We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Chicago
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

as some others have pointed out the place is older so i didnt expect a lot of flare. I did expect cleanliness which was a huge disappointment. toilet area smelled like urine so we called to have it cleaned.. lady came to the room with a rag and a spray bottle. went to cart after for a cover up spray. cleaning was still very poor and then to blatenly try to cover the smell is absolutely a giant red flag. I spilled zo.e water on the tiled floor and after i did a quick gentle wipe with the white towel. whata surlrise that was. clearly they dont clean ANYTHING in these rooms. see picture if i can attach it., you should just not use this hotel for your own safety. i will be contacting coorporate. The price does not reflect the hotel. we usually stay in Holiday inn so we are not afraid to pay for a really nice room. these sbould be
$30 rooms...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank RichRich66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Read the horrible reviews and was really worried about staying here. I did not book it needless to say. However, upon arrival we inspected the room and were really relieved that it wasn't a disaster. Clean sheets, clean room. The place has an age on it but i have literally been in worse. Good location to the base and enough stuff to do that didn't require travel into the city. Didn't love it but it worked for what we required.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank ineedlesskaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We got a room on the back for 2 nights while at a Navy graduation. The room was basic with 2 beds, CRT, small frig, and microwave. Breakfast was included with cereal, instant oats, pastries, coffee, and clementines. It was too cold for the outdoor pool. You cal also register for the free shuttle to the graduation or other places. There's an unlimited rail pass for the train for $7 for the weekend so the shuttle probably goes there too.

There were a couple free shows included. One was the hand to hand action we saw as we walked to the cool bar Flanagan's across the parking lot for dinner. I'm not sure who was buying and who was selling. The other was the guy in the next room who was either just out of rehab or jail and probably got the room as a part of some homeless program he was milking. He suckered his mom out of a $30 electronic money transfer and was trying to get his connection Jose to the room so they could meet Jose's friend to score. I saw him and he had too much body fat and teeth to be a tweeker. My guess is, with his deep cough, he was looking for something to smoke.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have more entertainment but the pool is out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

For the price being so cheap, I assumed it was an older building and may not be the best looking. Basic house keeping was not done. The toilet in the bathroom had urine stains, tub was not washed and the floor clearly had visible dirt on the floor. I didn't expect brand new beds or the best/nicest place for as cheap for the family room we got. I found a screw sitting on the stairs, salt pieces and rocks. The rail is wobbly, not very safe. The carpet was not clean, behind the mini fridge and around it had dirt. The cabinets had not been washed or wiped out. I can deal with paint chips on the wall, the hole in the top of the bathroom door but at least clean the place. We had stains on the sheets, for our stay we asked for new sheets mid stay and to restock/clean the bathroom. The towel were thrown on the sink ( they got wet making it pointless to get them) shower was not clean, even upon arrive when we ask to have it clean they came and didn't do a good job. The staff was very nice, but did not seem to do much. At the end we asked for the vacuum and did all the cleaning ourselves because we have a 8 month old who is mobile and likes to crawl around. I just expected it to look like they actually came in and cleaned, with an older style not new building. I was wrong.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

My family and I stayed and this disgusting place for my sisters Navy Graduation. We called and made reservations and had to pay before hand. When we arrived the rooms were disgusting!! We ordered a suite so we could cook, there were no pans or dishes in the rooms and the only thing the made it a suite compared to our other room was they put a makeshift cook top by the bathroom under the stairs, with no exhaust vent or any where to prepare food. The sheets had stains all over with cigarette burns. We ended up stuck staying because they would not refund more then the first night, we booked for a week, and everything else in town was booked up. The mattresses have 5 or more zip up mattress covers and fitted sheets to try and hide all the stains. Pillows and pillow cases are covered in drool spots and other unknown stains. Shower barely has pressure and even then the tub fills with water and takes hours to drain. Our ceiling fan had over an inch of dust build up. Walls had holes and unknown stains all over them wall paper peaking off. Door casting was missing and outlets looked old and unsafe half of them didn't even work. Over powering perfume smell from all the air wicks plugged in to try and cover up the nasty dingy smell. The hand rail to the upstairs bed was missing bolts and extremely wobbly. The out side is in need of repairs and cleaning. On the night before our last night we found what appears to be a bed bug in the bed. Immediately went to the front office and the lady behind the desk played it off like it was no big deal. We had her call her manager and he was "too busy" to talk about it. She made it sound like we shouldn't be mad and that they'll have to check with the pest guy but they don't know when they'll do that. We ended up blowing 100 plus dollars at home depot on bed bug spray to fumigate our room and belongings. Worst place to stay. Definitely should have read the reviews before booking this hotel, I can't even believe it's on the navy's recommendation list. Stay away being less than 2 miles from base isn't worth the stay at this god awful place.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Chicago
4.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
0.4 km away
Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago
0.5 km away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
9.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
4.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago

Address: 3207 Buckley Rd, North Chicago, IL 60064-3449
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > North Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Chicago
Price Range: $79 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn n. Chicago Hotel North Chicago
Red Carpet Inn North Chicago
North Chicago Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing