch. They really need more items in there! Maybe they could team up with Shamrock Imports in Dubuque for more items.
5. Wish the pub had music every night!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle Hewitt, General Manager at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2021

Dear icfolk,

Thank you for your review and feedback of your stay at our property! We always appreciate hearing the guest's voice! It helps our team improve on items that don't quite meet the mark we are shooting for. We are happy that you enjoyed our new breakfast experience, and found the breakfast attendant attentive to the breakfast area and guests. Our goal for each guest is to provide the best experience possible! Our management team have provided your additional feedback on room and property updates to our ownership for review. We are looking to do some enhancements throughout the property, including our gift shop! We are currently adding microwaves to our traditional kings and updating the towels and terry in our rooms. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future to provide you with an even better time while visiting Galena Country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2021 via mobile

The hotel was very nice. The room was very clean. However, the pool heater was broken and we weren't told this until we went to the pool and saw that it was green. The employee told us we could swim but it would be cold. Um, I don't think so. Also, twice the same employee was getting himself on one occasion coffee when there weren't enough cups for the customers and filling a to go box with food while we the guest waited for him to finish. When we checked out I asked for my receipt to be emailed to me. We've been home for several hours and still don't have that email.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kellykS9631JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle Hewitt, General Manager at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2021

We appreciate your and feedback of your stay experience. Thank you for the compliment on the cleanliness of the room. Our Housekeeping Team works hard to ensure the cleanliness of the room and property meet and exceed the guest expectation. We apologize for the inconvenience of the pool being out of service during your stay and the miscommunication from the desk about utilizing the pool. We have followed up with our employee on the importance of the guest being our first priority and appreciate your feedback on the experience you had. We do hope that you will provide us with another chance to regain your confidence in our property and team to provide you with a better experience all around. Lastly, if you still have not received a copy of your receipt please reach out to our Guest Service team on the property and we can help resolve this any provide any additional assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews