We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veligandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at Veligandu (Veli) from 19th February for one week, travelled as a couple. We stayed in a Jacuzzi water villa and it was lovely. We also had the chance to stay for the night on the owner of Veli's private separate islands that you can see from Veli and we have a lovely room there too for one night (we could have stayed for two if had wanted) and the room had an open shower and big lounge area you could go in and a pool and own beach. It was great just to have a night there as it was so quiet and peaceful, even though Veli is not loud it was just different. We then went back to Veli for our final nights and were put into a different Jacuzzi water villa again and this was really nice as we got to sample being at the far end of the island in one at the start, being 148 and then we were on the mid way being 155 for the rest of the week. They say variety is the spice of life! We only had one week away so did not want to do too much but we did visit the neighboring island of Rashdoo, which was nice just to do a bit of souvenir shipping and not much else. We also went deep sea fishing, even though we caught nothing in 4 and half hours, the captain of the boat ant the other lads that helped were great and they really DID try hard for us to catch something but luck was not with us that day. Don’t let that put you off though and if you can afford to go, then do it. We also did the speed boat snorkel trip. The two reefs you visit are very nice and well worth the trip and the one thing we did find around Veli was the snorkeling was pretty disappointing. On the snorkel trip though was saw a couple of turtles though which was great as we love them. The food, well what can we say, it was LOVELY, how any one can complain about the food or lack of choice I will never know. I cant eat beef or lamb due to health reasons but not once at any meal did I struggle. The fresh reef fish they cook is lovely and I don’t like strong fish taste but every one was prefect. The selection of food was excellent and the desserts to die for. I think my husband have ten different ones in one lunch sitting! The waiters and all the staff were so so polite and lovely people. Also the spa girls were very courteous too and they were very good at their treatments. My husband and I had a few and a couple of the couples treatments and I also had my own treatments too, they were all faultless. For the girls, the hair coconut treatment is a must, so relaxing and a bit different too. We would also like to say a big thank you to Abdullah who is a very good host at front desk. If you need anything or have any queries he is the man to see and he will go out of his way to try to sort it for you. Once we had left the island some friends of ours went to kuramathi for a night, (a deal Veli were offering) and when you came back you had a free romantic meal included. We had also asked Abdullah if there was any chance once our friends came back the next day, could they be upgraded from a water villa to a Jacuzzi water villa for their second week, he made it happen… The only small hitch I would say is that the evening entertainment is a bit none descript. This could be with looking into a little, as Beegees night on dvd is not really everyone's cup of tea! All in all there is not much else I can say about Veli except that we absolutely loved our time there, it was superb and we would not hesitate to go back there again. My parents have also been to the Maldives 6 times now and they have been back to Veli 3 times now as they say the others just do not compare. One tip would be to fly with Thomson/ 1st choice out there as direct flight, no going via Dubai, and upgrade to premier class as worth ever penny. My husband is 6ft4 and he had plenty of room, the food was good and free flowing drinks to help you sleep. To anyone out there reading this, get Veli booked up ASAP as I am sure that you wont be disappointed and would be very surprised if you were. Many thanks to all at Veli for making our stay so enjoyable. Couple from Guernsey, C.I. xxx

Room Tip: Go for the jacuzzi water villas mid of the island as the ones opposite end from the restaurant end a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pinglep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,618 - 1,622 of 2,646 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed between the 12th and 27th of February 2012 and we could not fault the accommodation or the staff that looked after us.

WEATHER: Excellent, do not look on weather websites and this gives a false impression as it is taken from Mali which is 20 minutes by sea plane away. Weather predicted for our stay was rain every day with thunderstorms - had none of it - blue skies and not a drop of rain.

ACCOMMODATION: Stayed in both the water and beach jucuzzi beach villas and cannot fault either -large rooms which were cleaned daily. Would recommend villas on the sunset side of the island as the sunsets were spectacular.

FOOD: Can be summed up one word - Excellent - chief chef could be seen most days in the restaurant monitoring both staff and customers. Came home a lot heavier than went out!

STAFF: At all times all staff were helpful and always made sure that you were satisfied with all aspects of your stay at Velignadu. The reception staff were always cheerful no matter what time you visited them. Special thanks must go to Abdulla, Front Office Manager as he was always at hand with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. The waiters in the restaurant were excellent and remembered your room number and what you drank and were always attentive.

To sum up if you are considering visiting Veligandu Island I do not think you will be disappointed either with the Island, the accommodation, the food, the staff or the beautiful weather - in a nutshell PARADISE!

Room Tip: Villas on the sunset side get the evening sun and wonderful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

5th trip to the Maldives in last 5 years. Loved Meeru,Kurumathi and Reeethi Beach but this place is special. Stayed for 2 weeks in a water villa February 2012.
It has all been said before; GREAT food, lovely accommodation, good snorkelling , empty tranquil beaches and amazingly located swimming pool, bar and restaurant area. It is absolute paradise. I would not hesitate to return although the identical holiday in 12 months time will cost me about £1000 more.
A few observations for future visitors.There is very little in the way of evening entertainment (which suited us) and if you are in the bar after 11. 00pm you will feel quite conspicuous.
The island is much bigger than expected and the main path contains some quite deep sandy areas and it can take a good 10 to 15 minutes to get from some of the water villas to the bar and restaurant. This makes taking a drink back to your villa quite difficult if you want it cold.
The decision to go all inclusive will depend on your budget and drinking habits. The drinks are particularly dear to buy (7 dollars for a bottle of beer) but the AI alcoholic drinks are quite disappointing and limited to draught beer, house wine from cartons and local brand gin, whiskey, vodka, and rum. Anything else (apart from a daily cocktail which constantly tasted the same) you will have to pay for. This includes any mini-bar drinks.
We stayed in a sunrise water villa before voluntarily being moved to a sunset villa. Both were lovely. The sunrise villa had a cooling breeze and the sunset got very hot outside in late afternoon but had good access for snorkelling. The sunrise villa did sway a bit on a couple of windy days and its air conditioning unit seemed more noisy .
The waiters in the restaurant were brilliant but do start preparing the tables for the following meal 20 minutes before the "closing time". You can't blame them for this as they are keen to get some rest before the next round of food. This can mean your table may be cleared while you are in between courses and beware the food will start being taken back to the kitchen on the dot of closing. So get to the restaurant early!
The shop on the island is quite well stocked but expensive so it is worthwhile buying your medicines (athlete's foot cream essential), toiletries and snorkelling gear before you go.
Really enjoyed and recommend the sunset cruise, trip to Kurumathi and the backroom tour.
Finally many thanks to the Veligandu staff for a memorable holiday

Room Tip: Stayed in a water villa but the beach villas looked spacious and private and good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank doc1lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was our 9th visit to the Maldives and 7th different island but it is definitely our favourite so far.

Accommodation: The standard of the accommodation – a Jacuzzi water villa – was excellent. Fairly large with a huge bed, a sofa and a dressing area. One great thing was the plentiful lighting and mirrors – not dimly lit like many other Maldives rooms we have had. Also liked the large amount of storage and hanging space and the quiet and efficient air con. Outside, the terrace had 2 loungers, a table and 2 chairs and is private from the neighbours. The bathroom had sliding doors onto another (enclosed) terrace with another 2 loungers and the jacuzzi. One tip is to take earplugs if you are in a water villa as the sea can be very noisy at night.

Wildlife: We loved the fact that on many days we saw dolphins swim by our room just on the edge of the reef (we actually saw them on both sides of the island). However it was slightly disappointing that there weren’t many fish swimming in the shallows around our villa. There were masses of baby fish in the lagoon stretching as far as you could see and this attracted some really quite large sharks. The herons on Veli are almost tame, you could get so close to them.

Restaurant: We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and variety of the food in the buffet restaurant. Some little additions to what we’d experienced before (such as cheese and biscuits, ice cream and handmade chocolates) kept it interesting. On some days though we didn’t want to eat as it was all too much and occasionally had afternoon tea (included on the AI) of toasted sandwiches and fries in the bar and then didn’t go to dinner (just for a rest!). One night we tried out the room service and had pizza delivered in a box just like Dominos! That was very tasty too.
The restaurant has 3 separate rooms leading from the central buffet area. We usually went to the furthest one (nearest to the Spa) as it was the quietest. The waiters rotated around the rooms on a weekly basis so you didn’t get the same one for the whole of your stay which would have been nice, but I can understand why it’s not practical. In the evening there are lots of tables outside on the terrace, although these were the most popular so you had to get there either early or late to secure one.

Bar: This is in a beautiful position on one end of the island so that there are views across the sand to the sea from 3 sides. One cocktail every day is included in the All Inclusive and bottled water is also included which was a pleasant surprise. The AI wine was really very good.

Service: As always in the Maldives, the staff were very polite and friendly. We were particularly impressed on a couple of occasions when we had maintenance issues with the room and someone turned up within 10 minutes to fix them.

Snorkelling: There are nice places to snorkel in quite a few areas of the island. The good thing for me was that you didn’t need to go far out of your depth to get to the reef edge. We mainly snorkelled on the reef out from rooms 174 -155 (although it’s much nearer the 174 end) and also in the shallows on the west side of the sand spit. Unfortunately for most of our stay the east side was too choppy for us because it was very windy. Not sure if it’s normal for it to be so windy (last week Jan, first of Feb), but it did spoil the snorkelling on a couple of days when you could hardly see anything under water as the sand was so churned up.

Sand spit: Staying in a water villa we loved the fact that there were sunloungers dotted around the island on the beach. Often it was too hot to sit on our terrace but we could search for a breeze elsewhere, the sand spit being a particular favourite. Here there are about 12 pairs of loungers. When we first arrived you could turn up at any time of day and get a free spot, but in our second week (not sure why), people started putting towels on the loungers at breakfast and then it became more difficult.

Trips: We did the free AI sunset dolphin trip which quite choppy but worth it as we came across lots of dolphins. We also did the Back of House tour which was excellent. We went into the staff area and saw all the machinery that keeps the island going. We were amazed at how high tech it all is.

Spa: We had one spa treatment and can thoroughly recommend it. The rooms are gorgeous – over the water so you can hear the sea, with a bath on the terrace (if that’s part of your treatment).

Other facilities: The games room is well equipped with table tennis, pool, table football and darts. Next to Reception there are some PCs for Internet access and a small library. There’s also a gym which we didn’t use!

Environment: We loved the absolute peace and quiet of this island – it was even more relaxing than other islands we have been to. Think this is because of the small number of rooms plus a lack of children. Also the nationalities on the island seemed to be compatible, everyone respecting the surroundings and the peace of other guests – the majority were German, British, French and Swiss.

Birthday: On my husband’s birthday (without asking) we had a decorated table at dinner, a birthday cake (shame we’d already had dessert by then!) and a glass of bubbly. We also got a beautifully decorated bad and a fruit basket. It’s a really nice touch.

The only not so good thing was the seaplane transfer home which was so late we were really close to the wire, arriving at Male just 40 minutes before our flight left. This was quite stressful and not the best way to end a holiday. One thing to note about Male airport is that there no longer seems to be anywhere you can buy bottles of water to take onto the plane. The shop that used to sell it (sealed in bags for security) no longer does.

Return? Yes definitely. We had already booked next year’s holiday to another island but since coming home we have changed that booking to go back to Veligandu. Think that says it all!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ButterflyFish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Just spent 6 nights at this beautiful resort. Agree that all the reviews do it justice and it's nice to be able to right a review without any complaints. Staff, accommodation and food were exceptional. Would gladly return at the drop of a hat to this lovely place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pottsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veligandu
36 km away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
592 reviews
5.7 km away
Kuramathi Island Resort
Kuramathi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Kuramathi
4,021 reviews
30 km away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 km away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
1,438 reviews
33.3 km away
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
#1 of 1 in Ellaidhoo Island
1,633 reviews
39.4 km away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veligandu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veligandu Island Resort & Spa

Address: North Ari Atoll, Maldives, 20077
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Veligandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veligandu
Price Range: $721 - $2,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Veligandu Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veligandu Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Veligandu, North Ari Atoll. It is 600 meters long by 150 meters wide, about 22 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 20 minute flight. The 91 rooms include 54 Jacuzzi water villas, 10 water villas, 16 Jacuzzi beach villas and 11 beach villas. Veligandu welcome guests 18 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Veligandu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veligandu Island Hotel North Ari Atoll
Veligandu Island Resort
Hotel Veligandu Island
Veligandu Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing