We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$93
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goldmoor Inn(Galena)
US$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$345
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alice's Snyder House(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmers Guest House(Galena)
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$99
The Irish Cottage
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
114
6
1
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
6
1
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskathleentomhomehostskleenexbloomdowntown
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

My fiancee and I went to Galena and stayed here to elope. It was an awesome experience. The innkeepers are great. The rooms were great, very clean and definately brings one back to historical times. The breakfast was great Everytime. The cinnamon rolls are to die for. We got married there this past weekend and were able to use the beautifully landscaped gardens as our back drop. It was beyond words. My husband and I would stay there again without hesitation. If you are looking for a quiet, beautiful getaway go visit as you will not regret it.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Larisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

I've stayed at this B&B 5 times for a reason-- everything here is fabulous. I've been in 4 of the rooms and they were all lovely. The breakfasts have always been delicious. The grounds are perfect, and we've had several fires in the fire pit on cooler evenings, which owner Tom had all set up for us. He and his wife couldn't be any nicer. Once we had to cancel a weekend trip after one night due to a sudden death in our family. Tom and Kathleen let us make up for our remaining days at a later weekend for no charge. Galena itself is a great town, whether you want to "party", shop, see beautiful scenery or just relax. A previous reviewer was negative about the Coachhouse Room. Yes, there are 2 steps down to the bathroom but that may only be a problem for older visitors. And that bathroom's decor may not be as nice as the other rooms but the Coachhouse was very roomy and even had a little kitchenette and bar area. Our group had booked 3 of the rooms and it was a great place for us all to hangout for our winter trip. Beautiful decor in the home and soft mood music just completes the perfect atmosphere of this B&B. Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

My husband made a reservation for our 45th anniversary weekend at Abbey's based on the wonderful reviews. In the interest of getting to the point, we found the first night very unsatisfactory. The bed groaned every time one of us moved. It was a cold night and every time the heat came on it roared and blew directly in my face as I lay in the bed. The towels were old, unmatched and scratchy. The bathroom was down two stairs from the bedroom, was from the 60's era which was unattractive but functional but there were no amenities and no Kleenex. The breakfast was not as good as you would get at Country Inn or another much less costly motel. they served fruit cocktail over a very thin slice of cantaloupe and some store bought refrigerated cinnamon roll dough which wasn't even cooked through. Even the coffee was weak and there was no cream, only low fat milk. As a result of our bad night and the fact that we know what kind of service we would normally expect at a good b&b we did not want to spend another night. When I expressed this to Tom, he said that he would not refund our prepayment and never offered any compensation. He said that we kept him from renting the room though he clearly had other room vacancies.
I will say that when we arrived Tom was very friendly and the house was indeed very nicely restored. My husband sometimes has sleep issues which he expressed to Tom at the time of reserving. Tom recommended the carriage house because it has an additional day bed on a small enclosed porch. When the main bed made noise every time either of us moved, he went to try to sleep on this day bed. He discovered it was a 4 or 5 inch thick mattress resting on a piece of 1/2 inch plywood that he could feel whenever he turned over. A truly disappointing experience, and we were relieved to check out the first morning after breakfast even though we lost our money.

Room Tip: Do not take the carriage house
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mema-knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Two friends and I spent last weekend in Galena. We stayed in the carriage house at this wonderful inn. It was quiet and the room was delightful only missing having a coffee maker so I could have my caffeine a little earlier than 8am. The gardens were lovely. Pictures don't do it justice. You can view the city from the gazebo where we drank our wine the first night. Both breakfasts, that were served in Tom's lovely diningroom, were delicious and set us up for our day beautifully. We went to Galena to experience and little heaven, and we did at Abbey's High Street B&B. Thanks Tom!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank barbralauterbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

We came into town on short notice and looked for a B&B at the last minute. We called Abbey's and Tom was very kind, gracious and accommodating even on such short notice. We arrived about a half hour after we called and he had the room and welcome all ready to go. He was very friendly and warm the entire time and left no details out. We got the Grant Room and it was so beautiful! A cozy fireplace to warm the room, large and comfortable canopy bed and a large hot tub! The view of Galena at night from the room was spectacular! In the morning we came downstairs to fresh coffee waiting for us while we waited for breakfast to finish. We were welcomed into a lovely dining room and had an absolutely delicious breakfast made by Tom, omelet, corn beef hash, fruit and cottage cheese and two homemade cinnamon rolls made by his wife Kathleen, who, unfortunately, we weren't able to meet this time around... hopefully next time! We chatted with Tom a great deal during breakfast and after, then said our goodbyes and, reluctantly, left. I can't wait to come and stay there again in summer when the gardens will be in full bloom! A wonderful experience, quiet, cozy and a gorgeous Victorian home with great innkeepers!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews