We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Coach & Horses Inn
Nearby Hotels
White Hart Hotel(Dorchester-on-Thames)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames(Dorchester-on-Thames)
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,021
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$114
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
87
46
11
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
46
11
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe publamb shankpatterned carpetspecials boardlovely sunday lunchselection of beersfamily get togethersaturday juneexcellent weekendweekend breakwaiting staffle manoircomfy bedfresh fruitmain courseaccommodationcameron
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This is a pleasant country pub / hotel.
It's old fashioned - quite dark, typical beams, patterned carpet with old dark wooden furniture.
The staff were pleasant and helpful enough, although when we walked in and waited by the eating area (early so not yet busy) it took some time for a member of staff to come to us, even though we had been spotted (somewhat annoying).
The food was nice. The drinks I thought were expensive, £6+ for an alcoholic and non-alcoholic drink, although this is probably normal - I just don't visit pubs very often.
It was very busy, so obviously popular.
We had a nice family get together. I didn't love the place and it didn't wow me - but I would go back if I'm in that old fashioned mood - which works best in the winter.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank jenbabe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your review , sorry you had to wait on arrival , hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Went for dinner for my birthday. Nice country pub with small bar area and predominantly dining areas. Staff are very pleasant but clearly need training - we ordered both regular and diet coke and waitress not sure which was which when she served us. We had to do the taste test so people could get the right one, yes we should have sent them back but we had been waiting a while for them. Food was good, I would recommend the calves liver and the game and a good selection of traditional desserts, treacle pudding, creme butler Eton Eric. Would I go back, yes for the food.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank 675amart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your review , Sorry the waitress got the diet coke & the cokes mixed up , I have addressed this issue with some extra training with new staff members .
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Hadn't been here for 10 years and its as good as it was then. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was excellent. The portions were huge ideal if you have a big appetite. The beef stroganoff was delicious and the wholetail scampi excellent.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank quizers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review , hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

My Gramp always insists on booking family get together here and as always it didn't disappoint. Service was fantastic from start to finish, food was delicious and not a long wait either considering there was 16 of us. Overall an excellent night out in a fantastic little pub. Thank you :-)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank carriechristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your review & so glad you all enjoyed your meals & service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We have just come back from a two night stay here. Would echo all the previous reviews. Staff are very helpful, nothing too much trouble, excellent breakfast and evening meal. The main building is an old coaching inn and retains much of that old charm, so don't expect trendy and modern. The rooms are in the courtyard and have a simple modern finish, with clean lines in the bathroom but old world touches, such as the latch handle doors. Like many of the people staying there, we had "business" at another local venue which charges far more for both stays and beer! This appeared to be an accepted norm and clearly brought in quite a bit of trade, but we would be happy to stay here again, if visiting the local area, now we know about this little gem.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Blinda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmcp, Owner at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your review & we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews