We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
91
49
11
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
49
11
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub lamb shank attend a family party specials board lovely sunday lunch full english family get together special board selection of beers lovely old pub family meal excellent weekend booked a table friday evening le manoir waiting staff main building
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Had a delightful stay here. The staff couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. My room was very clean and comfortable and very quiet as it is across the courtyard away from the main pub. Plenty of parking outside. I ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was delicious and the service was excellent. They were very accommodating with my food intolerances too and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was also delicious with a huge choice from cereal to fresh fruit to kippers to full English. Very reasonably priced rooms for a very welcoming stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Manager at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your lovely review hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Stay here for one night which was a shame as the whole experience was terrific. B & B was in a separate part of the pub so if you want to go to bed early you won’t be disturbed by the punters in the pub. The rooms are of a high standard and the beds comfortable and crisp white linen and duvets. The pub itself is Olde Worlde but that adds to the atmosphere. The beer was one of the best pints I've had in a long time, so much so I had rather a few more than I normally do. The food was pretty much pub grub which suited our party as we are not arty farty diners. The breakfast was ample with fresh fruit and cereals as well as full English. The waitress (Justina) was always smiling and nothing was too much trouble a credit to the pub. If I am ever in the area and need a B & B this is the one I would choose. Great stay.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank number1leadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your excellent review & glad you enjoyed your stay especially the Ale !
Thank you also for mentioning a member of staff by name as she received a bonus for the special service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We've just revisited The coach and Horses inn, but for leisure this time and we were looked after again. The set up is great, a pub and restaurant with rooms and it made for a perfect break.

It's around a half hour drive to Oxford so not too far but far enough to be peacefully in the countryside. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is tasty and it's a relaxing evening to have dinner followed by drinks in the bar and then retire to your room across the courtyard. Perfect.

Thank you to the staff for looking after us again, it was nice to return and not have to work!

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SARAH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Manager at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your review & thank you for re-visiting us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Been here a few time before, always been high standard, this time however it was very average indeed, seated in a dark room facing a stone brick wall! Greasy starters , I could squeeze the grease out if I tried, roast dinner was ok , nice piece of chicken, the veg and pots were poor. Will probably swerve this place for a while now.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jasondean119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your review, Sorry we didn't live up to your expectations on this visit but please let me know when you visit again & I will make up for the poor performance last time.
Regards David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Very good and clean accomodation Made very welcome by the Staff - in particular we would like to thank Yvonne for her help with arranging transport for two of our number to travel to a local venue in the evening of our one night stay. Above and beyond the call of duty. Lovely lady. Excellent breakfast. Would recommend.
This was a stay during a walking holiday

Room tip: All rooms we saw were away from pub in quieter courtyard
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MandCW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your lovely review & so glad that Yvonne looked after you & made your visit special

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews