We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but pricey”

Claim Jumper Restaurants
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Famous for food crafted with the best ingredients and an atmosphere that makes you feel right at home, Claim Jumper offers an experience sure to satisfy everyone. The menu features a medley of homemade dishes including burgers, sandwiches, fresh-baked pot pie, specialty salads, pasta, baby back pork ribs, seafood, Certified Angus Beef® and much more. All dressings, sauces and desserts are made in house daily including our tempting Six-Layer Chocolate Motherlode cake, featured as one of America's "Top 5 Most Decadent Desserts" on the Food Network.
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Large menu - there's something on it to please everyone. We went for lunch, 1pm on a Sunday afternoon, and there was plenty of available seating. Roomy, airy restaurant, without being noisy. We both ordered the parmesan crusted chicken with spaghetti noodles. If you don't like spicy noodles, ask them to refrain from putting the peppercorns on the noodles. I ordered the baked french onion soup with the lunch, and my dining companion had a small salad. No alcoholic beverages were consumed; only soda pop, and a cup of coffee after the meal. Meal was good, but definitely on the pricey side.

Date of visit: January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank clp2csp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 184 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

We don't have a Claim Jumper in our area, so the only ones I have ever eaten at are the one in Hoffman Estates, IL, and also one in Tucson, AZ. I ate at the one in Hoffman once in Dec 2008, and about 4 times in 2010, and then the one in Tucson once in 2010. We were traveling in Hoffman area again on vacation last week and my family couldn't wait to go again as we really enjoyed our previous visits. Imagine our disappointment when our favorite menu items were no longer available. Additionally, we felt the portion sizes were a bit smaller. Previously, there was enough to not only eat but plenty to take home for a meal the next day.

This time my husband and I ordered the tenderloin tips and there were only a few pieces of meat and a lot of what tasted like canned mushrooms. It came over mashed potatoes and we substituted green beans for the roasted vegetables. I thought the green beans were okay (they were the type that are whole and grilled) but my husband thought they were awful and couldn't eat them. The waitress was nice enough to offer to get a different side, but most of the other ones were very starchy so there really wasn't much variety. It would have been nice to be able to get a side salad as a side for either no additional charge or a reasonable upcharge; however, it was almost $5 to add a salad or soup to your meal and there was no option to do away with one of the sides instead. My son got the baby back ribs and they were okay, but certainly no better than some place like Chilis (except they cost about $9 more). He also got a cup of clam chowder and he said it was delicious.

The price with tip for 3 of us (no alcoholic drinks, appetizers, or desserts) was $78. I found that *very* high in comparison to the taste and enjoyment of the food. I feel we could have eaten a similar meal at some other chain like Chili's or Cheddar's for about $45 with the tip (maybe even slightly less than that) and I can't think of anything that justified the $33+ more.

At the end of our meal, the waitress got to try to sell us their reward program and that is when we found out it was now a Landry's owned restaurant. I'm not sure how everyone else might feel about their restaurants but overall I find them overpriced for the type and quality of food that is served. For instance, they own Rainforest Cafe, and without all the gimmicks that make you go there, the food is really not as good as the prices they charge. You could get the same or better at so many other places for about 25-50% less. At least with Rainforest you get the cutesy jungle thing, but there is nothing to justify the higher prices at Claim Jumper. I did complain on their website but the only thing that generated was a call from the manager. He was very nice, but the reality is that he has no control over the menu that is served or the prices that are charged, so it wasn't really anything he could address. Unfortunately, we will most likely never go back or go to one if they open one in Texas unless they bring back the original menu which contained items that I couldn't get at any other chain restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shoulders3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claim Jumper Restaurants also viewed

 
Hoffman Estates, IL
 

Been to Claim Jumper Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing