We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Dundee
Reviewed 21 March 2017

we stayed here for a dance competition...room was very clean and the pull out couch bed was very comfortable.they were excellent with providing a microwave for my two daughters.and front desk was great when i asked for some toothbrushes. we would definately stay again!

Room Tip: just ask for your need...they were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank francoeurhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

It's nice to know that you can rely on Marriott Courtyard to provide a consistent experience. This one was no exception. The lobby reminded me of many others, so I instantly felt at 'home.' The bistro is expensive for what it is, but the food is good and the service was great. It is, in fact, the service that distinguishes this stay for me. From the man and woman who worked check-in, to the bistro staff- they could not have been better!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rainewrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie_Wilkerson, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Rainewrites,

Thank you for your lovely review. You have certainly made my day as well as all the associates that you mentioned. It is our goal to provide stellar service to all of our guests. Exceptional associates who exceed guest expectations are a source of pride at Marriott. Our Front Desk and Bistro associates truly define the tradition of exceptional service Marriott strives to maintain.

If there is anything that we can ever do for you , please let me know. Thank you again and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,
Amie Wilkerson
Dual General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

My family and I recently stayed at the Courtyard Chicago Elgin in West Dundee, Illinois on July 2016, and were originally checked into room 319, but were then moved to room 309 after finding possible bedbugs in the room. The following is my review of my stay at this hotel.

A little background on myself:
Years ago my workplace had put out an advisory for everyone to check for bedbugs while travelling as there were many reports of people coming home with bedbugs in my hometown. Since then, to protect my family, I started checking my rooms for bedbugs before staying in them using the techniques outlined by Molecular Biologist David Cain and his YouTube videos on how to search for bedbugs. So far I’ve only found them five times on my vacations (including this review) prior to staying in a hotel room, and I have been very fortunate not to have taken any home with me. Since then I had decided to document all of my stays in hopes that others including myself would have a better picture on how safe and clean my experience was. My intention is not to put down the hotel in anyway, but really to document my personal experiences staying there. So please don’t be offended…

Review cont'd:
On a cleanliness scale, I rate these rooms a 4/10, and I keep it at a “high” bedbug risk rating because the cleanliness under and behind the bed was terrible, and I found a number of these possible bedbugs in my first inspected room. The area behind the mattresses and behind our sofa bed looks like it had never been cleaned, and in my second room inspection I found an overabundance of spiders in the room. After speaking with housekeeping, I was told that there could be a high number of bugs because there are some suites with windows and balconies that open out, which may explain how they are getting in. Aside from that, in my second inspection only half of the sheets had stains on them, and had to be replaced before getting settled in.
On the plus side, however, because it is located right beside a cemetery it is very peaceful place to stay at, and people tend to not play loud music or hang out in the area. There are two gas stations conveniently located in front and it is very close to the I-94 tollway

Pros:
-Quiet location near I-94 Tollway
-Great value

Cons:
-Possible bed bugs found
-Room was dirty when I arrived (garbage underneath and behind the beds)
-Half of the sheets had stains and needed to be changed


My overall impression: Location and price was right, although I’m not happy with the cleanliness of the suite and the bugs I found. I’m 50-50 on whether I’d stay here again, because I like the location, however I found that the tollgate exit going to this hotel was often broken, and it was a huge nuisance when travelling toward to-and-from the greater Chicago area. There is a whole lot of construction going on in the area right now, but it’s nice to see so many gas stations and restaurants located close to this area.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Alpiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherri V, Manager at Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Hello Alpiglet,
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback regarding your stay with us in July. I do remember this stay as we had reported your concerns to our pest services. The room in question was inspected by our company's preferred service which they reported to be clear. We truly appreciate the concern you display for the safety of your family and we above all others hold that same concern and did act immediately upon your raising this with our staff during the dates of your stay.

Be well in your future travels.

Sherri V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Nice atmosphere , friendly, efficient staff. We were here with a party of 8 including a one year old and the staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating . Cody at the front desk was such a big help. I would have given the hotel 5 stars but they stop serving breakfast at 10 am which I feel is too early for Sat and Sundays., otherwise a great value.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Operagolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

This was a 3-day solo business trip; I have stayed at this Courtyard for prior trips as the location is convenient to my client. I have to say that the people here were very friendly, very professional, and helpful.

I had two special room requests that I made as part of checking in through the app - both were honored. A nice start!

I had both breakfast and dinner at the bistro. Not only were the people responsive and helpful, but the eggs in the morning were done as well as at any fancy restaurant. You know how sometimes hotel scrambled eggs are dry or the portions skimpy? Not here.

I tried the horseradish sandwich and took the recommendation of the server to have it heated first. Way good.

Overall, Marriott delivered on the Courtyard promise. I am planning to come back again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Dundee
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
0.1 km away
TownePlace Suites Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
4.5 km away
Comfort Suites Elgin
12.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Hoffman Estates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee

Address: 2175 Marriott Dr, West Dundee, IL 60118-9182 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Chicago West Dundee)
Region: United States > Illinois > West Dundee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Dundee
Price Range: $121 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago West Dundee Hotel West Dundee
Courtyard West Dundee
West Dundee Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing