We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
82
88
46
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
88
46
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean truck stop half century open the window place to stay older hotel hard boiled eggs enjoyed our stay fresh fruit remodeling refrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

This stay was a vast improvement over last year’s visit. The total clean up and decorative remake of rooms is remarkable. Fresh, comfortable, and restful.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank 49retiredtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAY P, Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Gilman, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Sincerely,
Super 8 Gilman 815-265-7000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Room, bedding and barh were clean, but furniture was old and scarred, sink had rust around the drain, shower/toilet area too small to turn around in. A/c didn’t work. Bed hard and pillows lumpy. Breakfast was adequate but very basic, and seating consisted of 3 tables and broken down chairs. Definitely would not stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank rosemP2773PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAY P, Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Gilman, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Gilman Super 8. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such great things about Cleaning our hotel and service here a Gilman super 8.
Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding dismal on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with upper management to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.
Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Gilman.
Kind Regards,
Super8 Gilman 815-265-7000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JAY P, Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Gilman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. But....... the hotel is located right next to the train tracks and between the screeching of the train brakes and the horns blowing it was not a very peaceful or restful night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAY P, Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Gilman, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Sorry For Train Issue but we let you know please when you coming next time tell on desk clerk Rooms on Truck Parking Side so you have No worries about Train voice issue.Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Please Give Us Another Chance To Provide Superior Service. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Sincerely,
Gilman Super 8 Call#815-265-7000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

I needed to go visit a relative of mine in the Gifford Country Health care facility. Unfortunately for me (but great for the area) I could not get anywhere due to the Half Century celebration in Rantoul. However, I shopped around and found this little gem in Gilman. The staff are UNBELIEVABLY efficient and friendly and helpful. This is a little bit older hotel BUT very very clean and room was great. Beds were comfy and the refrigerator kept beverages ice cold. The cleaning crew always changed out towels even though we hung them up to use again. We stayed for three nights and would definitely go back. Across the street is a wonderful truck stop, K and H I believe, Monical's pizza and even a gift shop downtown which I could have spent hours in it was so huge. But getting back to the hotel, it was packed and I was so happy that they had a room for us. Also, did not charge EXTRA like some do when staying on a Friday and Saturday night as well. The owner should be very proud of his staff and their hospitality. We have always been happy at Super 8 and this was certainly not a disappointment. Thank you, thank you for what otherwise would have been a very stressful trip.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LindaRae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAY P, Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Gilman, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Linda,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such great things about our hotel and service here a Gilman super 8.You Very Welcome anytime we help you anytime its our pleasure. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and had comfortable stay with us.
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Sincerely,
GILMAN SUPER 8
815-265-7000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews