We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$1,930
View deal
Hotels.comUS$1,930
CheapTicketsUS$1,930
Booking.comUS$1,930
StRegis.comUS$1,930
Orbitz.comUS$1,930
PricelineUS$1,930
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
494
40
18
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
494
40
18
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue hole great room overwater villa butler service iridium spa anti gravity airport butler every morning sea plane champagne sabering wine dinner fish our honeymoon amazing butler butler team hydrotherapy pool hard product
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

Magical, exceptional, stupendous, stunning holiday!
Thank you to the extraordinary team. Mr Harish, The St Regis GM, our superb butler Mahir! You have made our holiday unforgettable.
Chef Pedro, you are world class!

“Quality in a service or product is not what you put into it. It is what the customer gets out of it”.
That is what The St Regis Vommuli Maldives is all about. Thank you all Eva & James

Room tip: Stay longer as possible, it’s addictive
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank smitheva2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent Pauchon, General Manager at The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2021

Dear smitheva2016,

Wishing you a warm greetings from your little piece of paradise.

Thank You very much for sharing your magical experience here on Tripadvisor.

We are so delighted to read that we have curated an amazing memory for you.
The entire team at The St Regis is totally committed in delivering the best quality of service.

It is noteworthy to know that Harish, Mahir and Chef Pedro's utmost care made your holiday unforgettable.
I could not agree more of what you mentioned about quality of service. As a saying goes, "Happy team, Happy guests".

We are looking forward to meet you once again on your next visit.


Vincent Pauchon
General Manager
The St Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2021

Food / Dining Tips

It seems like all the recent reviews do a splendid job of describing the villas and activities, but there isn’t much on the food. The following is just based on my personal preference:

Most of the seafood served on the island is frozen. The only exceptions are the menu specifies “catch of the day” which at Orientale, served a flaky / fatty / meaty red snapper, cooked soy-sauce based style – great deal (relatively speaking) at $60 for the entire fish. That said, I would skip all the other seafood dishes if I could reverse time. No fault to the resort, as everything is imported. Can’t expect to have fresh scallops as an appetizer at Whale Bar when scallops aren’t really caught there. Just merely pointing out that frozen seafood is not worth the price point there.

Top dishes excluding breakfast: butterfish at Cargo or in-room dining, chickpea curry at Cargo, squid ink tagliatelle at Alba or in room dining.

Top dishes at Alba breakfast: FRESH hand-pulled spinach noodles with daily alternating broth (tom yum, laksa, clear vegetable broth, miso) – resort has their own pasta chef and all their pasta is made fresh daily (except for the flat noodles at breakfast that’s next to the spinach noodles). Chicken curry from the buffet. Maldivian lobster omelette with Kani stick and caviar – this may be healthiest and most baller option on the menu… I mean, who eats lobster and caviar with their eggs, haha! Some may say that this is a bit on the bland side, but I thought a few sprinkles of sea salt did the trick. The caviar was more on the sweet than on the salty side. My fave dish at breakfast was the Duck & Waffles – talk about taking chicken n waffles to another level. So good, I had it 4 out of 6 mornings of my stay. We also requested for soft shell crabs on the side (which came as part of another entrée) and it was not an issue. Finally, all the fruits during breakfast was as fresh as it gets. Instead of picking up the pre-cut fruits in the buffet, just tell them what fruits you like and they will cut it fresh for you and bring it to your table.
The Burger Rossini for lunch at Alba ( with pan seared foie gras) is one of the best burgers I've ever had! Ordered it at least 5 times during our stay.

Pro tip: bloody mary and mimosas are included in the $55 per person charge for breakfast, so enjoy, as alcohol is quite pricy there, not because St Regis is trying to make a killing, but because alcohol is insanely taxed during import as resorts are only places in Maldives allowed to serve alcohol.

I hope the food tips above help readers out. Wanted to also say that the butler service (Umar) and the resort manager interactions (I believe his name was Rakish) added that extra bit of special that made this trip stand out. Butler service came through with small things, such as bringing floaties we left in the villa to the main pool, to medium things such as bringing us snorkel equipment to our villa instead of having us trek to the watersports center, to big ticket items such as drawing ice baths for me daily (I caught a skin rash). What’s also big in my book was him socializing with us / getting to know us better (without being intrusive). It’s one thing to just perform services but another to make an effort to connect with guests. As for the resort manager, I have never seen one that is so hands-on! I often see him interacting with resort guests to answer questions and make sure that the staff was exceeding guests’ expectations. Any small issue, it seems he was always aware and would make sure the impacted guest is satisfied with the resolution. In my 15+ years of travel, I find that the property manager is usually more behind the scenes / hiding in the office and doesn’t really interact with guests. St Regis Maldives was the opposite and quite a pleasant surprise! Definitely will return here!!!

Room tip: 2BR over the water villas or the 1BR St Regis over water villa is key!
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joncheng112
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent Pauchon, General Manager at The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2021

Dear joncheng112,

Wonderful greetings from the finest address in the Maldives

Thank You for taking time in dropping us a great review of your amazing stay in our little piece of paradise.

We are so delighted to know that we have curated an exquisite experience for you.

Thank You for your food review on each outlets and given our readers your recommendation and review of your food choices. We are glad to hear most of the food offerings is up to your liking.

Our culinary and service team crafts delicious meals for all of you and if in any case you wanted a bit of twist on the taste, we are flexible to do that.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of Umar your butler and Harish. The entire team on the island are fully committed to ensure we consistently deliver the utmost care and service to all our valued guests.

We look forward to see you on your next visit at The St Regis Maldives.

Vincent Pauchon
General Manager
The St Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2021 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and beautiful service ! Our butler sharuhan was amazing ! The most professional butler we ever had anywhere else in the world. Him alone is 5 stars . But I just wish the food was better … honestly it was a problem . The only meal of the day that was great is the Breakfast …. Actually the breakfast was TOP ! But the rest of the meals from the other restaurants or room service were horrible … listen it did not ruin our trip because we still had fun but they should fix this because all the other couples on the island agreed with us .

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chery86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent Pauchon, General Manager at The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2021

Dear Chery86,

Warm greetings from the Maldives.

Thank You very much for taking time to share your valuable feedback on our Trip Advisor page.

We are delighted to know that you find our Resort architecture beautiful and the signature The St Regis butler service provided by Sharuhan is attentive, however I sincerely apologize for the shortfall you encountered in terms of food

Since your stay in January 2021, our Executive Chef and Pastry Chef have settled in and made some positive changes on the menus in which we are receiving great reviews from our valued guests.

We do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and explore more of our new food and beverage offerings.

Thank You once again for the wonderful comment on the resort in general.


Sincerely,

Vincent Pauchon
General Manager
The St Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

Immaculate property; exceptional service from Umar. Stayed in a 2BR overwater villa during the first week of June 2021. Despite it being rainy season, we were blessed with 5 beautiful days of sunshine and only 1 cloudy day. Seaplane was whopping $750 round trip pp and pricing seems to increase each year. As soon our seaplane touched down, you can see out the window a long line of the famous, St Regis butlers, waving to us waiting to greet us. Umar was assigned as our group’s butler and he was nothing short of impeccable. I have stayed in Waldorf Los Cabos before, where private butlers are provided. Despite St Regis having shared butler service, Umar’s service was equivalent, if not superior, to the butler service we received at Waldorf Cabos. Without even requesting for it, he took the liberty to make dinner reservations for us for the entire week and let us know any changes or cancellations were not an issue. Island was about 90% occupancy since it was Memorial Day week so securing dinner seats at the island’s only 4 restaurants was sometimes difficult. Every morning, Umar would greet us at breakfast and help answer any questions we had. Any issues with the room, simply WhatsApp him and he’s on the way. I found that using WhatsApp was the easiest way to communicate.

Wi-Fi on the island was not the best. 2MB-3MB download and 1MB upload speeds, max. It was adequate for zoom calls and for remote working. The problem is when strong winds come, it knocks out the Wi-Fi temporarily, especially if you are outdoors. So if you need to have undisturbed internet access, I would sit down as close as possible to the center of the room (coincidentally where the work desk was located in the 2BR). ATT and Verizon do not support travel pass packages for Maldives so we had to go airplane mode entire vacay and rely on the island’s Wi-Fi. In terms of quality and build of the villas, the usual wear and tear is showing on certain units. No fault to the property itself, but constant salt/salt water is constantly gusting into each villa so constant renovations / patch work (which St Regis does, supposedly 3x a year) is necessary in the Maldives. If you are staying in the 2BR overwater villas, I would say that 212 is probably the best one. It is also closest to whale bar, so as long as you do not mind people at whale bar potentially looking into your villa, 212 offers the most unobstructed views. The other four 2BR overwater villas are adjacent to each other and each villa has a wall to the left for privacy reasons, so your view is somewhat obstructed by the adjacent villas to your right.

Food was excellent there. Breakfast at Alba is not to be missed. $55 pp and it’s essentially a buffet and order off the menu type of scenario. They even let you customize the menu orders so a typical morning, I would order the duck confit with waffles and add on a side of caviar (which usually comes with the Maldivian lobster omelet). Second best would be Cargo for dinner. It is so good (and reasonably priced) that we went there twice for dinner. As far as lunch, that’s if you are still hungry, the foie gras burger at Crust was super slick at only $39 – also comes with side of fries. Also helps to have Platinum or higher status with Bonvoy – 20% off food and beverages discount (excludes in room dining, in room minibar/snacks, and excludes breakfast at Alba). If you are Gold, you get 15% and if you are silver, you get 10%.

Believe it or not, there are ~350 employees and only 77 villas on the island. That comes out to 2:1 employee to guest ratio! Like I mentioned earlier, there is a lot of upkeep required for the island so there are many behind the scene employees that are really visible to the average guest. Anyways, 5 out of 5 is my rating.

Room tip: No need to pack sun block, replenished daily in room
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank TheLegitTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent Pauchon, General Manager at The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Dear LegitTraveller,

Greetings from the finest address in the Maldives.

Thank you for sharing your unforgettable experience at our property.

We were so delighted to read your review highlighting how your butler Umar made your stay memorable.

Our team takes pride of possessing the Vommuli DNA which values the true sense of professionalism and demonstrate the utmost level of hospitality.

Every inch of details of your review speaks how you enjoyed your holiday. Thank You will be an understatement. Your review inspires us to continue delighting all our valued guests,.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit at The St Regis Maldives.


Sincerely,

Vincent Pauchon
General Manager
The St Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021

After our honeymoon was originally cancelled in 2020 due to the pandemic, we were finally able to go to the St. Regis Maldives this year. It was something we were looking forward to for over a year and happy to say it didn’t disappoint.

The staff was incredible and very welcoming. Everyone is very nice and really wants you to have a good time. Our butler Alit was amazing and always made sure we had dinner reservations, activities planned, and fresh fruit in our room. He did a great job making it easy and relaxing for us.

During our trip, we did a private dinner on the beach. Our chef Aditya and waiter Shai did an excellent job and the food came out perfect. On other nights we ate at the various restaurants on the island where the staff was very friendly and we made many friends. One of our favorite parts of each day was getting our “morning dumplings” from the breakfast buffet.

We would highly recommend the St Regis Maldives for anyone looking to book their honeymoon. My wife kept saying she felt like we were in a dream and there’s really no other way to describe it.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank seangT2752VW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent Pauchon, General Manager at The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Dear seangT2752VW,

Greetings from The St Regis Maldives.

Thank you for spending time in writing a review here on TripAdvisor.

We are so honored to host you on your honeymoon celebration. Finally, it was already possible to celebrate it with us after a year of wait.

We are so happy to hear that we have not disappoint you and that you find our hosts very welcoming with a special mention to your butler Alit.

Your high recommendations is greatly appreciated and certainly, we look forward welcoming you back at our little piece of paradise.


Sincerely,


Vincent Pauchon
General Manager
The St Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews