We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Flagg Farmstead
Ranked #1 of 1 Sherman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
“Absolutely Relaxing”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Dawn O. My second stay at the Flagg Farmstead was just as fantastic as the first. Everyone asks Rose for her recipes--the French toast--out of this world!
The entire experience is so relaxing. You feel so at home there. Doug & Rose are the perfect hosts.
The rooms are just beautiful, and beyond tastefully decorated. This time I was joined by my 25 year old daughter, and she enjoyed it every bit as much as I did.
Rose and Doug recommend great restaurants, and make the reservations for you.
I think everyone should have the experience of relaxing in this amazing home!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
193
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights and they were absolutely PERFECT!!! We have never stayed at a B&B before and were pleasantly impressed! We simply enjoyed the peace and quiet, BEAUTIFUL views & AMAZING breakfast! We loved the pooch such a joy it was to play with Izzy the dog and watch TV while sitting by the fireplace.
Mr & Mrs. Polite (Owners) are such wonderful people. I'm a bit of a history nut and loved learning about the house and then the tickets to The Presidential Museum was perfect. The house itself is almost to beautiful to describe you will need to see it for yourselves to appreciate its beauty.
It was by far the best place we have EVER stayed at and look forward to our return and a game or two in the addition...hint..hint...lol!

Room Tip: The Cornelius Flagg Room was awesome... Loved the bath.. It was super nice to soak in that huge jacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We wanted to visit the capitol and needed a place to stay. From the moment we set foot on the grounds we felt right at home. We were welcomed in and given a tour of the whole house and its history. Doug and Rosalie went out of their way to give us a pleasant stay. They told us about a great resturant to eat and then we were placed in the Lincoln room. The room was clean and decorated in very good taste. We love the charm of the room. We were given free tickets to the Lincoln Museum and that is right were we wanted to go. That was a nice touch. It felt like we went back in time to this lovely place. The breakfast was so delicious and was served with a smile. Doug was a treat to talk to and get to know. He and his wife are true gems and are so welcoming. The two days was not enough, I wish we could have stayed for a week. I am going to go back soon. It was worth the money and it was so relaxing. Great place to go and rejuvenate yourself. Two thumbs up and smiles to Doug and Roselie. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight at The Flagg Farmstead as we traveled home from a short trip.When we arrived Doug showed us around the beautiful house while telling us some of it's history. We stayed in the Cornelius Flagg room which was decorated very nice. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens and the room was immaculate. The other rooms we saw looked just as inviting. After a great night's sleep we were served a delicious filling breakfast made by Rosalie. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone traveling through central Illinois.Doug and Rosalie are great innkeepers. They balance being accessible without being intrusive. The bed and breakfast is in a nice quiet location yet not too far from the interstate. The Flagg Farmstead is a great place to stay! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lighthouseladysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dowagiac
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We actually stayed at the Flagg Farmstead in April 2009 and we loved it! We are just now completing the review because we did not have a tripadvisor account back then and we recently stayed at another bed n breakfast in south carolina, which made us remember our pleasant stay in Illinois. The breakfast was delicious! Everything was very clean and comfortable! We appreciated the free passes to the Lincoln museum. Thank you for your pleasant hospitality. We apologize for the delay in our review.
*The Dennis couple

Room Tip: I believe we stayed in the Lincoln Room and it had a peaceful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherman
10.5 km away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
14.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
9.8 km away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#13 of 38 in Springfield
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
668 reviews
10.4 km away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
18.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flagg Farmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flagg Farmstead

Property: The Flagg Farmstead
Address: 500 Old Tipton School Rd, Sherman, IL 62684-9600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Sherman
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sherman
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagg Farmstead B&B is an 1872 Italianate mansion 15 minutes from the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum and 18 miles from Lincoln's New Salem located on one of the roads Mr. Lincoln traversed on his many trips to Springfield, Illinois. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing