We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aloha Rasdhoo(Rasdhoo)
US$100
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo(Rasdhoo)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$485
US$470
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Starry Night at Ukulhas(Ukulhas)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$42
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Velidhu Island Resort(Velidhoo Island)
US$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Gangehi Island Resort(Gangehi Island)
US$174
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nika Island Resort & Spa(Kudafolhudhoo Island)
US$487
US$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Constance Halaveli(Halaveli Island)
US$947
US$564
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,080)
Filter reviews
3,080 results
Traveller rating
2,703
291
53
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,703
291
53
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi water villaall inclusive packagesunset dolphin cruiseour honeymoonfishgames roomwest sidemini barsea planeevery meala la carte restaurantout of this worldcurrieshouse tourno shoeswindsurfing lessonwater sports
Filter
Updating list...
1,962 - 1,967 of 3,080 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed between the 12th and 27th of February 2012 and we could not fault the accommodation or the staff that looked after us.

WEATHER: Excellent, do not look on weather websites and this gives a false impression as it is taken from Mali which is 20 minutes by sea plane away. Weather predicted for our stay was rain every day with thunderstorms - had none of it - blue skies and not a drop of rain.

ACCOMMODATION: Stayed in both the water and beach jucuzzi beach villas and cannot fault either -large rooms which were cleaned daily. Would recommend villas on the sunset side of the island as the sunsets were spectacular.

FOOD: Can be summed up one word - Excellent - chief chef could be seen most days in the restaurant monitoring both staff and customers. Came home a lot heavier than went out!

STAFF: At all times all staff were helpful and always made sure that you were satisfied with all aspects of your stay at Velignadu. The reception staff were always cheerful no matter what time you visited them. Special thanks must go to Abdulla, Front Office Manager as he was always at hand with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. The waiters in the restaurant were excellent and remembered your room number and what you drank and were always attentive.

To sum up if you are considering visiting Veligandu Island I do not think you will be disappointed either with the Island, the accommodation, the food, the staff or the beautiful weather - in a nutshell PARADISE!

Room Tip: Villas on the sunset side get the evening sun and wonderful sunsets.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

5th trip to the Maldives in last 5 years. Loved Meeru,Kurumathi and Reeethi Beach but this place is special. Stayed for 2 weeks in a water villa February 2012.
It has all been said before; GREAT food, lovely accommodation, good snorkelling , empty tranquil beaches and amazingly located swimming pool, bar and restaurant area. It is absolute paradise. I would not hesitate to return although the identical holiday in 12 months time will cost me about £1000 more.
A few observations for future visitors.There is very little in the way of evening entertainment (which suited us) and if you are in the bar after 11. 00pm you will feel quite conspicuous.
The island is much bigger than expected and the main path contains some quite deep sandy areas and it can take a good 10 to 15 minutes to get from some of the water villas to the bar and restaurant. This makes taking a drink back to your villa quite difficult if you want it cold.
The decision to go all inclusive will depend on your budget and drinking habits. The drinks are particularly dear to buy (7 dollars for a bottle of beer) but the AI alcoholic drinks are quite disappointing and limited to draught beer, house wine from cartons and local brand gin, whiskey, vodka, and rum. Anything else (apart from a daily cocktail which constantly tasted the same) you will have to pay for. This includes any mini-bar drinks.
We stayed in a sunrise water villa before voluntarily being moved to a sunset villa. Both were lovely. The sunrise villa had a cooling breeze and the sunset got very hot outside in late afternoon but had good access for snorkelling. The sunrise villa did sway a bit on a couple of windy days and its air conditioning unit seemed more noisy .
The waiters in the restaurant were brilliant but do start preparing the tables for the following meal 20 minutes before the "closing time". You can't blame them for this as they are keen to get some rest before the next round of food. This can mean your table may be cleared while you are in between courses and beware the food will start being taken back to the kitchen on the dot of closing. So get to the restaurant early!
The shop on the island is quite well stocked but expensive so it is worthwhile buying your medicines (athlete's foot cream essential), toiletries and snorkelling gear before you go.
Really enjoyed and recommend the sunset cruise, trip to Kurumathi and the backroom tour.
Finally many thanks to the Veligandu staff for a memorable holiday

Room Tip: Stayed in a water villa but the beach villas looked spacious and private and good value for money.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank doc1lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was our 9th visit to the Maldives and 7th different island but it is definitely our favourite so far.

Accommodation: The standard of the accommodation – a Jacuzzi water villa – was excellent. Fairly large with a huge bed, a sofa and a dressing area. One great thing was the plentiful lighting and mirrors – not dimly lit like many other Maldives rooms we have had. Also liked the large amount of storage and hanging space and the quiet and efficient air con. Outside, the terrace had 2 loungers, a table and 2 chairs and is private from the neighbours. The bathroom had sliding doors onto another (enclosed) terrace with another 2 loungers and the jacuzzi. One tip is to take earplugs if you are in a water villa as the sea can be very noisy at night.

Wildlife: We loved the fact that on many days we saw dolphins swim by our room just on the edge of the reef (we actually saw them on both sides of the island). However it was slightly disappointing that there weren’t many fish swimming in the shallows around our villa. There were masses of baby fish in the lagoon stretching as far as you could see and this attracted some really quite large sharks. The herons on Veli are almost tame, you could get so close to them.

Restaurant: We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and variety of the food in the buffet restaurant. Some little additions to what we’d experienced before (such as cheese and biscuits, ice cream and handmade chocolates) kept it interesting. On some days though we didn’t want to eat as it was all too much and occasionally had afternoon tea (included on the AI) of toasted sandwiches and fries in the bar and then didn’t go to dinner (just for a rest!). One night we tried out the room service and had pizza delivered in a box just like Dominos! That was very tasty too.
The restaurant has 3 separate rooms leading from the central buffet area. We usually went to the furthest one (nearest to the Spa) as it was the quietest. The waiters rotated around the rooms on a weekly basis so you didn’t get the same one for the whole of your stay which would have been nice, but I can understand why it’s not practical. In the evening there are lots of tables outside on the terrace, although these were the most popular so you had to get there either early or late to secure one.

Bar: This is in a beautiful position on one end of the island so that there are views across the sand to the sea from 3 sides. One cocktail every day is included in the All Inclusive and bottled water is also included which was a pleasant surprise. The AI wine was really very good.

Service: As always in the Maldives, the staff were very polite and friendly. We were particularly impressed on a couple of occasions when we had maintenance issues with the room and someone turned up within 10 minutes to fix them.

Snorkelling: There are nice places to snorkel in quite a few areas of the island. The good thing for me was that you didn’t need to go far out of your depth to get to the reef edge. We mainly snorkelled on the reef out from rooms 174 -155 (although it’s much nearer the 174 end) and also in the shallows on the west side of the sand spit. Unfortunately for most of our stay the east side was too choppy for us because it was very windy. Not sure if it’s normal for it to be so windy (last week Jan, first of Feb), but it did spoil the snorkelling on a couple of days when you could hardly see anything under water as the sand was so churned up.

Sand spit: Staying in a water villa we loved the fact that there were sunloungers dotted around the island on the beach. Often it was too hot to sit on our terrace but we could search for a breeze elsewhere, the sand spit being a particular favourite. Here there are about 12 pairs of loungers. When we first arrived you could turn up at any time of day and get a free spot, but in our second week (not sure why), people started putting towels on the loungers at breakfast and then it became more difficult.

Trips: We did the free AI sunset dolphin trip which quite choppy but worth it as we came across lots of dolphins. We also did the Back of House tour which was excellent. We went into the staff area and saw all the machinery that keeps the island going. We were amazed at how high tech it all is.

Spa: We had one spa treatment and can thoroughly recommend it. The rooms are gorgeous – over the water so you can hear the sea, with a bath on the terrace (if that’s part of your treatment).

Other facilities: The games room is well equipped with table tennis, pool, table football and darts. Next to Reception there are some PCs for Internet access and a small library. There’s also a gym which we didn’t use!

Environment: We loved the absolute peace and quiet of this island – it was even more relaxing than other islands we have been to. Think this is because of the small number of rooms plus a lack of children. Also the nationalities on the island seemed to be compatible, everyone respecting the surroundings and the peace of other guests – the majority were German, British, French and Swiss.

Birthday: On my husband’s birthday (without asking) we had a decorated table at dinner, a birthday cake (shame we’d already had dessert by then!) and a glass of bubbly. We also got a beautifully decorated bad and a fruit basket. It’s a really nice touch.

The only not so good thing was the seaplane transfer home which was so late we were really close to the wire, arriving at Male just 40 minutes before our flight left. This was quite stressful and not the best way to end a holiday. One thing to note about Male airport is that there no longer seems to be anywhere you can buy bottles of water to take onto the plane. The shop that used to sell it (sealed in bags for security) no longer does.

Return? Yes definitely. We had already booked next year’s holiday to another island but since coming home we have changed that booking to go back to Veligandu. Think that says it all!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ButterflyFish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Just spent 6 nights at this beautiful resort. Agree that all the reviews do it justice and it's nice to be able to right a review without any complaints. Staff, accommodation and food were exceptional. Would gladly return at the drop of a hat to this lovely place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pottsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent the first week in February on
Veligandu and I haven't had a day yet where I haven't missed it. It really is breathtakingly beautiful.

They have service perfected, with the exception of our turn down boy who on 3 consecutive nights didn't replenish our mini bar but a few minutes after phoning reception this was rectified.

AI plus, we decided to pay the extra upon arrival and upgrade from AI to AIplus, don't think it was worth the money as I we consumed less than we paid. Only bug bear with the mini bar was still a lot had to be paid for and only 1 small bottle of wine per day so even paying $12 each large glass we still only got 1 per day and I loved nothing better than sitting in the hottub or on the deck watching the sun go down with a cold glass of wine!

Food- perfect! Recommend the fresh fish. No critism of the food at all, only draw back compared to some other resorts is that if you are hungry between meals there is either nothing to eat or expensive room service. Afternoon tea was adequate if you were really hungry. They made up for all this by food at meal times being exceptional.
Rooms are perfect, comfortable, fresh towels twice daily, clean bed linen every second day.
It really is something else to wake and open your deck doors onto the stunning Indian ocean! Never tired of this.
They staff are incredibly friendly and polite and are very good at what they do.
The beautiful spa girls made that an exceptional experience, I went twice for different treatments and would recommend the Maldivian package.
Sunset versus sunrise, we experienced both and yes the sunsets are beautiful but you have no shade from the sun through the day making it honestly too uncomfortable to use the deck in the daytime so if we went again I'd ask for sunrise. The jacuzzi seemed half in the shade most of the day so that was always useable and One of the things that we particularly enjoyed.
We did the sunset cruise and did find dolphins eventually! Also did the rasdhoo trip, it was good but could of done with more than 2 hours.
What we enjoyed more than anything was the 'no shoes, no news' approach to the island, it is complete and utter relaxation in one of the most beautiful place on this earth with amazing food, attention to detail and all you could need. Definitely a place for romance, I miss it everyday!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews