We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
12 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$4,741
View deal
Hotels.com
US$4,741
View deal
StRegis.com
US$4,515
View deal
CheapTicketsUS$4,741
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
498
40
18
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
498
40
18
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue hole great room overwater villa butler service iridium spa anti gravity airport butler every morning sea plane champagne sabering wine dinner fish our honeymoon amazing butler butler team hydrotherapy pool hard product
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2021 via mobile

We spent 10 nights at the St Regis Maldives for our honeymoon. I cannot say enough about the staff, facilities, activities and overall environment of the resort. From the moment we landed in Male and we’re met by the airport Butlers we felt “taken care of” by some of the nicest people we have encountered when traveling.

After a brief stop in the St Regis lounge, where were offered drinks and snacks, we took a 40min seaplane to the resort. We were greeted by the manager and two other staff members who welcomed us with coconut water and a cool towel. For the next 10 days, we stayed at a sunset overwater room with Shamiu as our Butler. Shamiu was an amazing host who made our stay very special, always looking to help coordinate activities and he had made reservations for dinner each night before we arrived. He was thoughtful and attentive!

We enjoyed breakfast each morning at Alba with Pina, Erni, Mohammed among others. The breakfast was a fantastic way to start each morning, complete with prosecco and bloody mary’s if desired. The belgian waffles and daily pastries were great. All restaurants were good, with the Whale Bar (steak and seafood) and Oriental(japanese and chinese) being our favorites. At almost every meal, staff members were checking in to ensure everything was good and if we needed anything, it was a nice touch to see so many people interested to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. Sunset cocktails at the whale bar each night was a great ritual.

The snorkeling off the beach was amazing with turtles, rays, sharks (black tip reef), and hundreds of colorful fish. We enjoyed exploring the island by bike and often chose to ride to meals and activities, though a “buggy” was always a phone call away. We did the private island picnic and it was as amazing as it sounds, it’s expensive (we revived as a wedding gift from friends) but it truly was a once in a lifetime experience! We did the dolphin excursion and saw some dolphins, which was fun.

The spa at the resort was unbelievable with fantastic facilities and excellent masseuses. We would highly recommend the Iridium massage. All in all, we had very high expectations and the St Regis Maldives exceeded them.

If/when we have the chance to travel so far again, we will look forward to returning!!

Room tip: Snorkeling off the beach, breakfast at Alba, sunset cocktails, massage at the spa
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank David_J_D1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent Pauchon, General Manager at The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2021

Dear David_J_D1996,

Greetings from The St Regis Maldives

Thank You for sharing your honeymoon bliss experience.

We are delighted to hear that we have exceeded your high expectations.
The St Regis has a trademark of its high level of customer service and we would like to seamlessly maintain on the pedestal of what we have been known for.

I have shared your review to our wonderful hosts with a special mention to the Airport butler team, your butler Umar, Alba team namely Pina, Erni and Mohammed. They were so excited to read your review.

We look forward on your return at the finest address in Maldives


Sincerely,

Vincent Pauchon
General Manager
The St Regis Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2021

Villa preference: No one stays in the garden villas, which is why they only have 4. It’s in the middle of the island and you don’t see anything. You didn’t travel all the way to Maldives to stay in the garden villa. If you want overwater, make sure you book a SUNSET overwater villa or the St Regis overwater villa (assuming 2 adults in your party). These offer maximum privacy as the majority of them are facing the ocean. The regular overwater villas may end up indirectly facing each other or face the beachfront villas. As far as the beachfront villas, I can see why they are considered a higher category than the overwaters. Each comes with a sizable private beach in front of the villa and you can just walk right into the water, which is arguably a big preference for those who cannot swim. The overwater villas are quite deep, especially during high tide so life vest or knowing how to swim, is highly recommended.

Activities: Stand up paddleboard and kayaking is free of charge, 1 hour per day. Glass-bottom kayaking costs $60/hr and may be worth it if you are not a snorkeler. Just beware that they have 2 glass bottom kayaks and only one of them has comfortable glass seats in it. The other one is just a big glass boat and hurts after 20 minutes of no back support. We also tried the shared Maldivian sunset fishing at $115 / person and it was totally worth it. Even though I didn’t catch any fish, I saw the most mesmerizing sunset on this 2 hour excursion. For an extra $50, you can keep the fish and eat it at Alba restaurant the next day, either for lunch or for dinner. If you didn’t catch any fish, the staff working there may just give you the fish they caught so that you can do the $50 eat option.

Special shoutout to Umar, our butler during our stay. Each room comes with a bottle of champagne as the welcome amenity and he let us saber it on our deck! How cool is that?! He also replenished the fruit basket on a daily basis as well as 15 bottles of Schweppes water in our room daily. I am quite impressed with how tech savvy St Regis Maldives is. You scan a QR code instantly adds your butler’s contact info into Whatsapp. No more guessing game / fussing around with figuring out the correct country code / prefix to include to get the contact to show up. IMO, Whatsapp is the most efficient method of communicating with the butler. The longest I have ever had to wait for a reply was a mere 5 minutes. Lost my key card? No problem, just message Umar and replacement card arrives in 10 minutes. Out of TP, message Umar and housekeeping arrives in 15.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Fortheloveoftrave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent Pauchon, General Manager at The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2021

Dear Traveler07,

Greetings from the finest address in the Maldives.

Thank you so much for sharing your great experience on this platform.

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you find our service excellent in all aspect.

Our villas has it's own unique features that fits to all our valued guests preferences. Great villa choice you picked.
Here on the island, we ensure our guests are engaged with our activity list from watersports, diving, recreation, fitness, yoga, massages and the likes.

Thank You for highlighting your butler Umar and narrating how efficient he was in anticipating your needs. The St Regis has a trademark of its high level of customer service and we would like to seamlessly maintain on the pedestal of what we have been known for.

Our little piece of paradise awaits on your return.

Sincerely,

Vincent Pauchon
General Manager
The St Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2021

We got married in 2020 and as for everyone else, the entire year was a nightmare and the process of cancelling, rescheduling, booking, rebooking our special day left us emotionally traumatized. Eventually, we were able to celebrate our special day intimately, but postponed our honeymoon until after being vaccinated and travelling internationally became feasible. So it wasn't until 2 planes, 1 shuttle, 1 seaplane and basically 30 hours later were we finally able to breathe a sigh of relief when we touched down and stepped foot on the beautiful sands of St. Regis Vommuli.

And we were so fortunate to be greeted by such an amazing, sweet and knowledgeable butler, Niti. From the second we met her, we immediately felt at home and we couldn't wipe the smiles off our faces, even in our sleep.. Niti was a huge part in making our honeymoon so memorable and one of the happiest weeks of our lives. She helped plan so many surprises and moved mountains for us to make sure it all turned out as romantic as possible! And everything was better than we could have ever imagined. Dinner by candlelight on the beach (Vommuli Magic) was still our most favorite thing of the entire trip cause we got to enjoy the beach, just us and soak it all in. I wanted to surprise my husband with this special treat, also as a belated birthday celebration, and Niti made sure that this worked out perfectly. The food on the island was amazing, but something about Chef Hendry's dinner that night.... best meal of our lives! And Bagus was such a joy to have as our server/photographer that night.

Now, travelling during the rainy season, we knew the weather was out of anyone's control and anything could happen. Thank goodness it was beautiful and our days started off with beautiful sunrises and ended with the most unreal sunsets. However, the wind was strong and the waters were choppy so some of our activities were cancelled. Niti was on top of our entire schedule, notified us as soon as she knew activities were being cancelled due to weather conditions and rescheduled our activities and reservations to however we wanted. Niti has some magic and made everything we wanted to happen, happen.

We dream of returning to the Maldives, but until then, we will forever cherish the new friends we made, relive our trip through videos/memories and reflect on fond memories from this honeymoon of a lifetime.

Room tip: Honeymooners HAVE TO book the overwater villas. Families should book the beach villas.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CeeVeeKay2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent Pauchon, General Manager at The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2021

Dear CeeVeeKay2020,

Greetings from The St Regis Maldives

Thank You for leaving us a wonderful review here on TripAdvisor.

Finally, the dreamy honeymoon celebration came true.
I could not agree more taking into consideration the unusual situation we are all in right now I can imagine how emotionally dreadful was it changing and cancelling holiday plans.

We thank you for choosing The St Regis Maldives as your perfect location to celebrate.

Your review puts smiles on our faces knowing that we curated an exquisite experience which you will cherish for a lifetime.

Thank you for acknowledging the amazing efforts of our hosts especially your butler Niti, Chef Hendry and Bagus. Truly the true gems of the island.

We dream of your return to our little piece of paradise on your next trip.

Sincerely,



Vincent Pauchon
General Manager
The St Regis Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

Magical, exceptional, stupendous, stunning holiday!
Thank you to the extraordinary team. Mr Harish, The St Regis GM, our superb butler Mahir! You have made our holiday unforgettable.
Chef Pedro, you are world class!

“Quality in a service or product is not what you put into it. It is what the customer gets out of it”.
That is what The St Regis Vommuli Maldives is all about. Thank you all Eva & James

Room tip: Stay longer as possible, it’s addictive
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank smitheva2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent Pauchon, General Manager at The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2021

Dear smitheva2016,

Wishing you a warm greetings from your little piece of paradise.

Thank You very much for sharing your magical experience here on Tripadvisor.

We are so delighted to read that we have curated an amazing memory for you.
The entire team at The St Regis is totally committed in delivering the best quality of service.

It is noteworthy to know that Harish, Mahir and Chef Pedro's utmost care made your holiday unforgettable.
I could not agree more of what you mentioned about quality of service. As a saying goes, "Happy team, Happy guests".

We are looking forward to meet you once again on your next visit.


Vincent Pauchon
General Manager
The St Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2021

Food / Dining Tips

It seems like all the recent reviews do a splendid job of describing the villas and activities, but there isn’t much on the food. The following is just based on my personal preference:

Most of the seafood served on the island is frozen. The only exceptions are the menu specifies “catch of the day” which at Orientale, served a flaky / fatty / meaty red snapper, cooked soy-sauce based style – great deal (relatively speaking) at $60 for the entire fish. That said, I would skip all the other seafood dishes if I could reverse time. No fault to the resort, as everything is imported. Can’t expect to have fresh scallops as an appetizer at Whale Bar when scallops aren’t really caught there. Just merely pointing out that frozen seafood is not worth the price point there.

Top dishes excluding breakfast: butterfish at Cargo or in-room dining, chickpea curry at Cargo, squid ink tagliatelle at Alba or in room dining.

Top dishes at Alba breakfast: FRESH hand-pulled spinach noodles with daily alternating broth (tom yum, laksa, clear vegetable broth, miso) – resort has their own pasta chef and all their pasta is made fresh daily (except for the flat noodles at breakfast that’s next to the spinach noodles). Chicken curry from the buffet. Maldivian lobster omelette with Kani stick and caviar – this may be healthiest and most baller option on the menu… I mean, who eats lobster and caviar with their eggs, haha! Some may say that this is a bit on the bland side, but I thought a few sprinkles of sea salt did the trick. The caviar was more on the sweet than on the salty side. My fave dish at breakfast was the Duck & Waffles – talk about taking chicken n waffles to another level. So good, I had it 4 out of 6 mornings of my stay. We also requested for soft shell crabs on the side (which came as part of another entrée) and it was not an issue. Finally, all the fruits during breakfast was as fresh as it gets. Instead of picking up the pre-cut fruits in the buffet, just tell them what fruits you like and they will cut it fresh for you and bring it to your table.
The Burger Rossini for lunch at Alba ( with pan seared foie gras) is one of the best burgers I've ever had! Ordered it at least 5 times during our stay.

Pro tip: bloody mary and mimosas are included in the $55 per person charge for breakfast, so enjoy, as alcohol is quite pricy there, not because St Regis is trying to make a killing, but because alcohol is insanely taxed during import as resorts are only places in Maldives allowed to serve alcohol.

I hope the food tips above help readers out. Wanted to also say that the butler service (Umar) and the resort manager interactions (I believe his name was Rakish) added that extra bit of special that made this trip stand out. Butler service came through with small things, such as bringing floaties we left in the villa to the main pool, to medium things such as bringing us snorkel equipment to our villa instead of having us trek to the watersports center, to big ticket items such as drawing ice baths for me daily (I caught a skin rash). What’s also big in my book was him socializing with us / getting to know us better (without being intrusive). It’s one thing to just perform services but another to make an effort to connect with guests. As for the resort manager, I have never seen one that is so hands-on! I often see him interacting with resort guests to answer questions and make sure that the staff was exceeding guests’ expectations. Any small issue, it seems he was always aware and would make sure the impacted guest is satisfied with the resolution. In my 15+ years of travel, I find that the property manager is usually more behind the scenes / hiding in the office and doesn’t really interact with guests. St Regis Maldives was the opposite and quite a pleasant surprise! Definitely will return here!!!

Room tip: 2BR over the water villas or the 1BR St Regis over water villa is key!
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joncheng112
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent Pauchon, General Manager at The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2021

Dear joncheng112,

Wonderful greetings from the finest address in the Maldives

Thank You for taking time in dropping us a great review of your amazing stay in our little piece of paradise.

We are so delighted to know that we have curated an exquisite experience for you.

Thank You for your food review on each outlets and given our readers your recommendation and review of your food choices. We are glad to hear most of the food offerings is up to your liking.

Our culinary and service team crafts delicious meals for all of you and if in any case you wanted a bit of twist on the taste, we are flexible to do that.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of Umar your butler and Harish. The entire team on the island are fully committed to ensure we consistently deliver the utmost care and service to all our valued guests.

We look forward to see you on your next visit at The St Regis Maldives.

Vincent Pauchon
General Manager
The St Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews