We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
89
46
11
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
46
11
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe publamb shankpatterned carpetspecials boardfamily get togetherlovely sunday lunchspecial boardselection of beerssaturday junelovely old pubexcellent weekendweekend breakwaiting staffovernight staypark and ridele manoircomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

My Gramp always insists on booking family get together here and as always it didn't disappoint. Service was fantastic from start to finish, food was delicious and not a long wait either considering there was 16 of us. Overall an excellent night out in a fantastic little pub. Thank you :-)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank carriechristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your review & so glad you all enjoyed your meals & service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We have just come back from a two night stay here. Would echo all the previous reviews. Staff are very helpful, nothing too much trouble, excellent breakfast and evening meal. The main building is an old coaching inn and retains much of that old charm, so don't expect trendy and modern. The rooms are in the courtyard and have a simple modern finish, with clean lines in the bathroom but old world touches, such as the latch handle doors. Like many of the people staying there, we had "business" at another local venue which charges far more for both stays and beer! This appeared to be an accepted norm and clearly brought in quite a bit of trade, but we would be happy to stay here again, if visiting the local area, now we know about this little gem.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Blinda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your review & we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We stayed here to attend a wedding in the local area. The room was a good size, clean, nicely decorated. Staff are all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious.
The only reason I haven't given 5* rating is because the bed was quite small and the mattress too soft.
A great place.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your review , if you return ask for one of our twin bedded rooms as we zip them together to offer a 6ft wide Double bed .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Had a delightful stay here. The staff couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. My room was very clean and comfortable and very quiet as it is across the courtyard away from the main pub. Plenty of parking outside. I ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was delicious and the service was excellent. They were very accommodating with my food intolerances too and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was also delicious with a huge choice from cereal to fresh fruit to kippers to full English. Very reasonably priced rooms for a very welcoming stay.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Manager at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your lovely review hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Stay here for one night which was a shame as the whole experience was terrific. B & B was in a separate part of the pub so if you want to go to bed early you won’t be disturbed by the punters in the pub. The rooms are of a high standard and the beds comfortable and crisp white linen and duvets. The pub itself is Olde Worlde but that adds to the atmosphere. The beer was one of the best pints I've had in a long time, so much so I had rather a few more than I normally do. The food was pretty much pub grub which suited our party as we are not arty farty diners. The breakfast was ample with fresh fruit and cereals as well as full English. The waitress (Justina) was always smiling and nothing was too much trouble a credit to the pub. If I am ever in the area and need a B & B this is the one I would choose. Great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank number1leadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your excellent review & glad you enjoyed your stay especially the Ale !
Thank you also for mentioning a member of staff by name as she received a bonus for the special service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews