We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach & Horses Inn
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Hadn't been here for 10 years and its as good as it was then. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was excellent. The portions were huge ideal if you have a big appetite. The beef stroganoff was delicious and the wholetail scampi excellent.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank quizers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review , hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

My Gramp always insists on booking family get together here and as always it didn't disappoint. Service was fantastic from start to finish, food was delicious and not a long wait either considering there was 16 of us. Overall an excellent night out in a fantastic little pub. Thank you :-)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank carriechristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your review & so glad you all enjoyed your meals & service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We have just come back from a two night stay here. Would echo all the previous reviews. Staff are very helpful, nothing too much trouble, excellent breakfast and evening meal. The main building is an old coaching inn and retains much of that old charm, so don't expect trendy and modern. The rooms are in the courtyard and have a simple modern finish, with clean lines in the bathroom but old world touches, such as the latch handle doors. Like many of the people staying there, we had "business" at another local venue which charges far more for both stays and beer! This appeared to be an accepted norm and clearly brought in quite a bit of trade, but we would be happy to stay here again, if visiting the local area, now we know about this little gem.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Blinda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your review & we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We stayed here to attend a wedding in the local area. The room was a good size, clean, nicely decorated. Staff are all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious.
The only reason I haven't given 5* rating is because the bed was quite small and the mattress too soft.
A great place.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your review , if you return ask for one of our twin bedded rooms as we zip them together to offer a 6ft wide Double bed .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Had a delightful stay here. The staff couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. My room was very clean and comfortable and very quiet as it is across the courtyard away from the main pub. Plenty of parking outside. I ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was delicious and the service was excellent. They were very accommodating with my food intolerances too and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was also delicious with a huge choice from cereal to fresh fruit to kippers to full English. Very reasonably priced rooms for a very welcoming stay.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Manager at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your lovely review hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiselhampton
4.8 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
728 reviews
6.8 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1 km away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Stadhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach & Horses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach & Horses Inn

Address: Watlington Road, Chiselhampton OX44 7UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chiselhampton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chiselhampton
Price Range: $123 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Coach & Horses Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach & Horses Hotel Oxford
The Coach And Horses Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing